Sanbox List Adventure 29: Meeting Your Hero

14 Apr

We have 13 of them.

Over the past year we’ve collected 13 of them. We started with three and now we have 13. I’m sure the count is gonna keep on rising. Apparently the Cape Crusader is the best superhero on Earth, even though he doesn’t actually have superhero powers, he’s super skilled in martial arts and has all kinds of gadgets to assist his crime fighting capabilities.

So it was of the utmost important that we didn’t miss meeting him.

At last year’s Festival of Books, we witnessed the awesomeness of The Justice League read one of their adventures on stage, but failed to meet them in person, which did not go over well with the kids. Luckily I was able to distract them with snacks, samples, superhero books, Captain Underpants, Scooby-Doo, and other scavenger hunt prizes.

I was packing light this year, and didn’t think sandwiches, Cutie oranges, cheese sticks, and graham crackers would cut it. So I was determined to weave my way in and out of the overheated masses and their cranky parents to reach the Meet-and-Greet line. I was on a mission to make the introduction. I was on a mission to make a Sandbox List Adventure come true.

So I was a little worried when a guy wearing a batman t-shirt and cap came on stage to read Skyscraper Showdown. I didn’t see Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, The Flash, or Batman. Don’t get me wrong the guy was quite animated and very into the story, but he had nothing on the Cape Crusader.

I began to worry as my son asked me for the third time where Batman was and my daughter was wondering when Flash or Wonder Woman were going to show up … but then just as the Joker was about to escape … he showed up and the crowd went wild. Apparently it was one of the best readings we attended. And even though Batman was the only superhero there, my daughter followed her brother’s lead and enjoyed the book.

But the magic of reading didn’t stop there.

We spent the rest of the day exploring the books, going on adventures that can only happen with literary magic, listening to music, and meeting all kinds of authors. It was one of the best Sandbox List Adventures this year. I know that because they’re still talking about it.

 

We got there early and saddled-up for an awesome adventure.

We got there early and saddled-up for an awesome adventure.

 

One of our first stops was the checking out the featured band ... that woke everybody up with their awesome jams.

One of our first stops was checking out the featured band … they woke everybody up with their awesome jams.

 

We followed that up by adding our names and favorite books to the wall of inspiration. My son of course chose Batman :)

We followed that up by adding our names and some of our favorite books to the wall of inspiration. My son of course chose Batman πŸ™‚ My daughter chose The Very Hungry Caterpillar book. I decided to add The Alchemist, Eat Pray Love, and The Life of Pi.

 

We managed to play a few games before we went to the main event.

We managed to play a few games before we went to the main event.

 

Then we headed to the children's stage to check out our main event.

Then we headed to the Children’s Stage to check out our main event. We got front seats and enjoyed the reading of Skyscraper Showdown.

 

This is when all the kids went crazy ...

However the crowd went wild when this guy showed up …

 

However this is when my son was starstruck. He could barely contain himself. He was so excited to meet his hero and have Batman sign his book. It was his cartwheel-worthy moment of the week.

My son was starstruck. He could barely contain himself. He was so excited to meet his hero and have Batman sign his book. It was his cartwheel-worthy moment of the week.

 

When the awesomeness of the Cape Crusader was done, we explored the rest of the festival and discovered new authors.

When the awesomeness of the Cape Crusader was done, we explored the rest of the festival and discovered new authors.

 

During our exploration this was one of the funnest books and booths we discovered. My daughter did her best surfer pose and joined the characters ofthe book.

During our exploration this was one of the funnest books and booths we discovered. My daughter did her best surfer pose and joined the characters of the book.

 

During our browsing session, I found this book that caught my eye. The fact that Diego Luna read it aloud intrigued me.

During our browsing session, I found this book that caught my eye. The fact that Diego Luna read it aloud intrigued me.

 

After we picked up all of our books, from new and established authors, we headed home with all kinds of inspiration and new ideas.

After we picked up all of our books, from new and established authors, we headed home with all kinds of inspiration and new ideas.

 

 

 

 

14 Responses to “Sanbox List Adventure 29: Meeting Your Hero”

  1. Jessica | Defining Wonderland April 15, 2014 at 10:33 AM #

    I went to the Festival of Books a few years ago and really enjoyed it. I’m so glad the kids got to meet Batman. What a fun day for the family!

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 4:26 PM #

      It is super cool. I’ve been taking them every year. I used to take my little cousins who are now in college and now I take my kids. Like a Guat tradition. It’s an awesome way to get them into books. But I have to say that meeting Batman was the highlight of his day.

  2. Kathryn McCullough April 15, 2014 at 6:12 PM #

    The fact of the matter is that all readers are superheroes, of sorts. That’s the coolest lesson I see here. Hope you are well, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 4:28 PM #

      Definitely πŸ™‚ What a good way to look at it. Man just hanging out with Batman got my son all pumped up. He would have read all the Batman books in sight. And my daughter was excited enough to get her Flash mask and surfing skills tuned up.

  3. Cayman Thorn April 16, 2014 at 6:10 PM #

    So Cal- That sounds like an amazing day. Look at you, amazing mama that you are . . sharing the love with your kids like that. And to meet Batman when he’s a good mood? It ain’t easy, lemme tell you. You guys got lucky. Great stuff, So Cal.

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 4:30 PM #

      Dude It was a super amazing day and they had such a blast. Whenever there are books involved I love it and the fact that Batman showed up definitely made everybody’s day. The kids went wild and we’ve been reading about Batman on a daily basis. My son loves it. πŸ™‚ My daughter prefers Flash, maybe he’ll show up next year πŸ™‚

  4. lameadventures April 16, 2014 at 8:28 PM #

    That seems like a very productive outing, Guat. Your daughter striking that pose is great! a few years from now she might feel a bit mortified. So Batman attended but the Hungry Caterpillar was a no show? Bummer!

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 4:32 PM #

      Ha! That surfing pose cracked me up. I told her to do her best surf pose and she busted this one out. I think I’ll frame it so she remembers that she used to have fun with me. And no no Hungry Caterpillar, but Llama, Llama in his Red Pajamas showed up and that was sweet. πŸ™‚

  5. anotherday2paradise April 16, 2014 at 9:48 PM #

    What a fabulous outing for your children, TG! Love the pics of your surfer girl and mini Batman. πŸ™‚

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 4:33 PM #

      Ha! Those were like the awesome highlights of the day. It was super fun to get all that excitement over books. I’m glad they enjoy going every year πŸ™‚ The superhero aspect definitely helps πŸ™‚

  6. artisticmilestone April 16, 2014 at 11:21 PM #

    We don’t have such Festival of Books in my country, too bad. What an adventurous day for kids. I’m just curious, do they sell books there cheaper than at store prize? I love your daughter surfer pose πŸ˜‰

    • The Guat April 19, 2014 at 4:37 PM #

      Oh that is too bad. It’s a really fun way of getting kids to read and plus they have all these indie authors and books that I would have never heard of if I didn’t attend. Very cool stories. And yes sometimes they offer discount on books. But the awesome part is that they have signings and readings. It’s very cool literacy event.

      • artisticmilestone April 19, 2014 at 7:20 PM #

        Thats wonderful, I would’ve taken pictures with the authors too πŸ™‚

      • The Guat April 29, 2014 at 1:16 AM #

        πŸ™‚ That was sort cool.

Leave a Reply

