If You Believe You Can, Then Guess What Happens …

8 Dec

When someone can focus and harness that Tony Robbins energy and passion every week until their dream is fulfilled … dude … that is definitely chocolate worthy. But not just any kind of chocolate … Hawaiian-chocolate.

It’s a big thing.

It’s inspiring.

So what do you say to a friend who’s done it twice?

Bad Ass. You’re a Bad Ass. Totally.

And as a friend, and fellow blogger, I feel it’s my duty to help her out in any way I can. So today I’m here to introduce you to T.B. Markinson author of A Woman Lost and writer at Making My Mark and The 50 Year Project.  She’s such a superwoman that her second novel, Marionette, debuted in early November. So in honoring her writing awesomeness I’m giving her rule of The Wish Factor for a day to talk about Marionette and her journey to make it happen. I know that after reading it, you’ll be sure to visit one of her sites and Amazon.com to get your copy.

Everybody … this is T.B. Markinson.

 

Many of you know that The Guat (TG) is not afraid of opening up. She pours her heart out and tells it how it is. I often find myself laughing out loud when I read her posts. Sometimes she brings tears to my eyes. Her observations about life, love, family, kids, and weird dudes on trains help me keep things in perspective. And she may not know this, but I’ve always found her to be quite an inspiration. You see, she’s not afraid to push herself when it comes to exercise.

Last April I read her post about The Fight for Air Climb. At the time I was training for my own adventure: climbing Mount Kinabalu in Malaysia. I’m not in the best of shape, but not in the worst of shape either. I’ve climbed a volcano in Guatemala, I’ve hiked in the Grand Tetons and the Rocky Mountains. But with each year (I’m almost 40) it keeps getting tougher.

To be honest, I was terrified of Mount Kinabalu. I knew it would push me like no other adventure had. Then I read TG’s post. If you missed it, check it out here. You’ll be amazed …

Now that you’re back, she climbed 1,400 steps—that’s 63 stories. I used to climb nine stories at my old job and got winded by the fifth floor. 63! I found it inspirational. Each morning when I got up to do my training I said, “The Guat did it. So can I!”

Then I arrived at the base of Mount Kinabalu. We planned to reach the summit in two days. I had two days to reach Low’s Peak, which is 13,435ft (4,095 meters) above sea level. I won’t lie. This climb kicked my ass. If you would like to learn more about it, visit these posts: The facts, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4.

 

Photo courtesy of TB Markinson

Photo courtesy of TB Markinson

 

When the going got tough, which was about two hours in, I kept reminding myself that TG climbed 63 flights of stairs. If she could do it, I could do it. I don’t actually know the comparison of Mount Kinabalu and 1,400 steps. But the comparison isn’t important. You see, when embarking on a challenge like TG’s or mine, it’s not the actual challenge that’s important. I know that seems silly to say. But hear me out. It’s your state of mind. If you think you can do, more than likely you will.

My state of mind got me to the top of Mount Kinabalu. The title of The Guat’s post that I found so inspirational is: Keeping  a Badass Frame of Mind.

Now why am I writing this as a way of promoting my newest novel, Marionette? In order to finish any project, such as climbing 63 flights of stairs, a mountain, or writing a book it all comes down to one thing. Belief. If you believe you can do, nothing will stop you from reaching your dreams.

The Guat frequently writes about her challenges and conquering them. She’s truly an inspiration and I’m so glad that I met her. She probably doesn’t realize the impact she has on her readers. I would like to say, “Thank you, dude. We all need friends like you.”

 

Image via TB Markinson

Image via TB Markinson

 

Synopsis:

Paige Alexander is seventeen and has her whole life in front of her. One day her girlfriend comes home to discover that Paige has slit her wrists. Paige isn’t insane, but she acts like she is. Why?

After the incident, Paige agrees to go to therapy to appease her girlfriend, Jess. However, Paige doesn’t believe that therapy will help her. She believes she’s beyond help. Paige doesn’t want to find herself and she doesn’t want to relive her painful past in order to come to terms with it. What Paige wants is control over her life, which she hasn’t had since her birth.

During her childhood, Paige is blamed for a family tragedy, when in fact, her twin sister, Abbie was responsible. Abbie doesn’t come forward and Paige becomes the pariah of the family.

To add to Paige’s woes while attending a college in a small town in Colorado, the residents are in the midst of debating whether or not gays and lesbians should have equal rights. Tension is high and there’s a threat of violence. She isn’t out of the closet and pretends to be straight at school since she fears what will happen if her parents find out she’s a lesbian. Will she end up dead like her best friend, Alex?

