Sandbox List Adventure 28: The LEGO Weekend …

24 Mar

I’m not gonna say I’m a pro at these things, but I’ve learned my lessons. I’ve got the lonely gray hairs to prove it.

They’re like badges of honor.

You wear them proudly because not only did you survive this Parent Boot Camp experience you actually learned to have fun throughout The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. You know what it takes to get through a twelve-hour adventure with your kids and you pack plenty of chocolate just to make sure that you do.

Yeah … that’s right people. I made the trip to the LEGO Mecca of the world and survived. And once again I left my crazy at the door and this ensured a stress-free occasion even though there were plenty of pitfalls trying to bait me.

But what made this particular adventure a little different was that we didn’t have to drive back home the same night. This proved to be an awesome decision. I find that sitting in traffic, for close to three hours surrounded by stupid or careless drivers, tends to create pockets of anger within my Zen Zone. So in hopes of avoiding any George Costanza blowouts I thought I’d add a little something extra to our Guat getaway. I’d add a Sandbox List Adventure Item … a stay at the LEGOLAND Resort Hotel.

Dude.

Dude.

If my son was capable of doing a backward flip cartwheel, he totally would have … but seeing how his acrobatic skills were limited the high-pitched yes and high-five were pretty  good too.

 

This was their theme song the entire day

This was their theme song the entire day …

 

 

Yeah ... this is where awesome happens.

Yeah … this was where awesome started.

 

No time to waste ... went straight for the rides  and waiting for their turn.

No time to waste … went straight for the rides and waiting for their turn.

 

After a few mini roller coasters and boat rides we headed into the LEGO Movie exhibit. Definitely one of the coolest things I've seen.

After a few mini roller coasters and boat rides we headed into the LEGO Movie exhibit. Definitely one of the coolest things I’ve seen. Made me wish I was a Master Builder.

 

So we headed to the workshop and tried ... we were no Master Builders, but we managed to create something worthy of a ribbon.

So we headed to the workshop and tried … we were no Master Builders, but we managed to create something worthy of a ribbon.

 

After being creative, we decided we had a need for speed. And so they got their licenses.

After being creative, we decided we had a need for speed, so they got their licenses.

 

Then we headed to one of our favorite parts of the park -- The Land of Adventure -- and tested our pilot skills.

Then we headed to one of our favorite parts of the park — The Land of Adventure — and tested our pilot skills in the mini airplanes with Ms. Earhart watching.

 

After all that excitement I thought I'd add some more to the mix and I surprised the kids with a stay at the hotel. Something that would not have been possible without the coupons and discounts a friend was able to give me.

After all that excitement I thought I’d add some more to the mix and I surprised the kids with a stay at the hotel. Something that would not have been possible without the coupons and discounts a friend was able to give me.

 

I found the LEGO pit in the lobby to be an awesome waiting experience for the kids while I was checking us in.

I found the LEGO pit in the lobby to be an awesome waiting experience for the kids while I was checking us in.

 

The LEGO artwork behind the reception desk was even cooler.

The LEGO artwork behind the reception desk was even cooler.

 

Before heading up we decided to eat dinner at the restaurant, which incidentally was pretty tasty. I was worry about buffets if they are not in Vegas, but this one ... this one was definitely tasty.

Before heading up we decided to eat dinner at the restaurant. And in truth, I worry about buffets if they are not in Vegas, but this one … this one was both adult and kid friendly. It was also definitely tasty. I had seconds and thirds … and then dessert … it was a long day.

 

Once we finished checking in, we headed to the elevators where Disco LEGO guy awaited us with the sweet sounds of the 70s and 80s that made everybody in the elevator busta move ... flashing lights and disco ball seemed to help the mood. :)

Once we finished, we headed to the elevators where Disco LEGO guy awaited us with the sweet sounds of the 70s and 80s. This made everybody in the elevator busta move … the flashing lights and disco ball were very encouraging  🙂

 

We got to our room and we felt like we were part of The Clutch Powers entourage (The Indiana Jones of the LEGO World). But as awesome as the room was nothing was more amazing than the bunk beds for my son. He'd always wanted to sleep in one. So I was able to cross off two Sandbox List items that day.

We got to our room and we felt like we were part of The Clutch Powers entourage (The Indiana Jones of the LEGO World). But as awesome as the room was nothing was more amazing than the bunk beds for my son. He’d always wanted to sleep in one. So I was able to cross off two Sandbox List items that day. I gave myself I high-five for that one.

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Sandbox List Adventure 28: The LEGO Weekend …”

  1. 1pointperspective March 25, 2014 at 3:48 AM #

    Looks like exhausting fun.

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:21 PM #

      Dude. I was totally out for the count at the end of the day. I needed like a Suzanne Somers amount of vitamins to get energized for the morning after. But my kids had an awesome time.

  2. lameadventures March 25, 2014 at 8:46 AM #

    That very cool visit sounds like you created Christmas in March for the Little Guats, Guat. That goes in their Great Times with Mom memory book.

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:24 PM #

      Dude it was totally like that. They were on cloud nine the whole day … at one point my son was so excited he didn’t know what to do first and then when we went to the store for our take-home souvenirs dude it was too funny…I guess it would be like me at the Willy Wonka Chocolate Factory 🙂

  3. Kathryn McCullough March 25, 2014 at 10:08 AM #

    How fun! This makes our visit to the LEGO store in Manhattan look like Little League. Wow, that’s pretty cool.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:27 PM #

      Oh it was super cool amazing. Definitely brought out the kid in me for sure. And my kids loved it! Still talking about that adventure 🙂 And yes … I’m afraid that Manhattan LEGO store has got nothing on this 🙂

  4. TBM March 29, 2014 at 1:58 AM #

    Wow! That looks and sounds amazing! Rides, workshops, and chocolate for you–not to mention staying the night. I remember gridlock traffic there and that was 20 years ago. I bet it’s so much worse now. Tell the little guats I think they’re the luckiest kids ever.

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:30 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude it was so awesome. You definitely would have loved it! And yes the traffic is usually crazy on the way down there, but we woke up early and beat the traffic there, however it caught up with us on the way back…but it was all good because everyone was napping and I had my tunes 🙂 Oh! And thanks for the message I’ll pass that along to them 🙂

Leave a Reply

