Feel Good Friday Tunes

3 Oct

In the midst of my neverending battle with hundreds of ants this week I became frustrated with the fact that they didn’t get it.

I mean here I was a giant in their eyes, with this organic nontoxic formula that reaked of unpleasant fumes, spraying them left and right. Killing them on the spot but I let a few get away just so they could warn others about my presence.

I don’t know what happened.

I think the message might have gotten lost.

Because a couple of hours later I saw the long line of ants going from the patio door all the way to the kitchen.

I went on a killing rampage. I couldn’t believe it. Why were they coming back? There was nothing but soap in the kitchen.  I was itchy all over from the thought of all those ants running amok and frustrated by the fact that they weren’t disappearing for good.

And then while wiping down the remains of hundreds of ants I heard it.

It turned my problem, my frustration into calm.

Instead of seeing an endless amount of ants storming into the house  I saw light blue lockers in a crowded hallway. I saw notes being passed in class. I saw CornNuts being sold at the student store. I saw the dances at my school gym.

Sometimes a blast from the past is all it takes to hit your reset button, to put you back into a feel-good-Friday kind of mood. I love it when that happens … even if I’m surrounded by unstoppable ants on a mission to find something. I don’t feel as irritated, how can you after this jam.

 

 

4 Responses to “Feel Good Friday Tunes”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster October 4, 2014 at 5:22 AM #

    I will be telling my ant-obsessed husband about this post! The ants are obnoxious, but–beyond taking steps to toast ’em–his level of focus takes him away from seeing/feeling some pretty great things.

    • The Guat October 4, 2014 at 5:48 PM #

      Duuuuuuude I totally understand your husband killing these ants. It’s a serious and intense battle. Just when you think you’ve won they come out of nowhere and ruin your victorious feeling. I get it, but when I heard this song I couldn’t help but jam it.

  2. Jackie Cangro October 4, 2014 at 12:23 PM #

    Great song! It always makes me smile. That’s what a good, catchy song can do for you — puts you in another frame of mind.

    P.S. I thought you were going to say that the song was the rubber tree plant song. “An ant can’t move a rubber tree plant, but he’s got high hopes…” Do you know that one?” 🙂

    • The Guat October 4, 2014 at 5:41 PM #

      OH MY GOD … I’m rolling over here. Rolling. You crack me up. Dude I was a devout Laverne and Shirley viewer how could I not know that song right? Ahhhhhh thanks for the laugh. Dude these ants are unstoppable they definitely have high hopes even when everyone of their pals dies out on the field they still keep coming. Dude.

Leave a Reply

