Finding Inspiration in Underpants

19 Nov

It was an unintended hiatus.

Gone for a five-day adventure into the mind of The Guat except I really didn’t go anywhere. Just been exploring unbounded awareness and trying to focus attention on my writing and personal deadlines I set for myself earlier this year.

I was catching up on life and writing. In fact I was hoping that this side project I had was going to give me that extra boost I needed to cross that finish line at the end of the year. But we’ll see … My time is limited and staying up until 3 a.m. has taken a toll on my body, so once Thursday gets here I’m functioning on reserves and looking like I need a serious makeover, or at least a coat of miracle CoverGirl cosmetics found on aisle 12 at the local Walgreens.

But it was during one of my half asleep zombie moments that I got a great surprise. Something unexpected that gave me a great sense of pride. When my son asked me why I was so tired I explained that I had been working late and was trying to meet some deadlines, trying to finish my book.

And then he asked me why.

I said it was what I did, what I liked to do, and what I always wanted to do. Plus it would help us get out of the George Costanza phase in my life.

He smiled and gave me a hug.

About an hour later he was asking for a stapler and seeing how he’s still in first grade and only has paperclip experience, I thought it would be best to staple whatever he was working on.

This is what he brought to me …

 

This was the first of three he created this weekend.

This was the first book of three he created this weekend.

 

He had created his own version of the Captain Underpants kid series.

Dude.

Dude.

I couldn’t even …

I know that when he grows up he wants to be part firefighter, part Batman, part astronaut, and part Ironman. I know that, I’m happy with it. But the fact that he did that makes the writer in me happy. I had a good moment and it inspired me to keep typing away and keep chugging along.

One word at a time. One sentence at a time. One page at a time. I’ll get there.

 

12 Responses to “Finding Inspiration in Underpants”

  1. Claire Smith November 20, 2014 at 1:17 AM #

    Wow how incredible! You should be proud to be his inspiration! Cool moment indeed.

    And as says Galaxy Quest: never give up, never surrender! Keep writing!

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 1:28 AM #

      It was definitely a take-back moment. It was those moments where you tear up and then you can’t believe you’re tearing up because it’s such a small gesture, but it had a huge impact. Thanks for the comment, it was awesome and help me push forward.

  2. bgddyjim November 20, 2014 at 9:33 AM #

    That kind of thing makes life even better. How cool.

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:44 AM #

      It definitely does, made my day when I saw this.

  3. peacelovegreatcountrymusic November 20, 2014 at 10:00 PM #

    Your kid is ten kinds of awesome.

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:45 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude thanks so much. That kind of comment makes me love what he did and love that other people see what I see in him.

  4. susielindau November 21, 2014 at 7:47 AM #

    You will! The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:47 AM #

      Thanks! He always makes me want to do better.

  5. Island Traveler November 23, 2014 at 1:38 AM #

    My friend, I believe you’ll finish your book soon. I’m happy that you are following your passion for writing. Captain underpants is my son’s favorite too. We used to read them together first and second grade. Your son’s work is just amazing. I like his exciting sci-fi version. Our kids are one of our unending source of joy, inspiration and creative imagination. Have a fun weekend.

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:49 AM #

      He’s too funny. He’s into a couple of different things Fly Guy, Star Wars, ShredderMan and Captain Underpants. And you’re right no matter how tough the day has been personal or parental they are still my source of joy and inspiration.

  6. anotherday2paradise November 25, 2014 at 4:24 AM #

    Oh, this is so precious! I love his book, even after seeing only the first page. 🙂

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:48 AM #

      Ohhhhh it was so awesome as were the other two he created. Totally cracked me up with the story line and artwork…definitely my son.

Leave a Reply

