So I Bought The Chocolate Mousse

9 Jul

“There’s something about that night that I need to tell you …”

Who says that and doesn’t finish the sentence?

This is not movie or a Young and the Restless cliffhanger … this is life. So I was surprised when I heard it.

Who says something like that?

Who?

A guy … you guessed it … had to be a guy.

I was people watching at a restaurant when it happened, and I couldn’t believe it.

Dude.

She just sat there waiting. He took a call in mid-sentence and she just sat there waiting. I’m not one to get into anybody’s business. In fact I have trouble keeping my own business situated, but I couldn’t help but be intrigued. I hadn’t heard the entire conversation, just that one piece. So it could have meant many things. He could have been talking about a night at his parent’s house and how his dad accidentally crashed their car. He could have been talking about a night at work where he got demoted or fired because he told off the boss. It could have been a night with the baby and how he accidentally cut the baby’s hair. It could have been many things, but her reaction led me to believe it was something more serious. She seemed to be fuming and had that I’m-trying-to-contain-my-wrath-because-we’re-in-public look. Every chick has one of those looks and seeing how I’m a chick I recognized it right away.

So I sat there wondering what could it be. What did this dude do? It plagued me for the next ten minutes while he was on the phone. I’m sure it was killing her as she was on her second stiff drink. It appeared to be vodka, but who knows could have been gin. All I know was she was throwing it back and anxiously waiting the return of her dude. In truth I was waiting anxiously too.

As I was awaiting his arrival,  I started to think, what if that was me? Would I have waited like the strappy sandals chick here, or would I have thrown his phone against the wall and demanded that he explain what he meant? Now I tend to lean more to the Snapped! version of myself when crazy sentences like these are introduced in conversation. So the phone would have been a goner. I’m passionate like that.

So when he came back I sat there waiting. But nothing of the Snapped! sort happened. He just walked back in, put some money on the table, told her there was an emergency, and he left.

Holy crap.

I couldn’t believe it. I sat there eating my baked potato. I stopped in mid spoon, because I couldn’t believe what had just happened.

Who does that? Who says “there’s something about that night that I need to tell you,” and then just bails. She sat there deflated. I had no idea what had just transpired, but it looked heavy. I assumed the conversation that would take place later that night would suck. So I did what any chick would do for a fellow member of the team. I bought the chocolate mousse and sent it to her table. And even though I hadn’t met her, I still felt the need to do something for her. I didn’t wait for her reaction. I thought she needed to enjoy it in private. I figured she’d need something to get her through that future conversation.

10 Responses to “So I Bought The Chocolate Mousse”

  1. brickhousechick July 10, 2013 at 8:24 AM #

    How sweet of you! That’s awesome. Regardless of what the news will be, she’s gotta get rid of him! She deserves better! 🙂

    • The Guat July 11, 2013 at 12:45 AM #

      Oh my God! I couldn’t believe it. I know I only heard part of the conversation, but dude what kind of half-assed conversation was that, right? Whoo! I’m with you sister, that lady definitely deserved better.

  2. The Jogging Dad July 10, 2013 at 2:55 PM #

    “Whoever you are, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers”! 🙂

    • The Guat July 11, 2013 at 12:49 AM #

      It’s awesome when a random act of kindness finds you … I just thought she needed something. It looked like a pretty crappy day.

  3. Cayman Thorn July 10, 2013 at 7:02 PM #

    First of all, the idea that he leaves her hanging at all after putting something like that out there is unimaginable. And then leaving altogether? Hopefully she texts him her goodbye and changes her number. As for you, well damn if that wasn’t the best response to a really bad situation. You are all that and then some.

    • The Guat July 11, 2013 at 12:52 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. I know, right? What was up with that? I do hope she kicks him to the curb via text or maybe she bails without notice just stops calling and answering, right? I figured chocolate should help.

      • Cayman Thorn July 11, 2013 at 6:20 PM #

        Your gesture probably meant way more than you even know. In that moment, she needed someone to let her know she wasn’t on an island, she had backup. You did that. ****Double High Five*****

      • The Guat July 11, 2013 at 10:11 PM #

        🙂

  4. adinparadise July 11, 2013 at 5:17 AM #

    What a lovely gesture to a sister in need. You really rock. 🙂

    • The Guat July 11, 2013 at 10:06 PM #

      Thanks I was just imagining if it was me … I’d probably need some chocolate too. But I guess if it was me I’d probably have a Snapped! moment and throw the phone out the window 🙂

Leave a Reply

