They Give Me Extra Umph … And Sometimes Stretchy Pants

4 Jun

So what’s next?

This is what a friend asked me after I had finished my 12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge, but the funny thing was that this question was already running around in my head as I was spreading the frosting across two chocolatey layers.

I needed something.

I didn’t want to be like the Dunkin’ Donuts guy … you know … time to make the donuts … time to make the donuts … time to make the donuts.

I wanted a little bit more.

But don’t get me wrong everybody has a routine and it’s good. I like routine, it helps keep the chaos in my life in order. But I also needed something outside of my routine. I needed something to look forward to, to get excited about … something that gave me emotional juice.

I realized all these personal projects, challenges, races, Sandbox List, and Bucket List Adventures were the something needed. I get umph after every accomplishment, and believe me when your life goes a little haywire every week, you need something to pull you out of the George Costanza existence and remind you that you’ve got it.

You need these little high-five moments to keep you going.

So I’m constantly in search of that extra umph, whether it has to do with food or adventure races I like the challenge and I like what it adds to my life. Sometimes the effect is dramatic and long-lasting, other times it’s small and lasts only moments. But regardless of the length of time it still impacts my life in a positive way. But most of all I think I enjoy the fact that it reminds me of two things. First … to live and enjoy the present, to enjoy what I think is fun even if I have Debbie Downers around me. And second is to always end the day on E, empty out my gas tank and leave it all out there whether it’s fun at the beach, rock climbing, writing books or vegging out on the couch. Go all the way, even if I have meltdowns or mistakes … no half measures.

So with all this in mind … what’s next?

Action? Adventure? Culinary Projects that feature stretchy pants in my future?

Yes. Yes to all of the above.

I have my New Balance ready to go for my first Color Run with the kids, followed by our annual triathlon involving the disastrous Devil’s Canyon and a lot of will power. But before all this athletic awesomeness takes place I felt the need for another cooking adventure and while hanging out at the library I found this …

 

:)

πŸ™‚

 

Dude … how could I not?

And seeing how I love food and The Sopranos and Mob Week on AMC, I didn’t need a lot of convincing.

So what’s next?

Stretchy pants … definitely. For sure.

 

 

16 Responses to “They Give Me Extra Umph … And Sometimes Stretchy Pants”

  1. bgddyjim June 5, 2014 at 12:49 AM #

    Stretchy pants… That’s hilarious! Nice.

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:44 PM #

      I love that description it cracks me up. I might have to actually buy a pair if I eat everything in that recipe book, because the recipes look delicious. I wonder if they come in different colors…

  2. anotherday2paradise June 5, 2014 at 6:47 AM #

    Looking forward to your next culinary series, TG. I don’t own any stretchy pants, so I’ll just look. πŸ™‚

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:45 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude I totally have to get a pair. I normally just call my yoga pants stretchy pants but I might just have to walk into Target and ask the lady where the stretchy pants section is because it’s gonna get crazy with these Italian dishes.

  3. Marcia Clarke June 5, 2014 at 7:15 AM #

    Go for it Chica. You only live once!

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:47 PM #

      I know right? Gotta eat big. Got to. Can’t be handling rice cakes over tasty Italian meals. The stretchy pants are gonna come out!

  4. TBM June 5, 2014 at 9:01 AM #

    Dude I wish I could partake in this challenge. And Mob Week on AMC? How did I not know about this?

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:49 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude how could you not know about Mob Week on AMC it’s like one of my favorite binge watching sessions of the year. I start saying “aw fogeeeeeeeeeeed aboud it” all the time. πŸ™‚ I gonna start the challenge this week. Maybe I’ll start with something simple … like sauce.

  5. Angelia Sims June 5, 2014 at 9:42 AM #

    Stretchy pants minus all the extra athletic stuff – PLUS some extra couch time for Mob TV with yummy food cooked by someone else. Now you are talking! Lol.

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:51 PM #

      Ha! You crack me up. Extra couch time always sounds fantastic especially if I’m binge watching Mob Week. πŸ™‚

  6. cravesadventure June 5, 2014 at 10:30 AM #

    Living for TODAY – love it πŸ™‚ Escaping for me gives me that extra boost and motivates me. Happy Day!

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:52 PM #

      Dude whenever there’s food involved I’m always living for the day and any type of adventure race is something I look forward to…you know that high-five moment. I like those, got one of them coming up this week. πŸ™‚

  7. peacelovegreatcountrymusic June 6, 2014 at 11:07 PM #

    Mob Week on AMC, it’s like Christmas, Labor Day and birthdays all rolled into one glorious ball of awesomeness.

    • The Guat June 15, 2014 at 1:53 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuude totally. I love it and now that I’m gonna borrow that book from the library and cook some of the meals, I’m gonna feel like I’m watching in 4D πŸ™‚

  8. jb August 10, 2014 at 9:00 AM #

    are they having mob week this year

    • The Guat September 5, 2014 at 11:08 PM #

      Last year they had it at in mid August … August has come and gone yet still no Mob Week, mob movies yes, but not Mob Week yet, have to settle for a variety of Netflix pics throughout the week.

Leave a Reply

