The Holy-Crap Moment of the Year

31 Mar

In truth I had given up on it.

I wanted it to happen. I thought it would be awesome for something like that to happen, but after seeing nothing of the kind my first year, and 365 posts later, I sort of just put it on the back of mind. I forgot about it. I thought stuff like that doesn’t happen to George Costanza people like me. It just doesn’t.

So I moved on and found appreciation in other small successes. I thought the little milestones I was reaching were awesome enough for me. Reaching 500, 600 … 900 subscribers. Getting 10,000 views. Blogoversaries. Blogger Award Badges from fellow bloggers. Hitting that publish button after figuring out the right combination of words to describe my latest shenanigans. Being part of a writing community who thinks I’m as cute as I need to be to do what I got to do.

Yeah.

Celebrating with a happy dance.

Celebrating with a happy dance.

All these were celebratory moments for me … high-five-worthy moments, chocolate worthy moments, Claim Jumper Chocolate Silk Pie worthy moments, Black Magic Chocolate Cake Worthy moments, and Holy-Crap worthy moments.

But this weekend … this weekend was the biggest Holy-Crap moment of my blogging existence.

I was Freshly Pressed worthy.

I was one of the lucky bloggers to be showcased on the WordPress Highlight Reel. I got my gold star. And that in and of itself was awesome enough. I was dancing to Pharrell Williams’s Happy all day. I was on a Freshly-Pressed high. Someone else had seen something in my writing. They’d seen it. It. And they were ready to tell the whole neighborhood.

I pride myself in finding the funny in moments that should normally make me jump off a cliff. I manage to write Saturday Night Live Skits of the I-Can’t-Believe-This-Just-Happened-To-Me Moments in my life. A lot of blood, sweat, tears, and embarrassment, went on in surviving a life sentence within a dysfunctional family so when others can relate to my stories or I can make them laugh it pleases me. I was happy when I thought one of these comedies was chosen.

But when I realized they had chosen a post about my Dad it meant so much more, especially since the big Fight For Air Climb that I was doing in his honor was taking place this Saturday. I realized that even though my Dad had passed away a few years ago people were getting a chance to know him, and I was the one making the introduction.

It was definitely a Holy Crap moment and I was grateful.

I wanted to thank all of you who took the time to click the link, read the story, and join the ride.ย  Fasten your seat belts people because as my buddy Cayman would say … it’s gonna be Guatacular. And I also wanted to thank my loyal readers who discovered the story before it hit the front page. It’s been an awesome milestone I didn’t think I would reach, but so glad I finally did and that you were there with me to celebrate.

Giddy up!

 

 

 

26 Responses to “The Holy-Crap Moment of the Year”

  1. komarovstyle April 1, 2014 at 1:03 AM #

    Good post……….

    • The Guat April 3, 2014 at 9:29 AM #

      Thanks for I really appreciate you stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. rarasaur April 1, 2014 at 2:03 AM #

    Congrats on your FP’d milestone and all your others! You’re awesome and the story was great. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The Guat April 3, 2014 at 9:33 AM #

      Thanks so much! So glad you were able to check it out. I know you’ve read a couple other posts about my Dad so I know you know him a little bit and can understand where I’m coming from. Glad this one made it to the front page. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The Jogging Dad April 1, 2014 at 2:08 AM #

    Congrats! I’m honored to have read that post when you first published it. See what costanza-worshipping can lead to? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:34 PM #

      Yes! You are definitely one of the regulars out here and I really appreciate you clicking to read. It’s always nice to find your comments. Especially since we are both Costanza worshipers and love his Serenity Now! moments. ๐Ÿ™‚ Costanza worshiping can lead to so many good things ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Tanya Antosik April 1, 2014 at 3:46 AM #

    Congrats! Now I have to go read it….

    • The Guat April 3, 2014 at 9:34 AM #

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you enjoyed it … he was a really cool Dad and I’m glad that people can get to know him through me ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 1pointperspective April 1, 2014 at 3:59 AM #

    Well deserved, and overdue!

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:36 PM #

      Thanks! So glad to know there are people out there that enjoy my stuff and feel it is high-five worthy. Duuuuude. I so appreciate the comment ๐Ÿ™‚ Making my week!

  6. Kathryn McCullough April 1, 2014 at 7:02 AM #

    Oh, shit, how did I miss that?!!! I’m so happy for you! I know how Freshly Pressed feels, all of the comments, so much traffic, so cool!!!!!

    Sorry to have been away all weekend. I donโ€™t know how many posts I may have missed, but itโ€™s going to be a busy month for meโ€“traveling to the beach, teaching a week-long workshop, and having friends visit from the US. Fun, but YIKES!

    Again, Congrats! Can you hear my cheering all the way from South America?

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:39 PM #

      Thanks so much chica! It felt super cool … I was like in The Fonz mode for a couple days ๐Ÿ™‚ And your cheers from South America were loud and proud so thanks for the props. No worries on missing it. I understand. Life gets busy when you’re awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. anotherday2paradise April 1, 2014 at 7:23 AM #

    Congratulations, TG. So well deserved. Your dad would be proud of you. xx

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:40 PM #

      Thanks so much. I really appreciate it, especially since you’ve been around since nearly the beginning and you probably know most of the stories ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad he’s watching me from up in the clouds.

  8. brickhousechick April 1, 2014 at 7:54 AM #

    GUAT!!! This is fantastico!! Your Papi would be so proud! Way to go! If I were better at it, I’d bake you a chocolate cake! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:41 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude. The fact that you would consider busting out your baking stuff just for this occasion rocks ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading and getting to know my dad ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. cravesadventure April 1, 2014 at 9:34 AM #

    YAY!!! – Congrats – Time to Celebrate and Do the Happy Dance:)

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:42 PM #

      YES! Most definitely. Was doing the Happy Dance for at least a week. It was such an awesome feeling ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for being part of it and reading.

  10. lameadventures April 1, 2014 at 12:09 PM #

    Congratulations Guat! Well earned and about time!

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:45 PM #

      Thanks buddy. I appreciate it. I now join your ranks and so glad to be part of the club. Even better when buddies like you who’ve been here since my early days are still around … still reading … still giving me props. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Angelia Sims April 1, 2014 at 5:55 PM #

    Congratulations! I think those our the best kind of Freshly Pressed. The ones with deep meaning. Very proud to know you (before you were famous). HA!

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:47 PM #

      Thanks. And you know what? I was kind of glad that it was one of my Dad posts. It felt so awesome, especially since these stories are close to my heart. Good to know that others can relate and good to know that you still enjoy my stuff and stop by every once in a while. Figure you’ll stop by every week when Sons of Anarchy come back ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. hilary April 2, 2014 at 2:58 AM #

    Congrats! what an amazing achievement! You should be so proud~

    • The Guat April 3, 2014 at 9:41 AM #

      Thanks so much! It’s a pretty cool feeling for something like this to happen when you weren’t even looking any more. I did like three cartwheels ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially since it was a Dad story. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. TBM April 2, 2014 at 3:01 AM #

    Duuuuuuuuddddddeeeeee! Congrats. Well-deserved and I’m so happy for you. Woooohoooo!

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:50 PM #

      Thanks so much bud! It makes me happy to know that bloggers I met when I was just starting out still hang around and keep reading and keep encouraging. It’s an awesome feeling. Thanks for being so supportive dude! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

