The Power of Duct Tape Makes Our Bucket List Adventure Come True

25 Aug

It all started over 35 years ago … on a Saturday morning when I woke up at the crack of dawn and witnessed the awesomeness of Hanna Barbera’s Wacky Races.

 

Where it all began ...

Where it all began …

 

 

I thought … I want to do that one day. I want to build something wacky and enter a race. I want to have some cartoon fun.

And then it happened … this weekend another Bucket List Adventure began only this time I had a navigator and he was fulfilling his Sandbox List Adventure and together we were doing our best not to sink.

I had to put my MacGyver skills to the test on this one…

Six cardboard boxes.

Five rolls of silver duct tape.

Two rolls of white duct tape.

One small can of gray paint.

One small can of blue paint.

And endless trips to the hardware store.

In the end, with a little help from my Disney-Junior-watching crew, we created our own Wacky Race vehicle and my son decided it had to be the Millennium Falcon.

 

The Millennium Falcon, complete with Han Solo, Chewy, Obi-Wan, and Luke Skywalker watching our back, and R2-D2 in the cockpit.

Ahhhhhhh the power of duct tape made The Millennium Falcon possible. It came complete with Han Solo, Chewy, Obi-Wan, and Luke Skywalker watching our back, and R2-D2 in the cockpit.

 

We had to make sure we had engines ... my son wanted the Hyper-Drive working.

We had to make sure we had engines … my son wanted the Hyper-Drive working.

 

My young Jedi Knight disguised as some new rebel getting ready for the race.

My young Jedi Knight disguised as some new rebel getting ready for the race.

 

While we waited for the races to start, we thought we'd check out the rest of the boats. This one was called The Floating Stones.

While we waited for the races to start, we thought we’d check out the rest of the boats. This one was called The Floating Stones.

 

The Pirate Ship, who happened to win for best theme.

The Pirate Ship, who happened to win for best theme.

 

The Shark Boat, which won both of its races.

The Shark Boat, which won both of its races.

 

The KISS boat, complete with little rock stars.

The KISS boat, complete with little rock stars, who never gave up during the race. Even when their boat flipped over they managed to swim to the finish line and win their heat.

 

This was my daughter's favorite boat, the Sweet Treats, complete with an ice cream sundae, all made out of cardboard.

This was my daughter’s favorite boat, the Sweet Treats, complete with an ice cream sundae, all made out of cardboard.

 

This Frozen Ice Castle was voted most likely to sink ... and it didn't let us down.

This Frozen Ice Castle was voted most likely to sink … and it didn’t let us down.

 

And finally this was the People's Choice Award winner, it was also pretty fast in the water.

And finally this was the People’s Choice Award winner, it was also pretty fast in the water.

 

After all the oohing and ahhhhing we all headed down for the Wacky Races to begin

After all the oooohhing and ahhhhing we all headed down for the Wacky Races to begin.

 

As we loaded our boats I remembered ... we paid so much attention to building the boat, I forgot to show my son how to row the boat. So we had a quick two-minute lesson.

As we loaded our boats I remembered … we paid so much attention to building the boat, I forgot to show my son how to row the boat. So we had a quick two-minute lesson. Unfortunately we needed more than just two minutes, as we lost the first race. But we bounced back and won the second one and he was happier about that finish.

 

In the end we didn't sink, but there were plenty of other boats that didn't quite make it, and in truth that was one of the funnest parts of the race.

In the end we didn’t sink, but there were plenty of other boats that didn’t quite make it, and in truth that was one of the funnest parts of the race.

 

We might not have won our division, or a prize for the best looking Star Wars Ship Cruiser, but we still had a great time at the cardboard yacht regatta. I was happy to see my son so excited, practicing his light saber skills while all the people passed by and complimented us on the boat. I smiled at the fact that someone said “May The Force Be With You.” I cracked up that we had spun out of control and began cruising backwards for a couple of meters during the race. I was ecstatic that we didn’t sink. And I was thankful for “The Power of Duct Tape”.

As far as parenthood goes, this was definitely an awesome adventure. I had checked something off my Bucket List and so had my son and daughter. It was a Guatacular event. And the best part wasn’t our unsinkable ship, but the smile on my kid’s face as he high-fived me and the jumping and cheering coming from my daughter during the race.

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “The Power of Duct Tape Makes Our Bucket List Adventure Come True”

  1. bgddyjim August 26, 2014 at 1:40 AM #

    That’s awesome.

    • The Guat August 27, 2014 at 11:15 PM #

      HA! Thanks! We had so much fun. Thanks for stopping by and reading. Sorry I’ve been MIA, but I’m slowly catching up.

      • bgddyjim August 28, 2014 at 12:13 AM #

        No worries.

  2. anotherday2paradise August 26, 2014 at 5:00 AM #

    Oh….well done! What a fun event, and congratulations on the 2nd place. 🙂 Amazing what you can create when you have a challenge to meet. 🙂

    • The Guat August 28, 2014 at 5:07 PM #

      Ha! Thanks! I had such a good time even though we didn’t come in first. Man I was thankful for the duct tape, definitely one of the coolest Bucket List Adventures yet 🙂

  3. susielindau August 26, 2014 at 8:11 AM #

    I love it! The unsinkable Guat does it again!

    • The Guat August 28, 2014 at 5:09 PM #

      Yup. I was lucky enough not to sink, but the sinking of ships looked like a lot of fun. In any case it was definitely a cool adventure.

  4. lameadventures August 26, 2014 at 5:30 PM #

    Very creative, Guat! I can see why Little Guat was so psyched. Nice to know that you guys managed to stay above water.

    • The Guat August 27, 2014 at 11:19 PM #

      Duuuuuuude. You don’t even know, I was so worried we would sink I forgot to tell him how to paddle. Ha! But you know what? Even though we stayed afloat the sinking looked fun. It was a cool night.

  5. brickhousechick August 28, 2014 at 6:31 AM #

    This is phenomenal, Guat!!!! How fun! You are the coolest mom I have never met!!! 🙂 🙂

    • The Guat August 28, 2014 at 5:10 PM #

      Ha! Whenever you can make it to Cali let me know, that way you can actually say you met the coolest Guatemalan mom every 🙂 Gracias chica!

Leave a Reply

