12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … The High-Five-Worthy Cupcakes

21 Mar

I think I like it because it matches the blueprint.

You follow the directions and it comes out exactly as you would have hoped.

There’s always a little wear and tear, a little learning experience, and sometimes you don’t have a spatula attachment, or know what a spatula attachment is, but you use Guat muscle to stir things up. Doesn’t always look like the picture in the magazine, but after tasting it, it’s still worthy of a five-star review. Even after walnut spillage.

Matching your blueprint.

I like that baking does that. It gives me hope because it’s something that rarely happens in my life no matter how much planning is done. Something always happens. Life always presents you lessons at a time when all you really need are answers. So I’m grateful that I can control the outcome of my baking adventures. I’m glad that I can follow a plan and know the outcome is going to be high-five worthy. It calms me to know that I’ve got at least one thing under control amongst all the chaos. Even better when it involves chocolate.

Oooohhh … chocolate.

This week’s 12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge was surprisingly easy and tasty. Cupcakes for Two. Vegan cupcakes if you could believe that.

Yeah, I couldn’t.

I’m a carnivore. Always have been so I was a little skeptical about this recipe. But it was on the list and so I was up for the challenge. I’ve never made something like this before … and after a stressful day I can say it was awesome how everything fell into place and the cupcakes were chocolatey and moist. They were high-five worthy.

I love cupcakes for two, even though I ate both of them and once again the frosting — Fluffy Walnut Mousse Frosting — was the best part. And even if you don’t make the frosting, the cupcakes, made with regular or soy milk, are worth it.

 

One of my main ingredients ... thank you to the coupons that made this possible.

One of my main ingredients … thank you to the coupons that made this possible.

 

Never roasted nuts for frosting before, ended up being pretty tasty.

Never roasted nuts for frosting before, ended up being pretty tasty.

 

Dude these were so tasty ... I'm gonna have to quadruple the recipe so I have enough to share.

Dude these were so tasty … I’m gonna have to quadruple the recipe so I have enough to share.

 

The recipe was courtesy of Edible Mosaic.

The recipe was courtesy of Edible Mosaic.

 

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon natural unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch-processed)
  • 1/8 teaspoon + 1/16 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/16 teaspoon salt
  • 1/16 teaspoon instant coffee powder (optional, but recommended)
  • 3 tablespoons milk, any kind you like (be sure to use a vegan “milk” if keeping you’re keeping the recipe vegan)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil, or other neutral-flavored oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Fluffy Walnut Mousse, or any frosting you like

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F; line a muffin tray with 2 paper liners.
  2. Whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and coffee powder in a medium bowl. Add the milk, oil, and vanilla, and stir just until combined, being careful not to over-mix.
  3. Divide the batter between the 2 lined muffin wells and bake until a toothpick inserted inside comes out clean, about 18 to 22 minutes.
  4. Cool 5 minutes in the tray, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.
  5. Sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top, or frost with your favorite frosting, nut butter, or jam.

Notes

Measurement Tip: Note that 1/16 teaspoon is about 1 pinch.

 

8 Responses to “12 x 12 Chocolate Challenge … The High-Five-Worthy Cupcakes”

  1. Kathryn McCullough March 22, 2014 at 2:47 AM #

    Like you, I love to bake–though I’ve had to learn all over again now that we live so high in the Andes. Altitude creates leavening challenges. But I’m getting better. And who doesn’t love a chocolate challenge. These look yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:12 PM #

      I’m barely getting the hang of the baking thing but I feel that the cakes are coming out so amazing that I should be on the Food Network. But I think the chocolate has a lot to do with it. And dude! I think I would fail plenty of times if I was living at high altitudes so props to you sister! 12 x 12 challenge I encourage you to rock it! 🙂

  2. Cayman Thorn March 23, 2014 at 7:15 AM #

    These look scrumptious! Baking is the only time I use that word, but they truly do. I’m gonna have to get my daughter to make these, she’s the baker.
    Thanks So Cal.

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:15 PM #

      Dude I totally see an awesome Father-daughter moment happening over these high-five-me cupcakes. Plus the fact that they are awesome tasting is even better 🙂

  3. lameadventures March 23, 2014 at 10:23 PM #

    Those cupcakes look fantastic Guat! How did you pull off eating both yourself? Your house must have smelled great as they baked. Did you force your family to go on a retreat?

    • The Guat March 30, 2014 at 5:17 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuude they were so awesome tasting. I did it during nap time. I was sneaky that way…I knew my kids were going to eat all kinds of stuff at Legoland the next day so I decided to be a good parent and monitor they’re sugar intake by just eating both cupcakes. 🙂 I’m an awesome parent that way 🙂

  4. julieboswell63 March 24, 2014 at 7:46 AM #

    That chocolate is so good–and it’s fair trade. Love it. Have an extra cupcake for me.

    • The Guat March 27, 2014 at 12:31 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuude. It was awesome. I think I should have bought two.

Leave a Reply

