You’re Not A Tourist, But Sometimes You Should Be

26 Mar

You see these things throughout your city, significant landmarks, places, and icons, but instead of parking the car, or planning a trip to absorb your city’s essence, you just make a mental note and move on.

But then you never revisit the notebook and the awesome pockets of pop culture peppered throughout your city are forgotten, until you see a tourist, or you’re picking someone up from the airport and start thinking of places you could take them.

Yeah. I had a revelation.

I realized a while ago that these inner-city adventures needed to be explored. I couldn’t very well experience the world and create bucket list items without experiencing the awesomeness of my own city.

You’re not tourist, but sometimes you should be.

Yeah. That’s exactly what I was thinking as I passed by Randy’s Donuts.

 

The iconic donut.

The iconic donut.

 

I’d seen it a long time ago in the I Love L.A.  music video and my Dad told me he’d take me there one day. It was actually on my bucket list. We passed by it plenty of times on our way to the airport or The Forum, the Lakers old stomping ground. But we never quite made it to the drive through window. I think my Dad might have stopped by on his own, a long time ago, before I existed.

But we never made it.

But that still didn’t mean I shouldn’t try to cross it off my list.

So when we were driving to the airport and my son happen to see the big giant donut off the freeway, I thought about it for a minute. You know, considering my whole junior high school debacle, I had to take a moment. But then I thought … Dude you’re not tourist, but sometimes you should be.

So I got off the freeway.

I gave my son and daughter the thumbs up. They smiled.

We made our way to Randy’s … three chocolate donuts were waiting for us.

And one glazed for my Dad.

 

 

 

10 Responses to “You’re Not A Tourist, But Sometimes You Should Be”

  1. cravesadventure March 27, 2014 at 10:21 AM #

    Love being a local tourist in my community and discovering new places:) Happy Thursday!

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:31 PM #

      Oh it was so awesome. I’m so glad I turned around. My son was loving that big donut.

  2. lameadventures March 28, 2014 at 10:23 AM #

    Guat, this post is a reminder that walking across the Brooklyn Bridge has been on my “to do” list forever. Where would you and the Little Guats rate Randy’s chocolate donuts between the comfort food perimeters of an enthusiastic thumbs up or the middle fickle finger of fate?

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:33 PM #

      Ha! The Brooklyn Bridge … yeah I’d rate it up there pretty high didn’t disappoint … although the person I picked up from the airport was suffering the middle fickle finger of fate. Wasn’t much of an inner city adventurer…just wanted to go home I guess 🙂

  3. Jackie Cangro March 28, 2014 at 8:01 PM #

    I bet that doughnut was delicious. 🙂 How awesome that you could share that with your son — handing it on down to a new generation. Being a tourist in your hometown are what staycations are all about. 🙂

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:35 PM #

      Dude it was and I haven’t had a donut in like forever. I was glad that I was able to share that moment with my son. He thought it was pretty cool and when my daughter woke up from her nap she was pretty amazed with the giant donut experience 🙂

  4. anotherday2paradise March 30, 2014 at 7:38 AM #

    Yummy post, TG. So nice to keep up a family tradition, especially when it involves tasty treats. 🙂

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:36 PM #

      Oh dude! Yes. Definitely. I knew you’d get me. Our next stop is to have a piece of pie at the famous House of Pies. 🙂

  5. TBM April 3, 2014 at 12:34 AM #

    Well dang, i never went when i lived there. At least I don’t think I did. I love being a tourist in my own city. I learn so much! And when you find a good donut, well that’s the best part.

    • The Guat April 7, 2014 at 2:55 PM #

      Duuuuuuude it was definitely an awesome mini Bucket List Adventure. I loved that I was able to do it with my son. He was so excited and that just boosted the adventure. Very cool as were the chocolate donuts we scarfed down. 🙂

Leave a Reply