T B Markinson

Image via TB Markinson

About The Author:

T. B. Markinson is a 39-year old American writer, living in England, who pledged she would publish before she was 35. Better late than never. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling around the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs in England, or taking the dog for a walk. Not necessarily in that order. Marionette is her second novel.  A Woman Lost was her debut novel.

Mailing List:

Sign up to TB’s New Release Mailing List here. Your email will never be shared and you will only be contacted when a new book is out.

Links:

Twitter        Facebook        Blog        Goodreads     Amazon Author Page

Purchase Links:

Amazon (US)

Amazon (UK)

 

29 Responses to “If You Believe You Can, Then Guess What Happens …”

  1. TBM December 8, 2013 at 6:17 AM #

    Thanks so much for the kind words and hosting me today! You’re the best blogging buddy! Dude, we both deserve some Hawaiian chocolate!

    • The Guat December 8, 2013 at 9:43 PM #

      No worries my friend. You’re a good writer who deserves the spotlight and success you’ve been working so hard for and I am just happy I could help you out. And yes … I agree with you. We both deserve some Hawaiian Chocolate.

    • The Guat December 8, 2013 at 9:48 PM #

      Oh! Did you see that 64-yard field goal by the Broncos kicker. I think I’ll send him a box of chocolate too.

      • TBM December 9, 2013 at 12:34 AM #

        64 yards! I missed it. They only show two games a week here and it wasn’t the Broncos this week, but it has been for most of the season since they are doing so well. He deserves chocolate!

  2. Jackie Cangro December 8, 2013 at 6:41 AM #

    Yay! What a nice surprise to find two of my favorite bloggers in one place!

    I remember reading about T.B.’s climb up Mount Kinabalu, which I greatly admired from the comfort of my couch.

    Ps – Where is this Hawaiian chocolate you keep talking about?

    • TBM December 8, 2013 at 8:35 AM #

      Dude you have to go to Hawaii and find out! Thanks for the kind words, Jackie. Isn’t The Guat the coolest!

    • The Guat December 8, 2013 at 9:40 PM #

      Yeah don’t you love surprises that rock. Especially with two awesome people 🙂 Yeah after reading about TB’s climb dude I was exhausted and cold. 🙂 As for the Hawaiian chocolate … duuuuuuuuuude. There are two kinds depending on the intensity of emotion your feeling that day, either happy or sad. Works as reward or comfort. One is Hawaiian Host something awesome that’s imported for the holidays and that can be found at Costco if you’re lucky. But the best kind, the kind for the best rewards or saddest days ever, is Big Island Candies chocolate. This was the kind TB deserved for her awesomeness. If you ever see it … definitely buy it.

      https://thewishfactor.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/i-love-hawaiians-the-creators-of-this-is-not-your-life-chocolate/

  3. Cayman Thorn December 8, 2013 at 12:02 PM #

    Double dark chocolate delicious! I KNEW the Guat had this effect on her friends and readers, and now- for once- I have been proven right. If not for the weather we’re getting here on the East Coast, I would go for ANOTHER run today.
    This post is a Rocky song, dude.

    • susan swiderski December 8, 2013 at 2:03 PM #

      I guess “The Little Engine That Could” has remained popular for so many years for good reason. For sure, the first step to achieving success is believing it’s possible, but it takes a boatload of perseverance and hard work, too. Nice post, ladies. It’s always heartwarming to see how much support bloggers provide each other. Okay… I just pulled the trigger. (So to speak.) I bought the book. There’s a bunch of other books waiting in line ahead of it, but I promise to write a review after I read it.

      I went to Hawaii in 1970, but I don’t remember any chocolate. Just pineapples. Darn it.

      • The Guat December 8, 2013 at 10:03 PM #

        So glad that you bought the book. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it enough to write a great review for her when you’re done. I’m an extremely slow reader so no worries on rushing through, I’m sure TB will appreciate you taking your time to enjoy her book. Ahhh they didn’t create this awesomeness until 1977 but I’m sure you’ll love it if you ever see it. Big Island Candies I always import straight from the island 🙂

        http://www.bigislandcandies.com

      • TBM December 9, 2013 at 12:50 AM #

        Yes, The Little Engine that Could. That’s a good description of how I climbed the mountain. It wasn’t pretty, but each step got me to the top. And now I apply that to my life back home. With each challenge I just remember it’s one step at a time.

        Thanks so much for buying the book. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Hope you had a wonderful weekend.

        And if you go back to Hawaii, you have to try the chocolate 🙂

    • The Guat December 8, 2013 at 9:46 PM #

      Ahhhhh Cayman you are definitely the best booster club ever. Double dark indeed. Healthy and fantabulous. Rocky Song Ha! That cracked me up … even in your compliments you manage to make me feel awesome and laugh. Gracias chico 🙂

      • Cayman Thorn December 9, 2013 at 2:30 PM #

        I’m a nachos grande level fan. Which means big in America.

