Finding My Laugh

4 Aug

“Everybody has a plan, until they get punched in the face.”  –Mike Tyson

 

Holyfield vs. Tyson

Holyfield vs. Tyson

 

When I saw this quote today, I thought, Holy Crap. How does he know of me and my George Costanza existence?

Dude.

That’s exactly what my life has been like the past two years, knockout after knockout, clinging to the ropes. But I’m still here. Still standing …

I’m stubborn that way.

It may take be a while to get up after a beatdown, whether it has to with parenthood, dealing with family, handling rejections in my career, or dealing with relationship drama and all the complications that come from that. Dude that alone can knock you out. But I got some Rocky Balboa blood in me and I always get up, ready for a comeback, waiting for that opportunity. That moment! Yeah it’s out there and I think I’m close.

But what happens when it looks like I’m down for the count? Do I still make plans? Do I even bother knowing that life is gonna put the smackdown on me?

Dude got to. Just got to.

I still make some … lots of them. It’s what motivates me to get out of bed, no snooze alarm needed. Blueprints are essential for life, they help guide you in the right direction, they’re your compass if you get lost. They represent the possibility. You just have to remember to tweak them a little bit when the unexpected happens. You bob and weave when something or someone is coming for you.

When I was making life plans I didn’t take into consideration that I’d get knocked out a couple of times. I was naive, I thought since my teen years were challenging enough that would be it … but no … that was just character building, preparing me for adulthood.

Character, I’ve got plenty of it.

So I thought it would be somewhat easy the rest of the way, but I’ve found that the road to my “prime” has many rounds. But without them I guess I wouldn’t be as funny. I’ve noticed all great comedians had it rough one time or another, it’s where they found their laugh. And I guess that’s what’s happening to me … I’m finding my laugh. I don’t like the fact that I need to get punched in the face for that, but there’s no other way life can teach you that painful lesson.

Keep making plans, keep adjusting and tweaking, just remember to pack the ice and bring Neosporin along the way.

 

 

6 Responses to “Finding My Laugh”

  1. sticklebean August 4, 2014 at 10:48 PM #

    Reblogged this on danielandtasco and commented:
    Just do it!

  2. cravesadventure August 5, 2014 at 8:41 AM #

    Ha! – love your last paragraph and oh so true! Great Reminder – Great Advice. Keep On Keeping On 🙂

  3. susielindau August 5, 2014 at 8:53 AM #

    I LOVE this! I’m coming off a writing binge and expected a different outcome when my WIP was critiqued last night. Of course, I typically remember the negative stuff and forget the positive. One classmate emailed me this morning and picked me up off the mat. That’s all it takes.
    There are ups and downs in everyone’s life. The ups are the rewards and surviving the downs make us badass!!!

  4. artisticmilestone August 5, 2014 at 10:08 AM #

    Amen. No pain no gain 🙂

  5. lameadventures August 5, 2014 at 7:18 PM #

    Your positive attitude about life’s ups and downs is very healthy for your overall well being Guat. Having worked alongside so many negative types off and on through the years, I can say with authority that since The Grind (or at least my department) has been a pessimist-free zone in the last 17 months, not only has it been beneficial to my mental health, but it’s paid a dividend in my wallet. The Boss has awarded both Godsend and me raises in that time; something we never got when our company was crepehanger-heavy with the whiners and moaners. I think that negative thinking is as contagious as a cold, but positive thinkers are the people that people naturally welcome. Stay focused on your goals and yeah, it’s good that you know how to take a punch.

  6. TBM August 6, 2014 at 3:29 AM #

    I love how you stay positive even during tuck and roll moments. Staying positive, laughing, chocolate, friends, and beer help so much. Life isn’t easy, but shoot, we can still laugh about it hopefully. Maybe not right away, but eventually.

Leave a Reply

