12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … I Only Had One Piece

18 Apr

You know what?

They lied.

It didn’t change my life.

It was one of the things that shouldn’t be on a list. You know how they have those 10-best-things list on every magazine or mindless entertainment gossip show. They come up with the beautiful people on the Earth list and then there’s that one person that doesn’t belong –like that materialistic reality star that has absolutely no talent but managed to get on the list because they had a sex tape.

Yeah.

This is what happened to this bundt cake. It should not have been on the 12 Life-Changing Chocolate Cakes List.

I only had one piece.

Just one. It never really happened before. I’m an automatic two-piece-kind-of-gal when it comes to chocolate cake. But this time I only had one. And it had nothing to do with what it looked like … it looked enticing, smelled awesome, and the texture was nice, light, and crumbly. I couldn’t wait to dig in. I mean look at it … if it was at an Easter Brunch Buffet, I’d be all over that.

 

:)

Notice the size is not as big as my previous 12 x 12 chocolate tastings.

 

But I realized not everything goes with chocolate.

I never thought I would say that but yes it’s true.

Almost everything … not this. This was supposed to add a natural bit of sweetness in addition to the honey and maple syrup. But all it added was an un-camouflaged vegetable.

Beets.

It was a Dark Chocolate Beet Bundt Cake.

I mean when you think about it, really I should have been psyched. Beets have all kinds of benefits. I mean it has Boron which is supposed to produce massive amounts of sex hormones so dudes should be feeding this to their wives all the time. It has all of the awesome vitamins, all the ABC’s, plus iron. It’s supposed to cleanse my body and prevent a few forms of cancer. Plus it has all these natural components that are supposed to lower my blood pressure, relax my mind, and help with my depression.

Yeah …

I should have been psyched, but I’ve never mixed vegetables and cake before. I know it exists out there, I mean I’ve had carrot cake, not too fond of it, but I’ve had it. However chocolate and vegetables? Never heard of it. But if I was trying to get my kids to eat more vegetables this would be the cake to do it. But that wasn’t my plan. I wasn’t going for that. I was going for the change your life cake.

It was on the list. I had to give it a try.ย  After all it was chocolate. And in all fairness it was pretty tasty, pretty decadent, all the parts … except when I got to the beets. Imagine if I would have followed the directions … there wouldย  be beets in every bite. I didn’t do it on purpose though. It said three medium-sized beets and that’s what I got. They were supposed to yield two cups of shredded beets. However I just came up with one.

It’s all good though. I think I was better off with my adjustment. I was able to weave my way in and out of that hidden vegetable. But you never know … if you’re a vegetarian, or love beets, or want more Boron in your diet so you can have all kinds of hormones surging, then this is the cake for you. This cake is on your list.

 

 

Dark Chocolate Beet Bundt Cake Recipe

 

Cook the beets ahead of time and this cake will come together fairly quickly. You can boil, steam, or roast your beets whole, then peel and grate them. Recipe adapted from the Green Market Baking Book.
Ingredients
  • 3 medium beets, cooked and cooled
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup light olive oil
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup organic, unbleached white flour
  • 1 cup organic whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Butter a 10-cup bundt pan and dust it lightly with cocoa.
  2. Grate the beets on a box grater and measure them; you should have 2 cups of grated beets. Transfer them to a medium colander and allow them to drain of any excess moisture while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the melted butter, olive oil, maple syrup and honey until everything is well blended.
  4. Add eggs, one at a time, and beat until smooth. Add the vanilla extract.
  5. Sift together the flours, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Gently fold the flour mixture into the wet ingredients, but do not over mix.
  6. Fold the beets into the batter until distributed, then scrape the batter into the prepared bundt pan and spread around until it is even.
  7. Bake for about 35-45 minutes, until a wooden skewer comes out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool, in the pan on a wire rack, for a good 20 minutes.
  8. Carefully invert the pan onto a plate, tap gently, and the cake will drop out. Serve warm or cool. Will keep for up to four days, well wrapped in plastic.

Recipe Courtesy of Simple Bites

 

 

 

24 Responses to “12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … I Only Had One Piece”

  1. Renee April 19, 2014 at 1:54 AM #

    Did the sex hormones kick in? I mean there had to be a damn good reason to mess up chocolate with beets. Although if it really worked for you then I’m all over that cake!

    • The Guat May 1, 2014 at 10:49 AM #

      Ha! No. That one cracked me up. Yeah I don’t what people were thinking trying to mix up these two. And in truth it didn’t work for me. Guess I’m not that adventurous in the kitchen department ๐Ÿ™‚ Hey thanks for stopping by, sorry it took me a while to catch up with you … ended up in my spam.

      • Renee May 1, 2014 at 5:18 PM #

        Well one could hope huh. So disapointing! I figured those sex hormones had something to do with the spam. Don’t worry about it I’ve been without Internet since Sunday so I’m completely behind. I’m off to check out the Stout cake cause that is right up my husband’s alley. To bad his birthday was last month. I guess it’s saved for father’s day!

