Winning Moments …

25 Jul

Tomorrow’s the day …

 

 

39 years ago at some God-forsaken hour I took my first breath and set my sights on big dreams.

I’ll still be dreaming about some of them tomorrow. In fact probably the next day too, because am I where I’d thought I’d be at 39?

No.

Not really.

But then again I wasn’t where I was supposed to be at 38 and I’m still standing today. Chocolate, laughter, and comedy have played a big part in my life so far and I’m grateful for that, I couldn’t have gotten far without it.

But my Happiness Projects, Bucket Lists, Misadventures, Sandbox Adventure Lists, races, meditation challenges, Super Soul Sunday Moments, the Clear-Eyes-Full-Hearts-Coach-Taylor-Moments, and the 10-Day-Mental Diet trials have also played an important role in getting me back on track. They kept me from jumping over the ledge really, and that’s a big thing. I’m grateful for the change in perspective, for the life and vitality they bring back to the George Costanza phase of my life, for the reminder that any day above ground is a good day, and all I’m trying to do is win little victories.

A friend recently told me … “win moments and they become hours and they become days…”

That’s great advice that I’ll be sticking to at 39, hopefully it’ll get me to 40. If not … there’s always Ben & Jerry’s

 

 

8 Responses to “Winning Moments …”

  1. peacelovegreatcountrymusic July 25, 2014 at 10:49 PM #

    My birthday was yesterday. I ate chocolate, polished off the rum bottle I was too lazy to put back on the shelf, and I took the day to take it all in. I hope you have a great, great day. And I listened to Blessed by Martina.

    • The Guat July 26, 2014 at 12:02 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude Chocolate, drinks and Martina sound awesome…was it by the beach too? Duuuuuuuuuude Happy Birthday to you!! I’m so glad I got a chance to meet you via Word Press, you’re definitely an awesome source of good music, good vibes, and good stories. Always a pleasure having you stop by 🙂

  2. Cayman Thorn July 26, 2014 at 11:54 AM #

    Hugs and fist bumps, and . . .

    • The Guat September 2, 2014 at 1:14 AM #

      Sorry for the belated thank you, it’s been crazy around here but I’m trying to catch up. Definitely loved the Jimmy Hendrix tune you posted and always appreciate the Drinks Well With Others love. 🙂

  3. lameadventures July 26, 2014 at 7:24 PM #

    This celebration calls for one of those fantastic chocolate cakes you bake from scratch. I hope someone near and dear does that for you, if not, at least takes you out for a great dinner. Happy birthday, Guat!

    • The Guat September 2, 2014 at 1:16 AM #

      OH! V! I’m so glad you mentioned that…I totally baked one of my 12 X 12 Chocolate Challenge cakes for my big 39, and my kids loved it as did I. Thanks so much for stopping by, it’s always good to see your comments and hear myself laugh after I read them. Sorry I’ve been MIA, it’s been life keeping me busy, but I’m catching up. Slowly catching up.

  4. Jackie Cangro July 29, 2014 at 10:01 AM #

    Happy Birthday! i hope you had an awesome celebration. Did someone say chocolate?

    • The Guat September 2, 2014 at 1:18 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude. Someone definitely said chocolate … like to the tenth power. So glad to see you around my neck of the woods. Sorry I’ve been lagging on my reading and response time, but I am definitely catching up this month. All the deadlines have passed and now it’s time to hang out and catch up with my WP buddies, be seeing you soon.

Leave a Reply

