12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge: Getting Drunk on Chocolate

25 Apr

To make up for last week’s chocolate disaster I wanted to make a change-your-life cake that would actually live up to its hype.

You know … make me breathe different. Make me change my state.

Now normally the frosting or the filling on the cakes blows me away and sort of takes over the chocolate challenge. But I gotta say this week the sweet stout-infused whipped cream frosting came in second to the amazingly moist light chocolate stout cake with a tender crumb that makes you close your eyes and sigh.

I thought beer was just good for burgers and carne asada.

Never cakes.

I mean I was a little worried considering my chocolate beet disaster from last week. I didn’t really want any surprise ingredients. And if you want to know the truth I’m not a real big stout drinker. All I knew about stout was that Guinness made one. My stout education was limited. So when I went to pick up a bottle stout for this recipe I had no idea which one was sad and which one would rock my world.

My pub expert TB Markinson lives way across the Atlantic Ocean and I didn’t realize I’d be stout shopping, otherwise I would have totally asked her for some guidance before today’s baking adventure began.

So after about thirty minutes of studying bottles and cool labels I asked the beer dude to give me some recommendations on good stout. He got into an apples and oranges discussion about preferences, textures, and finishes. Then the “say-what?” expression on my face made him realize I was a stout rookie and he just pointed me in the direction of Samuel Smith.

Dude.

 

IMG_4280

🙂

 

I could have easily eaten half of the cake and gotten drunk off of it … but I didn’t need to go into a sugar coma, so I showed some restraint and only ate two pieces.

I’m back on the saddle again. Giddy up.

 

 

This recipe is ginormous so unless you’re have a gazillion people I suggest you half the recipe and create a more modest two layer cake.

 

Recipe courtesy of Brooklyn Supper

 

Chocolate Stout Cake (adapted from Bon Appétit via Epicurious)
makes three 8-inch layers

for the cake
2 cups good stout, such as Samuel Smith’s or Guinness
4 sticks unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups Dutch-process cocoa powder
4 cups all-purpose flour
4 cups sugar
1 tablespoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
4 eggs
1 1/3 cups sour cream

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter three 8-inch cake pans, line bottom with a parchment circle, and then butter that too.

In a heavy-bottomed medium-sized sauce pan, heat the butter and stout over medium-low heat. When the butter has melted, turn heat to low and whisk in the cocoa. Remove pan from heat, and set aside to cool.

Meanwhile, whisk the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt together in a medium-sized bowl.

Using a hand mixer, or a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the eggs and sour cream together on low speed. Slowly add the cocoa mixture, mixing just until combined. (Scrape down the sides as needed.) Gradually add the flour mixture, and beat just until it is well-incorporated. Turn off the mixer and use a spatula to scrape the sides and catch any stray flour.

Divide the batter evenly between the cake pans, and then slide into the oven. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with just a few crumbs attached.

After 10 minutes, flip the cakes onto a wire rack and cool completely before frosting.

for the whipped cream stout frosting (adapted from Gourmet Live via Epicurious)
2 cups cold heavy cream
1/4 cup stout
3 teaspoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of sea salt

Use a mixer or whisk to beat all of the ingredients to stiff (but still supple) peaks. Frost and assemble the cake.

Keep in the refrigerator until your are ready to serve for optimal looks.

12 Responses to “12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge: Getting Drunk on Chocolate”

  1. alifemoment April 26, 2014 at 2:32 AM #

    nice!!! 🙂

  2. peacelovegreatcountrymusic April 26, 2014 at 2:02 PM #

    I would be so hammered and happy, I would eat the raw batter. That beast looks so amazing. I was almost stung by a bee just now trying to take a picture that turned out so blurry I thought I had a seizure. Beer and chocolate would do the trick right now.

    • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 12:56 AM #

      Dude I could have totally drank up the entire batter, it was pretty tasty too. I never would have thought about beer and cake. You’re right that combination could probably solve everything including a bee sting. 🙂

  3. Jackie Cangro April 27, 2014 at 6:31 AM #

    I would have never thought to add beer to cake batter. Some people are so smart! 🙂

    • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 12:58 AM #

      It’s genius really. This particular beer was pretty tasty and added something to my chocolate. A good surprise I would have never thought of … like ever. 🙂

  4. lameadventures April 27, 2014 at 12:47 PM #

    That cake is packed with ingredients that would kill me, Guat, but it looks so delectable I would likely die happy.

    • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 1:01 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuude. You would. You’d be ecstatic and it would be an awesome way to go 🙂 Chocolate and beer … I never knew the genius behind this.

  5. Kathryn McCullough April 29, 2014 at 2:21 PM #

    Sounds yummy, my friend. The beer thing is interesting.

    Sorry to so late getting here. I’m trying to catch up, as we’ve had friends visiting from the US and have had to do hostess thing. I’ve hardly had time to turn on my computer. Hope you are well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat May 1, 2014 at 10:42 AM #

      Dude isn’t it? I had no idea people were putting all kinds of stuff in their cakes until I decided to take on this challenge. They’re getting creative here. I never would have that do that. It’s funny. And no worries on catching up, I got to stop by your place and do a little catching up of my own. Gotta here some more of your Ecuadorian and Dad adventures. Hope you had a good time with your friends. I know you were an awesome host. 🙂

  6. Island Traveler May 24, 2014 at 1:33 AM #

    One bite and I bet I’ll be spinning in sweet delight. I have a weakness for desserts and these…oh, my! Irresistibly good!

Leave a Reply

