To The Guat On Her 38th Birthday

27 Jul

Had I checked my phone earlier maybe the morning vibe would have been different. I don’t know … maybe the snowball would have taken a different path down the avalanche.

I don’t know. Maybe.

Had I checked my phone first, I would have seen a text message from my sister and heard a message from my nephew wishing me a happy birthday. But instead I found myself online checking my email and getting my very first birthday greeting from West Coast Hooters.

Free wings.

Normally free on my birthday would have sent me cartwheeling, but alas a birthday wish from Hooters was not what I was looking for that morning. I was in search for a “yes-we-want-you” response from a publisher or potential employer. But no … I got Hooters. So I closed my email and continued with my morning.

I had pictured the morning differently. I envisioned it. Kidless, not involving the clean up of Cheerios. I visualized myself in the sun, wearing my O’Neill surfing shirt and board shorts, paddling on the long board in the cool calm waters of the beach. No sharks. No falling over. Crossing off an item from my bucket list on my birthday … that was the goal. That was the awesome feeling I was looking for. That’s how I imagined my birthday.

This did not happen.

I got a West Coast Hooters greeting, no babysitter, two rejection letters, and the day ahead of me. I was 38 and it wasn’t working out already.

Lemonade baby. That’s what I thought. Making some sweet lemonade with these sour life lemons.

So what could I do?

What adventurous Bucket List item could I do with a five-year old and two-year old?

I thought for a minute … and then I had it!

 

My answer. For ages three and up. It was on.

My answer. For ages three and up. It was on.

 

I signed us up and we suited up. My two-year old couldn't fly high, but at least she could get suited up and accompany us to the adventure. It was entertaining enough for her to sit still and watch.

I signed us up and we suited up. My two-year old couldn’t fly high, but at least she could get suited up and accompany us on the adventure. It was entertaining enough for her to sit still and watch.

 

After we suited up we waited our turn. A little nerves on my son's part, a little excitement on mine.  Javier the skydiving expert looked at us and gave us a thumbs up.  We got next!

After we suited up we waited our turn. A little nerves on my son’s part, a little excitement on mine. Javier the skydiving expert from Brazil looked at us and gave us a thumbs up. We got next!

 

My son enjoying his moment ... trying to smile but the wind was too powerful ... this was the best he could do. And I loved it. He forgot about his nervousness once he was there. He forgot about it so much that he asked to go twice. Little Superman was in the house being propelled like a helicopter up, up, and up.

3-2-1 … My son enjoying his moment … trying to smile but the wind was too powerful … this was the best he could do. And I loved it. He forgot about his nervousness once he was there. He forgot about it so much that he asked to go twice. The Little Guat was in the house being propelled like a helicopter up, up, and up.

 

It was the best forty-five minutes of the day. My son’s Sandbox Adventure List. Check. Mom’s Bucket List. Check. I was smiling now and 38 was looking a lot better.

The birthday adventure was followed up with a few other activities before dinner time.

 

We headed home for the baby's naptime. But we managed to keep the festivities going. After an hour and a half, and 522 pieces our Lego firefighter airplane and company was complete.

We headed home for the baby’s nap time. But we managed to keep the festivities going. After an hour and a half, and 522 pieces, our Lego firefighter airplane and company was complete.

 

After all that Lego fun I needed some fun of my own. I opened my first birthday gift. It rocked.

After all that Lego fun I needed some fun of my own. I opened my first birthday gift. A friend sent it to me in the mail. It rocked.

 

After a little sweetness it was time for dinner. A kid-friendly place with good one. I could only think of one place.

After a little sweetness it was time for dinner. A kid-friendly place with good food. I could only think of one place.

 

Started off with something fruity before dinner.

Started off with something fruity before dinner.

 

Then it was time for the main attraction. I savored every moment, every tasty buttery-lemony bite.

Then it was time for the main attraction. I savored every moment, every tasty buttery-lemony bite.

 

As I was enjoying my meal and having a great dinner with my family I looked down and saw this ... it summarized my entire day. Forrest Gump was definitely wise. Maybe he was 38.

