12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … You Better Have a Glass of Milk

28 Mar

I love my family. I do. But just like any normal dysfunctional family you love them even more when there is a buffer zone.

Space … it’s essential.

And I was loving the 2,000-plus miles between us while she was on vacation. I felt like Independent George. I had no extra stress piled on me, no free-parenting-advice being thrown my way on a daily basis, and no Univision or TeleMundo. Well in truth I don’t mind Univision or TeleMundo, but what drives me crazy is the bad dialogue being exchanged between two really good-looking people in one of the four telenovelas she watches. The fact that I have to witness it because she clamps onto the remote control with a kung-fu grip burns me out.

For a month I had the luxury of watching television shows while they were actually on the air. No need for the DVR as I was in charge of the remote control.

And now that power is gone … that buffer zone is gone.

This called for some chocolate.

But not just any chocolate … a 12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge type of chocolate.

I went for the big one: Black Magic Chocolate Cake.

 

Dude...definitely working it's chocolate magic to make me feel better.

Dude…definitely working it’s chocolate magic to make me feel better.

 

Chocolate on top of chocolate on top of chocolate.

Dude.

I felt the occasion called for it and the Chocolate Magic didn’t let me down.

Rich. Moist. Decadent. Badass. Definitely a chocolate lover’s dream. It made me eat in slow motion — the kind of slow motion where you close your eyes, tilt your head back, take a deep breath, and just stomp your feet twice because it’s so good — yeah.  It made me completely forget about the non-existant buffer zone. It worked its magic and made my night, and what was even more amazing was that the recipe was easy to follow. No crazy steps or extra attachments needed. Just my kind of baking. The simple kind with extraordinary results.

But I’ve gotta say, you better have a big glass of milk when you dive into this … hmph … maybe two glasses.

 

 

Cake
  • butter for pans
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup brewed strong black coffee
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Chocolate Frosting
  • 1 bag (12-ounces) semi sweet chocolate chips, finely chopped
  • 1-1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 stick butter

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Butter and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.
  • In a large mixing bowl, whisk together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  • Add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla.
  • Using an electric mixer, beat on medium speed for about 2 minutes. You should have a thin batter.
  • Pour batter evenly into prepared pans.
  • Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  • Cool 10 minutes; remove cakes from pans to wire racks.
  • Cool completely before frosting.
To prepare the frosting, place chopped chocolate in a medium mixing bowl; set aside.
  • Place whipping cream and butter in saucepan and cook over medium heat to just a boil.
  • Pour cream mixture over chocolate; whisk vigorously until chocolate is melted and smooth.
  • Cover and refrigerate for an hour.
  • Remove from fridge and stir; refrigerate about 1 more hour or until spreading consistency.
  • Spread about 1/4 to 1/3 of frosting on one cake layer; top with the other cake layer and spread frosting on top and sides of cake.

 

Recipe courtesy of Diet Hood

 

11 Responses to “12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … You Better Have a Glass of Milk”

  1. haridasgowra March 29, 2014 at 2:36 AM #

    choco choco choco choco……….4ever choco…….i want this…………so tasty choco………#wordpress!

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 4:30 PM #

      It was super tasty awesome 🙂 So glad I could tempt you into trying it out. 🙂

  2. brickhousechick March 29, 2014 at 4:13 AM #

    Why oh why, must you continue to torture me? How can I look at that picture and NOT MAKE IT! If I even attempt it, there is going to be a hell of a lot of buffer zone between me and my family – because they will ALL leave!

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 6:26 PM #

      Ha! You crack me up. You definitely have to make it and I assure you it’s way easier than the last one so you won’t have any buffer zone issues. Plus once they taste it they’re gonna love you even more. It tastes amaaaaaaaaaaaaaazing…like my old friend Celia used to say when something was awesome Azucaaaaaaaaaaaar!

  3. 1pointperspective March 29, 2014 at 6:11 AM #

    I have a similar recipe for such circumstances.

    Place a generous sized martini glass in the freezer, not too close to anything stinky.
    Fill a pint glass with ice. Put a sufficient amount of quality vodka over the ice. If desired, add one drop of dry vermouth (not recommended). Place a metal shaker cup over the top of it and shake it vigorously for at least 30 seconds. Leave shaker cup on the counter where you won’t accidentally spill it. Place 4 or 5 cocktail onions or two stuffed olives on a spear. Remove glass from freezer and drop speared veggies into the bottom of the glass, preferably at a jaunty angle. Put a strainer over the top of the glass and pour the vodka in, dousing the veggies as much as possible in the process. If desired, place the used ice in a separate tumbler and fill with water or club soda. Sit yourself in a comfortable chair, elevate feet, sip, repeat. For a refreshing chance of pace, substitute a twist of lemon peel for the veggies. If using a lemon peel, wait until the vodka is in the glass, then “twist” the peel over the glass, effectively spraying the surface of the vodka with a zesty film of lemon oil. Avoid operating anything more complicated than a TV remote for the following few hours.

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 6:12 PM #

      Dude that recipe sounds AWESOME. I’m gonna have to try it and make it part of my challenge 🙂 Although I’ll probably skip the vermouth 🙂 and just stick to remote control operations 🙂

      • 1pointperspective March 31, 2014 at 1:09 PM #

        Be careful, chilling vodka and adding fruits or veggies can be habit forming.

  4. lameadventures March 29, 2014 at 8:13 PM #

    Wow, Guat, that cake does look like “a chocolate lover’s dream”. I wish I could take a bite of it through my screen, but no way could I handle eating an entire slice. If I did, I’d have to go straight to the nearest ICU. Your baking skills are impressive!

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 6:23 PM #

      It was definitely a chocolate lover’s dream I was in complete awe of myself. I literally patted myself on the back 🙂 If I was still single I would totally marry me for whipping up something like this. Totally Food Network Worthy 🙂

  5. TBM March 31, 2014 at 12:45 AM #

    Wowee! I would love to have a slice–or maybe half of one. So decadent!

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:51 PM #

      Dude it was truly the richest chocolate I’ve had … I had to pause after taking a bite. I almost sat down. It was that awesome. I’ll definitely be making this one again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

