It Made The List

22 Sep

I’ve always been in love with it. Some people take it too far and it becomes an uncontrollable obsession and I get that, but for me it’s always been love.

I love food especially the good kind. And it so happens that my relationship with it went up a notch thanks to The Sopranos.

I dove into the cookbook this weekend in an effort to get out of an emotional funk. The beach worked its magic as usual but once I got home there was something still lingering there, and seeing how dinner was just around the corner I thought I’d comfort my soul. My taste buds were thanking me too.

A savory and hearty mix of tomato, ditalini, cannellini beans and  Pecorino Romano cheese was making me appreciate all my senses. Especially the kind that can taste and smell flavorful. And the thing is it was a simple recipe, just a couple of ingredients but the combination was amazingly delicious.  So much so that the dish has made my list. My comfort food list. Do you have one?

Dude.

For someone who grew up in a dysfunctional family, for someone who’s a writer, for someone who’s a mother of two, for someone who’s ever been married, for someone who’s in the George Costanza phase of life, for someone who’s ever had a bad day …

Pasta e Fagioli.

 

Yummmmmm

Yummmmmm

 

That’s got to be on your comfort food list.

Have you had it?

If not, I strongly encourage you to either get it or make it.  The Sopranos Family Cookbook happened to have a great recipe. I love the library and appreciate all the culinary literature they have on hand. I wasn’t much for cookbooks prior to me 12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge. I only read fiction or nonfiction. But I realize I’m a fan. The thing with cookbooks is that they too open you up to new discoveries, Comfort Food Lists discoveries, which can eventually lead to Bucket List Adventures. And I’m all for that.

 

10 Responses to “It Made The List”

  1. Norm 2.0 September 23, 2014 at 4:52 AM #

    You can look up any recipe online nowadays but there’s nothing like leafing through an actual cookbook when you’re looking for inspiration…or comfort food 🙂

    • The Guat October 7, 2014 at 9:47 PM #

      I completely agree with you. Cookbooks are definitely awesome and I enjoy turning the pages and looking at the pictures for inspiration. This is a really good one. Made a couple already.

  2. peacelovegreatcountrymusic September 23, 2014 at 9:30 AM #

    Crockpot chicken and dumplins are my comfort food, but lately it seems that everything i see in Pinterest has potential.

    • The Guat October 7, 2014 at 9:48 PM #

      Holy crap! That sounds good. I haven’t had chicken and dumplins but it is definitely on the list. I’ve had opportunity to order it, but I’d rather have it from an authentic diner or hole in the wall restaurant instead of having it at Denny’s or something. You might have to shoot the recipe over to me.

  3. brickhousechick September 23, 2014 at 8:58 PM #

    Looks like the perfect comfort food. Although, all food to me is comfort food! 🙂

    • The Guat October 7, 2014 at 9:49 PM #

      Oh dude…I can’t even tell you. I didn’t have pozole anywhere and that’s always amazing to have, but this … this one definitely makes the list.

  4. TBM September 24, 2014 at 3:13 AM #

    My comfort food is breakfast good. French Toast, Pancakes … but Italian Soprano style–can’t go wrong with that.

    • The Guat October 7, 2014 at 9:52 PM #

      Duuuuuuude breakfast is always big on weekends around here, not so much during the week because I’m always on the go-go-go trying to get the kids to school on time. But come the weekend I’m a lover of French Toast, waffles, silver dollar pancakes, etc… Too bad they don’t have some kind of Italian style breakfast…or maybe they do and I haven’t found it yet. If you guys ever make it to So. Cal we’ll have to go out for breakfast.

  5. teachezwell September 26, 2014 at 9:05 PM #

    Awesome! I would leave a longer comment but I have to eat something right away!

    • The Guat October 7, 2014 at 9:53 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuude I know right? Oh my God. It was amazing. I couldn’t even describe all those savory flavors. Dude I had seconds and thirds 🙂

Leave a Reply

