How Do You Get Over It?

6 Nov

I’m in recovery mode.

It took 48 hours to get through this, I mean I’m still getting through it. I’m still in disbelief even though I saw it coming, I’m in denial because it was so shocking and it hurt. For a minute I thought, maybe. I was so invested, I really thought he would make it to the end.

But I should have known.

The almighty writing genius Kurt Sutter from Sons of Anarchy had other plans.

He broke my heart … again. Just when I thought I recovered from Opie and Tara’s gruesome deaths he killed off another of my favorites. I guess I knew he wasn’t coming back after Moses took his eye out.

 

Rest In Peace...

Rest In Peace…

 

So I sat there in the dark of Daylight Savings Time as the credits rolled wondering why the hell he keeps killing off all these great characters, but leaves these twisted sociopaths in excellent health. Then I realized … their death will be epic, of the I-can’t-even category. But still does that justify the utter devastation that me and the rest of the Samcro faithful feel?

No.

I’d still like to see Opie, Tara, and Bobby Elvis.

I was rooting for them, I’m a lover of the underdog stories so when they kill my character and the future storyline I’d imagined I’m in need of a moment.

So with all my TV watching experience, how do I continually get over the death of beloved characters? How do I get over it?

Well … sometimes I don’t. I remain angry and hurt for weeks. I get so attached to these people because they’ve become people to me. It’s the writer in me, I get so attached to their story and their journey. It sucks when it ends in an untimely manner.

Sometimes the death is so shocking, like when they shot JR and you thought he was dead, that you can barely function the next day. These cliffhanger moments cause chest pains, anxiety attacks and bouts of profanity, which is probably why I enjoy watching Netflix because I can binge watch and find out what happens on my own timeline.

But heroes still die on Netflix.

So what do you do?

Recovery takes a while, it always does.

I’ve seen 24, LOST, The Sopranos, The Wire, and The Shield where some my favorites didn’t quite make it to the end, and it helps if you have a buddy. The mourning period goes by quicker because you have someone who gets it. My Dad was my buddy.

My Dad was around back then and I was able to go through this with my TV-watching-partner-in-crime buddy. We’d have never-ending panel discussion for days and share our best moments of the season. It was awesome. Unfortunately I’m flying solo in my epic television adventures and only have one other friend to discuss these Holy-Crap Sons of Anarchy moments, but she lives like two hours away. So we send text messages to each other.

Text messages are good but I wish she lived closer, and since I don’t have an actual Sons of Anarchy cohort, I remain at a loss and wishing that Sutter never ended Bobby’s journey. I hope for revenge a lot.

 

Jax Teller

Jax Teller

 

Revenge is a good thing and I hope it comes for Jax. I’m waiting for it.

If that doesn’t pan out, chocolate works wonders. Chocolate and profanity.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “How Do You Get Over It?”

  1. susielindau November 7, 2014 at 6:33 AM #

    I used to cry every Sunday night while watching Lassie! I am hopeless….

    • The Guat November 10, 2014 at 11:59 PM #

      Ha! You crack me up. I’ve never watched that movie in its entirety the fact that I lost my dog two years ago is sad enough can’t go watching stuff like that too much. Hate it when characters I love take a hit.

  2. 1pointperspective November 8, 2014 at 3:28 PM #

    Tig got his midsection blasted with a shotgun, (and ended up making out with the tranny), and the next week, he was all better. Despite the headshot, I’m guessing that Bobby makes it back, but by the end of the series, everyone will be dead anyway. Sorry to see Bobby go, he actually looked reasonably authentic biker-wise.

    • The Guat November 10, 2014 at 11:58 PM #

      I know right! Both him and Happy looked pretty badass. The fact that Tig got shot and ended up staying alive and getting some love from Venus totally tripped me out. He kills off these characters you know you love and it makes it even more gut-wrenching to know that they’re no longer a part of the story. But it makes the build-up for the revenge even more intense and you totally hope that it’s epic.

      • 1pointperspective November 11, 2014 at 3:44 AM #

        The jokes about Tig and Venus were a nice sideline, they really didn’t need to show any more about it. Is Bobby alive yet?

      • The Guat November 11, 2014 at 9:31 AM #

        We’ll find out today…plus whole cast and crew are on Conan tonight.

  3. Eric Streeter November 15, 2014 at 11:54 PM #

    What I love about this show most is the sense of foreboding I’ve felt from the beginning. The Sons have never really been “good guys”, and even heart-throb Jacks is a pretty bad boy, all things considered. Granny’s pretty bad, too. Without the romance, you just see the dead bodies and lies piling up, and innocent children being scarred. These guys are going down, and hard. If they’re lucky, everything they love won’t be destroyed before they do.

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 1:30 AM #

      Granny’s definitely the worst. And I do agree with you the love story adds a different dimension. Very cool level to bring to the show. Did you catch the series finale. Duuuuuuuuuuuuuude blew my mind so I had to write about it!

Leave a Reply

