I Wasn’t About to Be Defeated This Morning

18 Dec

All I wanted to do was go running. And I hate running. It’s bad for my knees, my joints, and just all around bad for my Icy-Hot loving body.

But I do it because it’s the only high-impact crazy aerobic exercise I can do in half an hour where I can feel my muscles working their ass off, and apparently I need my body to be working properly for at least another twenty-thirty years. Dying is not something I look forward to, I would hate to die and leave my kids motherless at such a young age. It’d be heartbreaking, and sure I imagine some people would try to step up to the plate and help raise them, but in truth … there’s no one like me and no one that loves my kids the way I do. I feel I bring out the best in them or at least I try to.

I’m pretty sure every parent feels that way. So in an effort to live longer I do a little running during the week. Apparently exercise prolongs your life so I’m all for that. But it also helps keep me in shape for my triathlon experiences, and it’s the only exercise I can do with my toddler. She sits in the stroller eating her Cheerios, checking out the scene, and reading books. If I had a pool I’d totally be swimming in it no doubt. If I had one of those kiddie ride along seats for my bike, we’d be cruising away. But I don’t. I’m broke-ass. So I do the poor-man’s exercise and run … surrounded by nature. It’s free.

This is not what I usually look like, but I imagine I would look this cool.

This is not what I usually look like, but I imagine I would look this cool.

But I really don’t look forward to it. Crazy enough I’d probably enjoy it more if it was attached to a triathlon. I’d be running toward something, not just running for running’s sake. I’m not a fan of that, but you do what you gotta do.

However this morning … it appeared that the odds were against me.

As a mom you try to be on schedule. Everything is on a schedule. If something goes awry in the schedule it creates a ripple effect for all the events the rest of the day. So your job as a mom is to try to keep to the schedule, try to avoid meltdowns, try to keep the dominoes in line. The schedule is your friend and when you betray your friend in any way it comes back to you. So in an effort to stay on schedule I had a small window available for my you-need-to-exercise activity. But like anything with schedules you need to go with the flow, otherwise your crazy will just get the best of you.

9 a.m. to 10 a.m.

That’s the window.

9 a.m. Changed my kid’s diaper before leaving

9:05 a.m. Packing the Cheerios for our outing.

9:06 a.m.  My kid apparently needing the Cheerios immediately and can’t wait ’till we’re outside in the stroller.

9:07 a.m. Cheerios all over the floor.

9:15 a.m. Cleaned up and finished re-packing Cheerios.

9:17 a.m. Found iPod, missing headphones.

9:25 a.m. Still missing headphones, but found a mini-speaker.

9:30 a.m. Phone rings. I don’t want to get it. I know I can’t get it. The schedule. If it’s important they’ll leave a message.

9:31 a.m. I get a message saying my mom needs me to look something up on the computer.

Dude.

9:32  a.m. I decide it can wait twenty minutes.

9:33 a.m. Grab my keys, turn to look for my kid, ready to go … unexpected potty situation that went beyond wipes. It called for soap and water.

9:40 a.m. Put my newly diapered kid in the stroller, wiggled the stroller over a couple of rocks, and then Bam! The handle bar broke.

It just broke off. Plastic screwed in by metal shouldn’t break off this easily, especially if it’s a Chicco Stroller. Not a fancy jogging stroller, just a regular one the kind you need at places like the mall. But considering I’ve had it since my first kid, I figure it had a little wear and tear that might have contributed to it’s demise.

So I stood there with the handle bar in my hand debating what to do next. My window of opportunity was closing, the universe seemed to be against the whole running outdoors idea. I wondered whether or not I could steer the stroller without it. Could I just hold it from the cup holder/key area? Did I have any duct tape?

No.

Could I still do this somehow?

I don’t know. Maybe.

9:41 a.m. Determined to go for a run, I popped the handlebar back in on one side. It was still clinging for life on the other side, desperately wanting me to put it out of its misery. However I ignored its pleas and tied it with some rope and forged ahead, holding onto the cup holder area the best I could, because apparently I suck at tying knots.

It was sad sight, but necessary. I made up my mind that I was going running and even though I don’t like running I wasn’t about to be defeated this morning. Not by anything. I’m stubborn that way.

9 Responses to “I Wasn’t About to Be Defeated This Morning”

  1. susielindau December 19, 2013 at 7:22 AM #

    Good for you! I would have said, “Screw it!” But you persevered!

    • The Guat December 20, 2013 at 6:10 PM #

      I so wanted to say screw it, but I was so determined. It reminded me of one of your posts you wrote a while back about you detangling a necklace or something and you swore you were going to do it and you were up late. I was so determined not to get burned out and just handle it. 🙂

      • susielindau December 20, 2013 at 6:12 PM #

        Ha! That’s right!

  2. brickhousechick December 19, 2013 at 8:09 PM #

    Oh, Guat! You are amazing! You never gave up! Good for you. Schedules are so so important and it really does suck when something gets in the way. Glad you kept going and ran! Go Guat!

    • The Guat December 20, 2013 at 6:11 PM #

      Dude they are so important when you have kids because even though you’re the parent you totally follow their schedule because you so want your day to go smoothly and meltdown-free. So even if it was for 19 minutes I had to go running. Haaaaaad to 🙂

  3. Angelia Sims December 19, 2013 at 9:14 PM #

    By the end, I swear, I could hear the Chariots of Fire song playing in my head. Bravo! Bravo! 🙂

    • The Guat December 20, 2013 at 6:06 PM #

      HA! Duuuuuuude. That one made me laugh. Yeah I could totally see myself wearing white and running on the beach and competing in the Olympics … the Mom Olympics

  4. The Jogging Dad December 20, 2013 at 2:45 AM #

    Admirable! 🙂

    • The Guat December 20, 2013 at 6:07 PM #

      Coming from you duuuuude that’s a definite spring in my step 🙂

Leave a Reply