    • TBM December 9, 2013 at 12:45 AM #

      Oddly enough, when I made it to the top, I did have the Rocky song in my head. And then I had to sit down and catch my breath. The Guat is such an amazing person and her inspiration helped me with every step. I used to live on the East Coast. Stay warm and happy holidays.

      • Cayman Thorn December 9, 2013 at 2:27 PM #

        Thank you much. And same to you.

  4. Heather Holden December 8, 2013 at 2:15 PM #

    Wow, this is so incredibly impressive, T.B.! I don’t think I could ever have that kind of belief in myself…

    • TBM December 9, 2013 at 12:39 AM #

      Follow the Guat’s blog and you will. She inspires me every week!

  5. Kathryn McCullough December 9, 2013 at 5:15 AM #

    Sounds to me like you’re both BAD ASSES! Damn! Plus, I’m excited to find your blog, Guat. And if Jackie Cangro likes you, you must be super-duper BAD ASS! (Jackie was a witness when my partner Sara and I got married in New York last spring.) Great to “meet” you. And thanks to TBM for the intro!

    Blogging from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat December 12, 2013 at 7:22 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuude. Sorry it took me a while to respond for some reason this ended up in the spam filter, so glad I checked it out before emptying it. Duuuuuude so Jackie was your witness. How cool is that! I’ll have to send Jackie some chocolate for sending you my way. And YES! TBM is a pretty cool chick, I love her pictures and travel stories. She encourages me to keep dreaming for more passport stamps. 🙂 Good to meet you Kathy, hope Ecuador is treating right 🙂

      • TBM December 13, 2013 at 10:12 AM #

        Hi Kathy and TG, I think both of you are pretty neat and Jackie is super cool as well. Isn’t blogging great–we’re all friends and we live in three different countries.

  6. anotherday2paradise December 9, 2013 at 9:02 AM #

    TBM is a great author. I’ve just finished reading her first novel. “A Woman Lost,” and thoroughly enjoyed it. 🙂
    I just realised that I haven’t notified you that I hung up my hammock and restarted my blog. It takes a while to get around to everyone. Sylvia xx
    http://anotherday2paradise.wordpress.com/

    • The Guat December 12, 2013 at 7:18 PM #

      Ha she is a great writer and so glad you finished her first novel. And so glad you told me about the switch I was wondering where you were, but figured you were out traveling the world and taking some awesome pictures.

    • TBM December 13, 2013 at 10:13 AM #

      So glad to hear you like A Woman Lost. And I just realized your blog isn’t showing up in my reader. Must fix that!

  7. lameadventures December 9, 2013 at 11:16 AM #

    I had intended to comment on this post earlier, but I got a bit discombobulated when I unexpectedly heard from an old friend from out of the blue … Onto topic, I think mental toughness is equal to physical endurance when it comes to completing a demanding physical challenge. In sports, athletes that can best handle the mental aspect of their game seem to be the ones with the most accolades, at least before age gets the better of them and their bodies give out. What you call belief that you could finish writing your book, I call focus. Or maybe it’s a combination of the two that results in a finished tome. As for Guat, I believe she has what it takes to finish writing her book based on how she handles the endurance challenges she’s shared with us on her site. She’s excellent when it comes to training and psyching herself up. She just has to apply those same principles of focusing to her writing and she will inevitably cross that finish line.

    • TBM December 9, 2013 at 12:44 PM #

      Discombobulated–that’s a fun word. I agree with you. TG does have what it take to finish her book. She’s a very determined person and does have the mental toughness to see it to the end. I for one can’t wait to read her book and I’m cheering her on.

  8. Island Traveler December 10, 2013 at 10:15 AM #

    An extraordinary talented person whose book is a must read and share for all. Thanks for posting about her.

    • TBM December 13, 2013 at 10:13 AM #

      Ah, thanks so much for the kind words.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How a fellow blogger helped me climb a mountain | Making My Mark - December 8, 2013

    […] my training and during the actual climb. She really is an amazing blogger and a wonderful friend. Hop on over to learn the full story. And please follow her blog. I believe that many of you will find her funny, sincere, […]

  2. Book Review: Emma by Jane Austen | 50 Year Project - December 9, 2013

    […] is going. On Saturday, Cindy wrote a wonderful review on her blog. And yesterday, I guest posted on The Guat’s (TG) blog. Visit her blog and find out how TG helped me climb a […]

Leave a Reply

