It Was a Team Effort

22 Oct

This race wasn’t about making it to the finish line. It was one of my slowest times ever, but I didn’t care. This one was about the people running and walking alongside of me and the reason why we were there.

This one was for my Dad.

Most of the time my competitive edge gets me and I nearly kill myself trying to keep up with the AARP Triathlon chick zooming passed me. But this time I was all right hanging back. In fact I actually walked some of it and for the first time walking didn’t seem to be an athletic failure in my jock-minded head. In fact, walking was supposed to be part of the race. It was in the title. But regardless of whether we were walking or running, I was glad to have shared this with my kids. I was glad they knew what we were doing and why. I was glad they took part in raising money for the American Lung Association.  I was glad they were doing it for my dad and for other people who were in my father’s shoes.

 

We started off with a little stretching

I wanted to hang back at the end, but The Little Guats decided to move to the front and join the warm-up party.

 

Then apparently some stretching.

Then apparently some stretching.

 

We said a little something about why we were doing it.

We said a little something about why we were doing it.

 

And then we were off ... after checking out the crowd I was happy that The Little Guats decided to move to the front of the line.

And then we were off … after checking out the crowd I was happy that The Little Guats decided to move to the front of the line.

 

A few participants needed a quick little break.

A few participants needed a quick little break.

 

As the race progressed my son developed a competitive edge. He saw a few boys ahead of us and decided to speed up our development.

As the race progressed my son developed a competitive edge. He saw a few boys ahead of us and decided to quicken the pace. 

 

In the end, my kids were happy to see the volunteers' signs and receive their high-fives on a job well-done.

In the end, my kids were happy to see the volunteers’ signs and receive their high-fives on a job well-done.

 

 

 

18 Responses to “It Was a Team Effort”

  1. lameadventures October 23, 2013 at 7:40 AM #

    Go Team Little Guat! … Oh yeah, and go you, too, Guat.

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 3:50 PM #

      Thanks! It was actually really fun hanging out with them during a race instead of afterward. He said it “Mom, this was the easiest race ever. Easier than my TinMan. Easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy.” I was cracking up for five minutes.

      • lameadventures October 29, 2013 at 4:10 PM #

        Awwwwww, that’s great! Little Guat is even a bit of a poet!

  2. Marcia Clarke October 23, 2013 at 8:15 AM #

    Good for you, including the little Guats. Can we say motivation?

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:14 PM #

      Total motivation. I loved the fact that they were running next to me. It was a good feeling of family. Very cool something you can totally do with your grandkids when they get bigger 🙂

      • Marcia Clarke October 30, 2013 at 9:25 AM #

        Highly unlikely, but great idea! LOL

  3. cravesadventure October 23, 2013 at 10:21 AM #

    Thanks so much for walking/running – Great cause indeed – I live with asthma, but it does not slow me down!!! Have a Great Day:)

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:21 PM #

      Yeah that’s tough. We actually had a speaker before the race a twelve year old kid that went through like ten surgeries and had to take like seven different kinds of medicine daily because of asthma and he rocked that race. What a great motivational speaker and he was still in junior high.

  4. brickhousechick October 23, 2013 at 7:53 PM #

    What a wonderful thing, Guat! Every aspect of this event is so touching. Congrats of finishing and being such a great example to your children.

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:22 PM #

      Thanks so much! It was a very cool thing to do with my kids. I totally bonded and loved the fact that they were actually racing with me this time instead of just cheering me on 🙂

  5. TBM October 24, 2013 at 12:52 AM #

    What a great example of a team effort and for a wonderful cause. By the way, your little ones are so adorable!

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:23 PM #

      Thanks we had a great time…the stretching part cracked me up. They got all into it. I was so glad they enjoyed it because we were doing it for my dad, so it was a cool experience 🙂

  6. Cayman Thorn October 25, 2013 at 5:37 PM #

    I love all your posts. But the ones on Dad? They are my favorites, if I had to choose.

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:26 PM #

      Nice! That’s one of the best compliments I’ve had because I love remembering my dad and having people seem him through my eyes. 🙂

  7. The Hook October 27, 2013 at 5:14 AM #

    A wonderful tale of the boundless inner strength of the human spirit.
    Thanks for making my Sunday.

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:27 PM #

      Thanks! So glad you enjoyed our Guatacular outing. And even though we’re not morning people, we had a good time.

  8. quirkyisthename October 27, 2013 at 3:06 PM #

    This was such a great post!!! What a wonderful way to remember your Father and honor him. I’m sure your Dad is very proud to see his whole family coming together for a great cause! The kiddos look like they’re having a ton of fun and doing it in solidarity with their Mom!:) what a great lesson for them and a fun way to spend time with your family! 🙂

    • The Guat October 29, 2013 at 4:30 PM #

      Thanks! I love to hear that others love these Dad/family posts. He was so super cool and I like to keep him alive any way I can so the stories help out 🙂 And the kids had a really good time, especially during the stretch out period. Thanks for stopping by, good to see you out and about.

Leave a Reply

