12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … I Can See How Some People Can’t Live Without Their Double Mocha Cappuccino Half-Decaf Latte Espressos

2 May

I’m not much of a coffee drinker.

Never have been … belong to the tea minority.

However I do drink it once a year … on my Dad’s birthday just to honor the “let’s have a cup of coffee and talk about life” conversations we used to have every once in while. So seeing how our favorite hockey team made it to the Stanley Cup Playoffs, I thought I’d whip up the Chocolate Coffee Cake and think of the conversations my dad and I would have had while watching the game.

The recipe called for instant coffee, but knowing my Dad, the coffee connoisseur that he was, instant coffee wouldn’t cut it. Freeze-dried crystals didn’t have a chance. Folgers never had a place in our pantry. It just wasn’t tolerated. So I brewed up a cup of one of his favorites … Guatemalan coffee hailing from the Antigua region.

He’d definitely like it. And after tasting the Chocolate Coffee Cake I can see how some people can’t live without their double mocha cappuccino half-decaf latte espresso. It made the chocolate more chocolatey.

This week’s secret ingredient definitely helped classify the cake as a change your life type of dessert. I’m beginning to impress myself with my baking skills. This week’s challenge definitely came out rich, moist, decadent and with an awesome crumb. Not dry, not mushy. Just right.

Coffee and chocolate … definitely a good combination. Definitely Guatacular.

 

Duuuuuude. I think nuts make everything better.

Duuuuuude. I think nuts make everything better … yeah after my second piece … no doubt.

 

 

The secret ingredient.

The secret ingredient.

 

The strawberries were a nice touch. I'm glad I thought of them.

The strawberries were a nice touch. The original recipe called for raspberries, but seeing how I had an awesome cake with raspberries already, I thought I’d choose a different berry. I’m glad I did. Totally put me on a new sweetness level. Dentists beware.

 

 

Recipe Courtesy of My Life Runs on Food.

 

Ingredients
1-cup sugar
1-3/4 cups flour
3/4-cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1-1/2 tsp. baking powder
1-1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 large eggs; room temperature
1-cup organic whole milk; room temperature
1/2-cup olive/neutral oil
2 tsp. vanilla
3 tbsp. instant coffee
1 cup boiling water
Chocolate Icing (Recipe Follows)
Garnish: Any nut and/or berries

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease, flour and line with parchment paper 9-inch round baking pans.
2. In a large mixing bowl (one used for the mixer), toss sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
3. In another mixing bowl, whisk together the milk,eggs, oil, and vanilla.
4. Add the milk ingredients to the dry/flour ingredients in the large bowl. Mix until just incorporated.
5. Add instant coffee to the boiling water. Pour into the batter and mix until just incorporated. The batter will be thin.
6. Pour batter into prepared cake pans. Try to make sure they are of equal weight.
7. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean.
8. Cool on a wire rack for about 10 minutes and remove the cakes from the pans to continue cooling.
9. When the cakes are completely cool, frost cakes.
10. Garnish with chopped nuts and berries
11. Enjoy!

Chocolate Frosting

Ingredients
3 tbsp. instant coffee
1/3-cup whole, organic milk; warm-hot, not boiling
1 stick (1/2-cup) butter
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
2-3/4 to 3 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla

Directions
1. Add instant coffee to the warm milk. Let cool.
2. Meanwhile, melt butter in a small pot. Cool slightly.
3. Place cocoa powder in the bowl of the mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Pour butter into the cocoa powder and mix thoroughly.
4. Add a third of the milk to the cocoa powder and mix thoroughly. Add half the powder sugar into frosting and mix thoroughly. Continue to alternate between the milk and the powdered sugar, ending with the milk. Add the vanilla and continue whisking until smooth. If frosting is too thick/rough add a little more milk until smooth.

 

 

 

 

 

16 Responses to “12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … I Can See How Some People Can’t Live Without Their Double Mocha Cappuccino Half-Decaf Latte Espressos”

  1. bgddyjim May 3, 2014 at 5:35 AM #

    Good God that looks awesome!

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 2:35 PM #

      Dude. It was totally delicious. The almonds raised it up a notch 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Kathryn McCullough May 3, 2014 at 6:37 AM #

    Yummy, yummy!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 2:36 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. So yummy. I can’t believe I never thought of almonds. I think I might put it in everything.

  3. anotherday2paradise May 3, 2014 at 9:17 AM #

    This looks absolutely Guatelicious!! 😀

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 2:19 PM #

      Ha! I love it! Guatelicious! Oh I am so using that. 🙂

  4. brickhousechick May 3, 2014 at 12:12 PM #

    I’m not a coffee drinker either which is strange because both my parents always had the Spanish Expresso going on in the kitchen. I drank some during college just to stay up and study but it has always given me a headache. With chocolate though, it’s the bomb.

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 3:13 PM #

      Dude I totally tried it in college too, because there were all these cool cafes around and people were always like ‘yeah let’s get some coffee’ and I never did. I got tea. I was the weirdo. But the one time I ordered coffee so that I could stay awake during finals week I got a stomach ache and got grossed out and I did no studying, just have serious stomach issue.

  5. Krystal May 3, 2014 at 8:24 PM #

    YUM! This reminds me of Julia Child’s chocolate almond cake recipe because it calls for coffee in the frosting. However, yours is layered which is sooooo much better! MORE CAKE! 😀 Haha!

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 3:16 PM #

      Dude I had no idea child’s had one. I’m sure she has plenty, she’s Julia freakin’ Child. I should totally try her dessert recipes. And yes … more cake is definitely always better 🙂

      • Krystal May 12, 2014 at 7:26 PM #

        Totally check it out…it’s in the Mastering The Art of French Cooking book, but I’m sure it’s floating online too somewhere. Julie made it in the Julie & Julia movie and her and her husband just devoured it right off the plate. Haha! That was my inspiration to make it and it was soooo worth making!

  6. susielindau May 4, 2014 at 6:21 AM #

    CAN I COME TO YOUR HOUSE FOR DESSERT??? yum……

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 3:18 PM #

      Totally you can bring your Wild Rider self over here and call up Lame Adventure and Brick House Chic it will be one crazy party. I’ll back two cakes! This one was super tasty. I think it was the almonds 🙂

  7. lameadventures May 5, 2014 at 8:17 PM #

    Guat, I’m also a tea drinker, but does that cake look delicious! And the strawberries add a nice touch, too. How long did the caffeine buzz last, or are you still rocketing?

    • The Guat May 10, 2014 at 3:21 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude. The strawberries were such a great touch. Man! And the almonds…foggedaboudit! Accessorizing chocolate cakes is totally awesome, especially when you have two pieces at the end 🙂 It was as my friend AnotherDay2Paradise would say Guatelicious!

Leave a Reply