  2. bgddyjim April 19, 2014 at 4:30 AM #

    Dude, beets and cake? No way… Don’t care. That’s one of those things that just sounds gnarly! You’re a brave woman taking one for the kids like that.

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 2:35 PM #

      Oh dude. This was totally gnarly! Now when someone asks me hey what’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten … I can say Dark Chocolate Beet Bundt Cake. Although I wouldn’t necessary recommend it unless you’re seriously into veggies.

      • bgddyjim April 19, 2014 at 3:00 PM #

        Uh yeah, no. I’ll never be that into veggies.

      • bgddyjim April 19, 2014 at 3:00 PM #

        Thanks though. ๐Ÿ˜™

  3. Maggie Wilson April 19, 2014 at 5:47 AM #

    Safe to assume, then, that you won’t be trialing zucchini chocolate cake or black-bean brownies any time soon? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • The Guat May 1, 2014 at 10:47 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuude. Probably not. I think I tested my limits with this one ๐Ÿ™‚ Hey sorry for getting back to you so late. You ended up in my spam folder ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Maggie Wilson May 1, 2014 at 10:49 AM #

        LOL – no problem. The spam settings must detect funky chocolate/vegetable recipes.

      • The Guat May 1, 2014 at 10:54 AM #

        Dude….they do! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. brickhousechick April 19, 2014 at 7:26 AM #

    Wow! This is big. Only ONE bite??? I am so sorry for your loss (of the second piece). I hope you recover quickly and get back to being the two-piece Guat we all know and love.

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 2:40 PM #

      Dude … it was a chocolate tragedy. I was so burned out. I’m about to donate it to the Vegan restaurant down the street. Or maybe church … they’re always looking for desserts to go with their coffee. The weird thing though is that my son had a piece and he totally ate it up. The beets didn’t seem to phase him. I’m about to make some cupcakes for tomorrow. You know how it is … if you fall down, just get back up again ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Cayman Thorn April 19, 2014 at 7:36 AM #

    Jerry Seinfeld’s wife put out a book several years back in which she incorporated vegetables into all kinds of stuff- pretty sure cake was on the list. I never much cared for any of the recipes since I’m a closet vegetarian as it is and I believe in segregation. I’ll eat the stuff that’s good for me, but it don’t necessarily want it socializing with the bad ass parts of my diet. You gave it a try and now you know for the next time….Beets and Chocolate Cake are never allowed to play together, ever again.

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 2:44 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude. I’m all for segregation on this one. It was a chocolate travesty. I’m not one to mix up my regular foods…everything has its place on my plate. The beets, however, should not have even left the supermarket. I love Jerry to death and knew his wife had a few cookbooks, but I’m not into putting vegetables in desserts. I would have passed on those books. And yeah at least I tried it … now if Oprah ever asks me what do you know for sure? I can say beets and chocolate don’t go together. Don’t do it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great Easter!

      • Cayman Thorn April 20, 2014 at 6:31 AM #

        After reading this post yesterday, I was craving beets. So of course when I went grocery shopping….you guessed it,beets.
        On this Easter Sunday morning, I joined chocolate with fruits. Sliced up some strawberries and a granny smith apple and then grated some dark chocolate over them. Good stuff.
        Happy Easter.

      • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 1:17 AM #

        Yeah … chocolate and strawberries sounds about right. Chocolate and beets? Not so much ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for hanging out buddy ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Cayman Thorn April 19, 2014 at 7:36 AM #

    And Happy Easter.

  7. Kathryn McCullough April 19, 2014 at 2:06 PM #

    I think I’d prefer my chocolate cake and beets be eaten separately. Who knew there was such a thing?! Happy Easter, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 2:46 PM #

      Dude totally. I was just telling Cayman that when it comes to veggies and desserts I believe in segregation. Things like this shouldn’t mix. I’d never heard of it before, but apparently it was on the list. Be careful of lists ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a good Easter and stay away from the beets ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Island Traveler April 21, 2014 at 6:35 PM #

    Irresistibly good! Happy Easter and a fun Spring to you & your family!

    • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 1:16 AM #

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks my friend. Hope you had a good weekend.

  9. lameadventures April 22, 2014 at 10:55 AM #

    When it comes to beets and chocolate cake, Guat, I agree with all my fellow commenters who go the separate but equal way. No. Just say no. But this did make for a very inspired blog post. Maybe you should consider adding a 13th challenge; make it a Guat baker’s dozen to offset this dud?

    • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 1:08 AM #

      Dude that does sound like a good idea. I might try another bundt cake but just a different recipe all together. Beets. Dude. Don’t do it ๐Ÿ™‚ Even if it gives you awesome writing material, your taste buds will want to kill you.

Leave a Reply

