Getting in Touch With Our Country Side

29 Oct

It was that time of year again where we drove up north to check out the funky pumpkins, relax on a hayride tour throughout the farm, check out some pig races, walk around mazes made out of corn, look at ginormous John Deere rides, climb haystack pyramids, and listen to the good old twang of a banjo and guitar.

Yeah we’re sneaker and ball cap people, but we felt like we had cowboy hats and boots all day. Yeah … we let our country out. We were on a mission to find our pumpkin and we had fun getting in touch with our country side along the way.

 

 

I've never seen pumpkins like this before, but apparently they make an appearance every Halloween.

I’ve never seen pumpkins like this before, but apparently they make an appearance every Halloween.

 

 

The Pumpkin House was probably one of the funnest structures they discovered.

The Pumpkin House was probably one of the funnest structures they discovered.

 

Once got there one of our first stops was checking out the old school tractors.

We followed that up with an awesome tour of the old school tractors. This one seemed to catch my eye the most.

 

 

As soon as we got there my son had to check out one of the rides.

My son preferred the monster truck type. He said it was the kind that the Incredible Hulk would use.

 

 

My daughter wanted to get in on the action, but she preferred racing them.

My daughter wanted to get in on the action, but she preferred racing kind.

 

 

After a little speed racing around the farm we decided to do a couple of mazes.

After a little speed racing around the farm we decided to do a couple of mazes.

 

 

For the first time in Guat history we finally made it to the end and climbed on top of the victory haystack...this was the view from the top. I felt badass.

For the first time in Guat history we finally made it to the end and climbed on top of the victory haystack…this was the view from the top. I felt badass.

 

 

After checking out our awesome victory view, we headed off for the pig races. Apparently a very popular attraction.

After checking out our awesome victory view, we headed off for the pig races. Apparently a very popular attraction.

 

After the pig Ninja Warrior races we set off to play some games. My son seemed to enjoy the green tomato sling shots. He hit three out of five haystacks, earning himself a high five.

After the pig Ninja Warrior races we set off to play some games. My son seemed to enjoy the green tomato sling shots. He hit three out of five haystacks, earning himself a high five.

 

After all that Huckleberry Finn action we decided to have a snack and enjoy the band.

After all that Huckleberry Finn action we decided to have a snack and enjoy the band.

 

Then we headed off to see if the Great Pumpkin was out and about.

Then we headed off to see if the Great Pumpkin was out and about.

 

But the coolest part of the whole trip was that we witnessed our first hay tornado. It was the coolest thing I saw all day ... all weekend probably.  I'd never twister pick up like that, dance around the patch in circles, and then make it rain hay. It was a Fall miracle.

But the coolest part of the whole trip was that we witnessed our first hay tornado. It was the coolest thing I saw all day … all weekend probably. I’d never twister pick up like that, dance around the patch in circles, and then make it rain hay. It was a Fall miracle.

 

After that farm magic we walked around the patch and the kids found their perfect pumpkin.

After that farm magic we walked around the patch and the kids found their perfect pumpkin.

 

 

11 Responses to “Getting in Touch With Our Country Side”

  1. cravesadventure October 30, 2014 at 9:00 AM #

    I love getting out in the country and becoming one with the garden and farm 🙂 Happy Day!

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:09 AM #

      It was a great day I loved going to the farm, my kids seem to love the open space and farm atmosphere.

  2. Angelia Sims October 30, 2014 at 1:40 PM #

    What an incredibly cool place!!! It is SO BIG. Our pumpkin farm is so tiny and crowded. I would have skipped it, but I had to get pictures of the grand baby in it. 🙂 Green tomato sling shot is awesome!

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:10 AM #

      It’s an amazing place to go to if you live in the city. My kids love going there for our Halloween tradition stuff. And that green tomato sling shot was awesome I can’t believe I caught that shot seeing as how I was helping him set up. 🙂

  3. anotherday2paradise October 30, 2014 at 5:00 PM #

    Looks like you all had a great time. My little granddaughter’s school did a trip to a an apple orchard and pumpkin farm, whilst we were visiting. It was a fun day. Well done to your son. He’s an ace sling-shotter. 🙂

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:13 AM #

      Thanks we did have a great time! The farm is a great place to visit especially since we live in the city/suburbs. Felt country. We’ve never gone apple picking, but I bet they’d like it. Maybe we’ll become sling shot masters if we do it with apples 🙂

  4. peacelovegreatcountrymusic October 30, 2014 at 10:28 PM #

    Country music and now tractors and farms? Girl, im creating a country monster. My plan is working, I knew it.

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:14 AM #

      Dude I know I’m getting out of control here. You did create a monster I might just get some boots and a hat because I’m feeling it!

  5. Cayman Thorn October 30, 2014 at 11:23 PM #

    LA girl gone country, I love it. Beautiful photo journal with the lovely narrative I have come to expect from you, Keep it up, mama.

  6. lameadventures October 31, 2014 at 6:52 AM #

    This is exactly how I like to visit the country, Guat: you go there and tell me about it with great pictures of the Little Guats. I would have loved riding in those kid-size tractor cars (as a kid; now I prefer taxis). So, any plans to bake a pumpkin pie from scratch? If anyone could bake a great one, I’d bet the farm on you — or at least a bale of hay.

    • The Guat December 11, 2014 at 12:19 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude sorry I’m late to my own party. It’s been a crazy month with my NanoWrimo epic failure, but this visit to the farm was awesome! They really enjoyed it more this year I think…older I guess more sling shots and mazes, and I DID bake a pie from scratch and pumpkin chocolate chip cookies…dude I ate like two dozen by myself. I think I need help.

Leave a Reply

