Sandbox List Adventure: A Different Perspective

7 Feb

These tiny pieces of plastic have dominated my home in form of skyscrapers, superheroes, fire engines, policemen, airplanes, miniature villages, tiny people with their own adventures, books, stickers, games, calendars, and the mecca … LEGOLAND itself.

But this … this was something he hadn’t seen before so the excitement was building.

It was his many stories … his imagination coming to life on the big screen and he wanted to see it. He wanted to experience it. He wanted to see what someone had created with the very same LEGOS he plays with everyday. He wanted to see someone’s story. He wanted to see what they came up with … he wanted to compare stories … he wanted to get ideas. He wanted to go on another LEGO adventure. A big one.

The LEGO Movie.

I’d been hearing about it for weeks.

Weeks.

The countdown had been on.

And the day was finally here, but seeing how this was The LEGO Movie I figure I’d step it up a notch.

In all my years of movie-watching I’d never experienced the 3D version of anything, neither has my son or daughter. So I figured we’d go big on this LEGO Movie and pack in as much LEGO love as possible. Seeing LEGOS in a different perspective was pretty awesome for all of us. I recommend it. It was a great story of a “… ‘Nobody’ who saved everybody.” I’d give you a full review of the movie, but figured I didn’t want to ruin the magic for those of you who hadn’t seen it. And if you haven’t seen it, I strongly suggest you take your own kindergarteners on this Sandbox List Adventure. They’ll thank you for it.

 

The poster we passed on a weekly basis that reminded me when this adventure would debut.

The poster we passed on a weekly basis that reminded me when this adventure would debut.

 

Dude. I thought finding parking in front of the theater was awesome ... I can't tell you how Guatacular this sight was ... no line. I prepared myself for an onslaught of elementary school kids ... so glad we got the matinee right after school.

Dude. I thought finding parking in front of the theater was awesome … I can’t tell you how Guatacular this sight was … no line. I prepared myself for an onslaught of elementary school kids and massive lines … so glad we got the matinee right after school.

 

Hanging out in the lobby meeting one of the co- stars.

Hanging out in the lobby meeting one of the co- stars.

 

My daughter was pretty fond of the female lead, and I gotta say so was I. Lucy rocked.

My daughter was pretty fond of the female lead, and I gotta say so was I. Lucy rocked.

 

Our first 3D glasses, but probably not our last.

Our first 3D glasses, but probably not our last.

 

One of the best views of my day ... my kids enjoying every minute.

One of the best views of my day … my kids enjoying every minute … complete with popcorn.

 

14 Responses to “Sandbox List Adventure: A Different Perspective”

  1. artisticmilestone February 8, 2014 at 3:48 AM #

    Most if not all kids are fond of legos so this has got to be a very interesting movie. I can”t wait to hear your reviews. 🙂

    • The Guat February 9, 2014 at 8:45 AM #

      Dude it was a very cool movie and definitely had it’s funny moments. Will Ferrell is good in this and I’ll probably review it after a couple of posts because I know a lot of parent that will be watching it this week 🙂 But even if you don’t have kids it’s a cool movie.

  2. bgddyjim February 8, 2014 at 4:47 AM #

    Thanks for abstaining from spoilers… Mine want to see it too. That new 3-D is pretty awesome isn’t it? We’ve seen quite a few flicks like that (my first was Avatar) and I love it.

    • The Guat February 9, 2014 at 8:46 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude. I had never seen anything in 3D and it was so cool. Even the previews were cool. I imagine Avatar would have been awesome. Hope you enjoy the movie with your kids, I’d like to hear what you thought.

  3. Kathryn McCullough February 8, 2014 at 5:37 AM #

    Doubt we will get THE Lego Movie here in Cuenca, but last spring Sara and I visited a Lego Store in Manhattan. I must admit. Even I was captivated. Took tons of photos of room-sized Lego sculptures, of sorts. So cool! Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat February 9, 2014 at 8:49 AM #

      At first all the hundreds of pieces in the build your own toy box burns you out, but after a while you’re pretty into it. It’s a good bonding moment with your kid, and then LEGOLAND is crazy awesome for kids but a long day for parents. But this movie was pretty cool I’m sure when it comes out on Netflix you can check it out 🙂

  4. Deborah the Closet Monster February 8, 2014 at 12:12 PM #

    My guys are out watching this movie right now. I want to watch it as well, but I couldn’t pass up a couple of hours to lounge around and read.

    I’m excited to hear their review when they return!

    • The Guat February 9, 2014 at 8:30 AM #

      It was a very cool movie and I’m sure your kids liked it, but I can totally appreciate the need for two hours of “me time” I constantly escape to the CVS just for ten minutes of it. 🙂

  5. anotherday2paradise February 8, 2014 at 5:43 PM #

    Looks like a great kids movie, TG. Must be awesome in 3D. 🙂

    • The Guat February 9, 2014 at 8:34 AM #

      Dude … it was pretty awesome. It had some good humor moments for adults and the 3D was pretty cool I’ve never seen something like that, pretty cool.

  6. Murphy Must Have Had Kids February 9, 2014 at 5:45 AM #

    We won tickets to the premiere last weekend. It was great but at 40 mins in my daughter (2.5) yelled “I wanna watch a different show!” so I took her out. I’m looking forward to seeing the rest!

    • The Guat February 9, 2014 at 8:36 AM #

      Dude. That’s sounds so funny and then again not so funny because I can imagine it happening to any parent including me 🙂 But being invited to the premiere sounds so cool and yes I totally encourage you to see the rest because ‘everything is awesooooooooome’ 🙂

  7. The Hook February 10, 2014 at 10:15 AM #

    My daughter saw this flick on the weekend.
    I stayed home.
    I’m bummed.

    • The Guat February 18, 2014 at 12:08 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuude. I’m sure you’ll get a chance … Batman is funny.

Leave a Reply