As I was enjoying my meal and having a great dinner with my family I looked down and saw this … it summarized my entire day. Forrest Gump was definitely wise. Maybe he was 38.

 

After dinner it was time for birthday wishes and chocolate cake. I made a good one so hope it comes true. And yeah Forrest ... you're right. It is funny how things work out.

After dinner it was time for birthday wishes and chocolate cake. I made a good one so hope it comes true. And yeah Forrest … you’re right. It is funny how things work out because 38 didn’t turn out to be that bad.

 

18 Responses to “To The Guat On Her 38th Birthday”

  1. rarasaur July 27, 2013 at 10:59 PM #

    Happy Birthday! 🙂 Sounds like it was a great one, 😀

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:21 PM #

      Thanks! It ended better than expected 🙂

  2. The Jogging Dad July 28, 2013 at 2:00 AM #

    I wish I had a greeting from hooters on my birthday! 🙂

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:22 PM #

      Ha! Yeah I figured guys would appreciate that greeting more. Maybe if it was tea time at Chippendales it would have been better. 🙂

  3. quirkyisthename July 28, 2013 at 6:01 AM #

    Happy Birthday!!! What a great and wonderful story, definitely you made the best lemonade! 😀

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:23 PM #

      Yes! Those morning lemons sucked, so glad I snapped out of it early enough so that I could enjoy the day. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. melanie July 28, 2013 at 6:31 AM #

    Happy Birthday! Way to make the most of it!

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:23 PM #

      Thanks! I was glad it turned out that way too, made for a better 38.

  5. brickhousechick July 28, 2013 at 7:09 PM #

    “Feliz, feliz en tu día. Amiguita que Dios te bendiga. Que reines la paz en tu día. Y que cumplas muchos mas”!! Feliz Cumpleaños, Guat! I am glad your day turned out to be a good one. 🙂

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:25 PM #

      MUCHAS MUCHAS GRACIAS! I was definitely looking for some paz that morning. Believe it or not the skydiving helped, go figure 🙂

  6. TBM July 29, 2013 at 2:39 AM #

    Dude, happy birthday! Seriously, I mean it. And flying–cool. Love Bubba Gumps. Will be at one in NY in August and I can’t wait. It’s a tradition. And I would love free Hooters, I mean wings from Hooters. Happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:28 PM #

      Oh I love Bubba Gumps! Hope you get to one when hit New York. I try to go every now and then and treat myself and this occasion definitely called for it…and the end of the night not too many lemons left 🙂

  7. Krystal August 1, 2013 at 6:46 PM #

    I can’t blame you for the lackluster feeling upon receiving free wings from Hooters as your birthday present…but I am super glad your day ended up turning out so great. That flying thing looks awesome! Happy belated birthday Guat!

    • The Guat August 2, 2013 at 2:33 PM #

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you feel me on the Hooters salutations. But by the end of the evening I had de-soured and sweetened. The skydiving was definitely a great ingredient in my lemonade mix. You know they have one in Florida in case you’re interested… Orlando I think. 🙂

  8. lameadventures August 4, 2013 at 10:52 PM #

    Happy belated birthday Guat! Sorry, I missed the day proper, but for the past few weeks I’ve been working a second gig after my regular 9-5:30 so I’ve fallen behind on both blogging and reading blogs. Hey, you’re still two years away from The Milestone. You’ve got time. Skydiving with Little Guat sure seemed liked a great way to kick off 38. I know you’re a dog person. I think you might like this video. It’s not exactly birthday cheer but maybe it will amuse you as it did me:

    • The Guat August 7, 2013 at 9:05 AM #

      HA! This one cracked me up. Very amusing…started off my day right! And thanks for the birthday wishes. The skydiving helped hitting the big 3-8 and yeah I’m only two years away from the milestone but those two years stress me out a little. I’m sure the world won’t end 🙂

  9. Andrea Kelly August 7, 2013 at 1:41 AM #

    Sorry I’m late…but Happy Birthday!! I hope it’s a great year!

    • The Guat August 7, 2013 at 8:54 AM #

      Thanks. Started off rocky but getting better by the week.

Leave a Reply

