Burning Bridges

5 Sep

Twenty-year high school reunion. I saw it on Facebook. I saw the head cheerleader and her clan making announcements and planning this shindig.

Burning Bridges

Burning Bridges

I was on the link and read the conversations, and all I could think of was … I don’t want to see these people. Ex-boyfriends, cheerleaders, and drill team members planning a party. I thought, yeah … I’d rather be getting a root canal.

It wasn’t so much the conversation, but it was knowing that these people still think that phoniness is passable. I know they don’t want to see me. We weren’t really friends, we were barely acquaintances. I don’t hate any of them, but annoyance is enough for me to stay away. I mean I don’t even like running into these people at the mall.

I’m 38. I’ve got gray hair. I don’t have time for this stuff. If I didn’t like anybody back then, I probably won’t like them now. I mean some people may have A-HA moments and do a 360-change, but for the most part people are who they are.

And the truth is the people I actually do want to see are probably not going either. They’re smart. They’re not even on Facebook.

Burning bridges … sometimes this is a good thing.

 

18 Responses to “Burning Bridges”

  1. 1pointperspective September 6, 2013 at 3:07 AM #

    With the advent of Facebook, high school reunions are going the way of the dinosaur anyway. Why stand around a stale banquet hall showing people photos of your kids and bragging about your summer home when you can do it from the comfort of your own homepage?

    • brickhousechick September 6, 2013 at 7:13 AM #

      LOL! Well said! 🙂

    • The Guat September 6, 2013 at 8:27 AM #

      Ha! You’re too funny. I guess you’re right. But then again I’m hardly on Facebook either (I caught this reunion message on my monthly drop-in). I find it amusing how everyone has summer homes and kids reading before they’re two years old.

  2. brickhousechick September 6, 2013 at 7:30 AM #

    My husband is one year older than me but we both went to the same high school so these events have historically been ok for us. We both know people from each other’s classes. I have found that people are definitely nicer (maybe you have to wait until your 30th reunion for that) than they were in hs. But, if you don’t need to see them, go ahead and burn that bridge, baby! 🙂

    • The Guat September 6, 2013 at 7:44 AM #

      It’s good when you a nice small high school. I had a graduating class of over 2,000 students. It was a big school. And even with that number I bet there would only be ten people I’d like to see that I haven’t seen. But like I said I sincerely doubt they’d be there. Yeah … maybe at the 25th or 30th.

  3. margohal September 6, 2013 at 8:09 AM #

    I had a totally different experience, who knew! http://wp.me/p3yJg6-7S

    • The Guat September 8, 2013 at 10:32 PM #

      Sounds like you had a good one 🙂 But I’m still sticking to my burning bridges approach 🙂

  4. Cayman Thorn September 6, 2013 at 7:25 PM #

    I did a post on this. Yes sometimes bridge burning is a necessary endeavor. Personally, I think you wow any re-union you decide to attend. Don’t mind the gray hair, that stuff is inevitable. It’s not worth minding the inevitable shit, because it’s gonna happen anyways.You provide the sexy plenty ’nuff. And thanks for reminding me about my Facebook page. I signed up as Cayman Thorn (Not my real name) and I completely forgot about it!

    • The Guat September 14, 2013 at 6:30 PM #

      Ha! Thanks for the props…yeah I don’t mind the gray hair much just the fact that being in their company might give me more 🙂 And no worries I have a Facebook page and rarely check it.

  5. Angelia Sims September 6, 2013 at 7:37 PM #

    I went to mine and it was fun, but I am from a pretty small school in a small town. There weren’t too many clicks or anything growing up in the country. I actually had a girl tell me that I had changed a lot and was much nicer than in high school. She wanted to vote me “most changed”. Boy did that make me feel bad! LOL. But I do not believe that anything uncomfortable or toxic is worth the “traditon”. Light it up!

    • The Guat September 14, 2013 at 6:33 PM #

      That’s so funny, “most changed”. You don’t know whether to take it in a good way or bad. And thanks for the support on avoiding toxic traditions, we had over 2,000 people in my graduating class and I bet the 1,000 that show will be the ones I want to avoid. 🙂

  6. Island Traveler September 6, 2013 at 9:21 PM #

    Been to a few of those burning bridges. Still have some scars from the burns. It does remind me though to avoid the same mistakes. Inspiring post. Have a great weekend.

  7. adinparadise September 7, 2013 at 11:15 AM #

    Wise decision, TG. I’ve never been been tempted either. 🙂

    • The Guat September 14, 2013 at 6:34 PM #

      Woo-Hoo so glad you agree with me 🙂 I’d like to think I’m a little wise.

  8. Jessica September 7, 2013 at 10:20 PM #

    I feel EXACTLY the same way. My 10-year is coming up in a few weeks and I have absolutely no desire to go. Why would I want to spend $80 to hang out with a bunch of people I didn’t care enough to keep in touch with? No thanks. I don’t look at it as burning bridges… it’s more of not wanting to read the same chapter twice.

    • The Guat September 14, 2013 at 6:38 PM #

      Exactly what I was thinking. I would rather spend the 80 bucks on myself … something in the form of an awesome massage and being thankful I’m not surrounded by old chapters from my past.

  9. rommel September 8, 2013 at 6:59 AM #

    I haven’t gone to any of my high school reunion. Big part of which is because I’m away now from my country 😀 I’d like to go because I got plenty of ammonition to brag away how far I’ve come. Ahihihi. i’m kidding. I’d probably be either a) too reserved, b) arogant, or c) just be talking to the people I only talk to back then.

    • The Guat September 14, 2013 at 6:41 PM #

      Having good ammunition is great, but I still wouldn’t go. It’s good you’re far away… you’ll probably enjoy yourself more where you’re at. 🙂

Leave a Reply

