Sandbox Adventure List 30: The Batcave and Peanut Allergies

29 Sep

Dude … I can’t even.

The fact that I had enough energy to venture off to a Sandbox List Adventure Saturday morning amazes me.

This volunteering business is exhausting, so much so that I didn’t have the energy to log on to write or read anything after Taco Tuesday last week.

Volunteering … I get it … Get involved in your kids lives and be a part of the educational experience. It only happens once right?

Right.

Yeah … But going to seven stores in two hours, I think I deserve a medal or a chocolate trophy. Could it even be possible to go to seven stores in two hours?

Yeah.

It is.

And who or what do I blame for this journey?

Peanut allergies.

Dude I get that some kids can smell a peanut within a five-mile radius and that Epipen needs to come out. But here’s the thing … there are no kids with peanut allergies at my daughter’s school but they still use sunflower seed butter for snack time.

Are you aware that none of the major groceries stores within a 10-block of the school carry this sunflower butter?

No. No they don’t.

So after my trips to IKEA, Costco, Smart & Final Wholesale, VONS, Ralph’s, and Target for various errands I finally made it to Trader Joe’s Grocery Store.

I bought five jars.

There’s no point in going through that again. I might not make it to the weekend if I have to go through another shopping marathon. I’m one of the few females on Earth that hates shopping. It’s just not for me and I find it amusing that I was volunteered for this task.

But I survived and made it to weekend.

I made it just in time to visit the secret headquarters of the caped crusader … The Batcave.

And my son was thankful.

 

This adventure was inspired by the original 1960s  television series ... something we watch every Saturday courtesy of TV Land.

This adventure was inspired by the original 1960s television series … something we watch every Saturday courtesy of TV Land.

 

When I realized that the hiking trail to the Batcave was in Southern California, you know the Guats had to make a trip. My son has always been a fan.

When I realized that the hiking trail to the Batcave was in Southern California, you know the Guats had to make a trip. My son has always been a fan.

 

The beginning.

So the hike to the Batcave began.

 

We made it to the top and my son decided to get into Superhero mode, with his mask. His sister joined in by turning into the Flash. We headed in to explore.

We made it to the top and my son decided to get into Superhero mode, with his mask. His sister joined in by turning into the Flash. We headed in to explore.

 

We made it! High fives all around ... but then a look of concern on his face. Where's the Batcomputer? Dude.

We made it! High fives all around … but then there was a look of concern on his face. Where’s the Batcomputer? Dude. He so wanted to see it, but I had to explain that superheroes put that away because not all visitors are awesome like us … some steal stuff. So despite not being able to play with the Batcomputer it was still a good adventure for the kids.

 

16 Responses to “Sandbox Adventure List 30: The Batcave and Peanut Allergies”

  1. falah79 September 30, 2014 at 1:51 AM #

    woww… is cool

    • The Guat October 13, 2014 at 10:08 PM #

      It was definitely a cool place to discover

  2. susielindau September 30, 2014 at 7:15 AM #

    That bat cave is super cool!
    Your school’s requirement is so ridiculous. Start a petition!

    • TheGuat October 2, 2014 at 12:41 PM #

      It was a super cool hike and he was very excited to be there … and you’re right the requirement is crazy.

  3. brickhousechick September 30, 2014 at 10:19 AM #

    Don’t get me started on the peanut allergy rules in schools! Particularly in high school where the kids need to be more accountable for their own actions and are old enough to manage their allergies. My daughter is lactose intolerant and pb&j sandwiches were her saving grace during high school until they banned all peanut products and her choices were so limited. Sigh. What a fun adventure with your babies! 🙂

    • The Guat October 1, 2014 at 10:56 PM #

      Dude what is up with that! How can a school ban peanut butter. It’s not a preschool for crying out loud. If you’re kid is old enough to drive he sure is old enough to stay away from a peanut.

  4. teachezwell September 30, 2014 at 11:40 AM #

    That’s hilarious- more so because it’s true! Love the photos too. Your son is blessed!

    • The Guat October 1, 2014 at 11:02 PM #

      Ha! Thanks when I was driving all around the city I didn’t think it was that funny but now in retrospect it’s pretty funny. I couldn’t believe all the stops I had to make. 🙂

  5. anotherday2paradise September 30, 2014 at 12:04 PM #

    Such precious photos of your son and his hero, TG. I’ve never even heard of sunflower seed butter, but well done on finding some. 🙂

    • The Guat October 1, 2014 at 10:59 PM #

      Thanks! I totally love that picture of Batman and my son. He said it was one of the best days of his life. Cracked me up. That hike was a pretty cool adventure too…and that sunflower seed butter? I had no idea what it was until she started this preschool. Crazy

      • anotherday2paradise October 2, 2014 at 4:41 AM #

        Did you taste it?

      • The Guat October 2, 2014 at 9:59 PM #

        Duuuuuuuuude I did. After going through all that I had to … has the same consistency as peanut butter, but definitely has that sunflower seed taste. Pretty good actually, but not worth that shopping saga. But now I know where to find it.

  6. Jackie Cangro September 30, 2014 at 6:03 PM #

    sunflower seed butter? That’s a thing?
    You are a brave soul to run to all those stores to find it. I would have handed out bread and jelly and called it a day. Glad you stocked up!

    • The Guat October 1, 2014 at 10:46 PM #

      I know right? What the hell is sunflower seed butter? I had no idea what it was and none of the main grocery stores had it. Not even the local organic store, but I could always count on Trader Joe’s. Taste like peanut butter. Thank God otherwise it would be plain jelly or mustard sandwiches 🙂 Now I know where to find it, but I still stocked up!

  7. Cayman Thorn October 1, 2014 at 5:32 AM #

    I have an allergy to these kinds of requirements. But you got it done Holy Sunflower Seed Butter (?), you rock Bat Girl!

    • The Guat October 1, 2014 at 11:27 PM #

      You crack me up! Holy Sunflower Seed Butter…thanks for the props and the laughs. Definitely needed it tonight…a rough one.

Leave a Reply

