Finding The Moments While You’re Under Construction

11 Oct

Enjoy the lifelong project of building a self, because it is the prospect of a fulfilled self that brings satisfaction even in the face of resistance, obstacles and setbacks — Deepak Chopra

 

Dude I am so trying.

And I’ve realized during the process that I’ve had moments of happiness that sustained me through pretty crappy times. Granted most of those moments come from races, stay-cations, Bucket List items, Sandbox List Adventures with my kids, and flying my freak flag whenever possible. But I’ve learned that food and movies definitely play a special place in this lifelong project.

I love the feel-good or Holy Crap moments that stay with me during a movie or show. I like that they produce pockets of happiness in my life. Most recently I had one of these moments while watch Jon Favreau’s latest film Chef. I don’t want to give too much away, but it’s about a guy’s journey to finding his happiness again after some crazy blowout with a food critic.

I mean … disaster strikes.

But he manages to find something small and then builds. Eventually his prospect of being fulfilled is realized, and I loved that fact that food was part of the journey. I mean when don’t I right.

Dude.

They had some inspiring dishes that made me want to travel through the US on a culinary adventure. But that’s the good thing about food, you don’t even have to leave your kitchen to travel, you can do it through the amazing dishes you prepare.

 

 

If you’re a Favreau and Leguizamo fan then this is the movie for you. Robert Downey Jr. even makes a small appearance in it and he’s amazing. I liked almost everyone in the film, except the leading lady. I’m not a fan of Vergara at all and almost didn’t watch the movie because I realized she was in it, but my love for Favreau overpowered any dislike I could have for that woman.

And I was glad it did.

I was able to find a pocket of happiness toward the end of the movie when Favreau sees his son’s film project about their journey. It was a small and touching moment and sometimes that’s all you need … something small when your life is undergoing construction.

 

 

4 Responses to “Finding The Moments While You’re Under Construction”

  1. peacelovegreatcountrymusic October 11, 2014 at 6:54 PM #

    Earaches and Vergara immediately make me grab my head in agony. She has to be one of the most unwatchable people on television. Im sure she is a lovely person, but I just can’t stand her whole schtick.

    • The Guat October 13, 2014 at 12:49 PM #

      Oh….My….God. I know right. Ugh she just irks me with that. Glad I’m not the only one.

  2. lameadventures October 13, 2014 at 7:48 PM #

    My sister loved that film, Guat.

    You’re a great baker and a fierce competitor. Would you consider entering the Pillsbury Bake-Off contest next year? Check out the rules:

    http://www.pillsbury.com/our-makers/bake-off-contest/

    • The Guat October 25, 2014 at 7:21 PM #

      That film was super amazing. I absolutely loved it and can’t believe I didn’t escape parenthood to go catch it. I could’ve done without Sofia Vergara, but what you gonna do? Anyhow thanks so much for the vote of confidence with the bake-off. I’ve never entered any kind of cooking contest, but I’m so glad you think I’ve got massive skills that I can get in on this. I’m definitely gonna check it out. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

