It Hit Me … Well It Smacked Me In The Face, Really …

17 Feb

Sometimes you think, when is it gonna hit me?

When am I going to see it!

When is it going to be something obvious … something I’m not just grasping at, but something real that was meant for me. A nudge in the right direction. A push. A shove really. I was looking for a shove.

You see a movie or spend endless hours binge watching something on Netflix and you get juiced up. A character says something and you have that moment where you feel it and say yeah … I got this. You’re motivated, you sit at the computer and ideas — the good, the bad and the ugly — start flowing. You feel like you’re on a roll, but after a couple of days it fizzles out because the life of diapers, LEGOs, superheroes, Dr. Seuss, OxyClean, Ajax, and your presence in the 10 items or less line interrupts your creative flow. You become weary and exhausted and all you want to do at the end of the day is hang out with your chocolate, watch reruns of Seinfeld, and take some me time to laugh at the Costanza moments of your day.

But then you remember your goals, you remember what your finish line should be and try to get motivated.

So again you go in search of a sign … of something. You remember that Thelma-Louise, Clear-Eyes-Full-Hearts feeling you had at the beginning of the year and try to cling to it. You remember your Tony Robbins moment where you juiced up all your titles and felt pumped. You were on the path.

But still … you had nothing, and maybe it had to do with that chocolate coma you were in over the weekend that hasn’t really worn off. Or maybe you’re just being a lazyass and need some fire again.

You look for a sign, but know that eventually you’llย  get back on track, however the loss of time burns you out.

So you go on about your day.

You work out in the mornings.

You get through the crazy chaos of getting ready for school and packing snacks.

You return to begin your appointment with Scrubbing Bubbles and the Swiffer.

You take a smoothie break while perfecting your best Play-Doh pancake and then follow it up with sipping the most awesome pretend tea that your daughter has made with her Sesame Street Tea Set.

You venture outdoors and avoid the Mommy-And-Me-Mafia at toddler story time.

You race to pick up your son from kindergarten and hope the PTA clan doesn’t take up all the parking.

Your kids still seem to have too much energy and feel the need to hang out at the park. So after an hour of swings, twirly slides, and pretend obstacle courses that earned them gold medal status, we head back home.

And then BAM!

This is where it happened.

You asked for it.

You didn’t think it be this obvious.

But it was.

There it was … up in sky … the sign.

 

Start Creating ... Can you believe that? I think my dad was talking to me.

Start Creating … Can you believe that? I think my dad was talking to me.

 

Dude …

It hit me.

It smacked me in the face, really.

I had no words, only smiles, a sense of how-cool-is-that, and inspiration.

Yeah … that one was definitely for me.

No confusion about it.

That was a sign … maybe from my dad.

 

 

14 Responses to “It Hit Me … Well It Smacked Me In The Face, Really …”

  1. peacelovegreatcountrymusic February 17, 2014 at 11:53 PM #

    That is an awesome post, made even awesomer by the inclusion of Clear Eyes, Full Hearts. I still harbor hatred to NBC for canceling fnl.

    • The Guat February 20, 2014 at 4:01 PM #

      Dude I loved that show it was awesome. I swear I wanted Coach Taylor in my life ๐Ÿ™‚ I often used that saying in my everyday life and teach it to my kids too. I love it.

  2. The Jogging Dad February 18, 2014 at 2:43 AM #

    Nope, can’t get any clearer than that! Get to it, my friend, get to it. Costanza will always be there waiting for you after you’re done.

    • The Guat February 20, 2014 at 4:01 PM #

      Thanks! Yeah you’re right Costanza in all his glory will always be there. Thanks for your support.

  3. Kathryn McCullough February 18, 2014 at 4:53 AM #

    I’m with you on that one, Dude. Now get creating, and I will, too! By the way, love the Mommy-and-me Mafia, thing!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  4. TBM February 18, 2014 at 6:31 AM #

    Dude! I have all the faith in you. Start creating.

    • The Guat February 20, 2014 at 4:05 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuude. Thanks so much! I really appreciate it both you and LA have been my awesome booster club ๐Ÿ™‚ It helps ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. lameadventures February 18, 2014 at 7:56 AM #

    Finding the time to enter the zone to be creative can be such a challenge for anyone without a benefactor Guat. I know your motivation is there but two demanding small fry are, too. Maybe you first need to create some wiggle room around your obligations to make this happen and then reward yourself with chocolate afterward. The “just do it” philosophy of shoe advertising is so much easier said that done, but “figure out a doable strategy and stick with it” is about as sexy as a pothole even though it’s more realistic. So create a way that allows you time to create.

    • The Guat February 20, 2014 at 4:08 PM #

      Dude! I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your comments about this. I so appreciate your support and your honesty. It trips me out that I’ve found so much support, tough-love, camaraderie, and writer support here in the blog world. You are like the lead booster and I so much appreciate your visits, humor and action plans. Thanks so much, now let me get started on “just doing it” ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. peacelovegreatcountrymusic February 18, 2014 at 12:55 PM #

    Sunshine Award for your great blog – info here. —> http://peacelovegreatcountrymusic.com/2014/02/18/sunshine-in-february/
    If you are an award free blog, just know I think your blog is fantastic and I wanted you to know.

    • The Guat February 19, 2014 at 6:20 PM #

      Dude. I’m always for gold stars. Never been one to say no to a “you’re awesome” pat on the back. So thanks for that, made my hump day less humpier ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s much appreciated ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I will definitely check it out.

  7. brickhousechick February 18, 2014 at 7:38 PM #

    I love it when it clicks and you see it bright and clear! That’s wonderful, Guat! Especially being from your father. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The Guat February 19, 2014 at 6:15 PM #

      That was super awesome and I would like to think it came from him. He’s sort of no-nonsense like that and would just be like … get on it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Gracias chica

Leave a Reply

