12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge: Frosting Rehabilitation

23 May

 

 

 

 

It was colossus and had something called mint chocolate ganache in it. Totally seemed appropriate for a Friday night. Well totally just seemed appropriate in general. Chocolate seems to go with just about everything … especially if it’s three layers.

Granted that this ganache thing got messed up on my first attempt, even though I followed the directions, there it was all mushy and lumpy, looking nothing like the picture. It was sad really, a chocoholic failing at chocolate. I almost turned in my chocolate lover’s membership card.

After all these years of chocolate eating, I should know the chemistry behind the cacao bean and the hormonal changes it suffers when put under duress. I should know about the emulsification process and the ability to fix soggy, lumpy, or watery frosting disaster. I should know.

But I didn’t.

Eventually I figured out how to make it nice and smooth again. And when I say that I figured it out, I mean that I looked up baking failures on the Internet and someone with baking genius knowledge provided the answer. You know … like someone with mad baking skills that got tired of answering failure questions and just posted the answers on a page so that baking failures like myself could feel like a success again in two hours.

I almost killed the cake, but was able to turn it around, which is probably why it took me like half a day to bake this one. Usually when failure hits my baking experiments, I just have to throw it out and give up, or start over if I have enough butter. Luckily I found a secret ingredient and was able to make the miracle of smooth chocolate filling happen. I was also able to bookmark a web page that helped rehabilitate frosting failures like myself.

And I’m so glad I did, because in truth I wanted it to be a knee-buckling awesome type of cake. Not just because it was a mint chocolate chip lover’s dream, but because it was my sister’s birthday this week and I wanted to do something spectacular in her honor. I thought three layers … yeah that seems pretty honorable. Granted she lives like seven states away and wouldn’t be able to taste it, but I could still wish her a happy birthday and let her know I’m celebrating her in spirit and in a big way. With a huge slice.

So for the 11th cake, I discovered The Grasshopper. Something that once again required a paddle attachment, a baking tool that I do not have so I tend to improvise, a process that tends to help sculpt and tone my forearms.

It’s a chocolate workout.

The Grasshopper also required Girl Scout Thin Mint Cookies, something that was invading every block within a five-mile radius a few months ago. But something I could not find today. So once again I improvised. I used the famous Milano Mint Cookie. Something that my sister really enjoyed snacking on when we were younger.

But regardless of the number of substitutions, frosting failures, and strenuous amounts of manual labor, I eventually finished putting together this light and tasty three-layer chocolate goody. And even though it took me half a day, it was definitely worth it.

 

Recipe courtesy of Pass The Sushi.

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge: Frosting Rehabilitation”

  1. Mabel Kwong May 24, 2014 at 5:00 AM #

    “a chocoholic failing at chocolate. I almost turned in my chocolate lover’s membership card.” HAHAHA. This was such a good read, I found this post hilarious. Congratulations on making it to the end of the recipe and you know what, the cake looks great and I’m sure it tasted great too. You would have gone into a chocolate coma if the buttercream was chocolate… When I make cakes I love adding M&Ms on top.

    • The Guat May 28, 2014 at 9:09 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuude I totally felt like I was failing with that chocolate ganache thing I have no idea what happened, but glad I made it work. And M&Ms! That would have been a great a idea…although that might have encouraged my kids to get an even bigger slice.

      • Mabel Kwong May 29, 2014 at 2:24 AM #

        Yes, glad it turned out well. Whenever I make cake, I always think of someway of incorporating M&Ms or colourful sprinkles. Usually on top of the cake. With lots of cream and frosting too. It’s always a hit everyone…maybe try this sometime!

  2. anotherday2paradise May 24, 2014 at 7:04 AM #

    Oh, Yummy! Well done, TG. I’m on my way over for tea and cake. 🙂

    • The Guat May 28, 2014 at 9:10 AM #

      Duuuuuuude this was very tasty and the thing is it was even more tastier the next day. This one is definitely a keeper…now that I know how to fix my chocolate failure 🙂

  3. brickhousechick May 24, 2014 at 2:07 PM #

    Oh my goodness!!! Did someone say Mint Milanos???? What a fantastic substitute. Simply amazing looking piece of art!! 🍰🍰🍰

    • The Guat May 28, 2014 at 9:17 AM #

      Dude yes Mint Chocolate Milanos. I couldn’t find those Girl Scouts anywhere and they were everywhere on every corner at every supermarket here. So I went with the Milanos and you know what chica … this one was very tasty definitely making this one again hoping for no chocolate failures next time 🙂

  4. cravesadventure May 25, 2014 at 7:35 AM #

    WOW – Gorgeous and looks delicious too! I have not baked a cake or frosting a cake in a very long time. I am more of a cookies and brownies type of baker. Happy Baking 🙂

    • The Guat May 28, 2014 at 9:19 AM #

      Dude cookies and brownies are definitely awesome. I love cookies … maybe I’ll think of a cookie challenge next time 🙂 But yes this cake was super good looking and it was tasty too. Sometimes things are good looking but taste so-so…this was not the case here. I was glad about that 🙂

Leave a Reply

