It Finally Happened

5 Jun

At first sight, you’re hopeful. It looks good. It sounds promising.

But then you show up and realize, it’s not alone.

Free is never alone. It has company.

Fine print.

Nothing good usually comes out of it. At least for me.

At the market it’s usually buy one and then get one free. It’s never just get one free.

At the museum you think it’s free and then there’s the box. They put it in the middle with big bold letters, so you can’t miss it. The senior citizen who’s volunteering at the desk smiles and looks you in the eye while she points at the box with the word “DONATION” on it

. Guilt consumes you. It’s because you’re a good person. So you open your wallet and give in.

On Wednesday you make it to Happy Hour at the Regal Beagle, but then realized that it’s not every Wednesday. It’s every other Wednesday and you just happen to be bad at math and calendars. You get no free appetizers.

On your honeymoon they say free helicopter tour or free surfing lessons. You get excited and you sign up. You’re dumb like that when you’re a newlywed. When you get to the location for your free voucher, you realize you have to sit in on a three-hour seminar for timeshares. Eventually you get the helicopter ride or surfing lesson. But it wasn’t for free, you paid with your time.

Free was just a myth to me. Some people are lucky they get free all the time, but unfortunately I’m not part of that club. I’ve been trying to be, but I’ve been unsuccessful … that is until this week.

I actually got something for free. Completely free. Well my kids did, but I savored in the fact that I was able to get it for them. Free admission to the children’s museum and not just any museum, but the kind that lets you touch and climb everything and it’s not breakable. My kids love it.

In truth I was a little skeptical about it being free. Considering my track record I thought there had to be some fine print. Had to, but no. There wasn’t. They enjoyed four hours of exploration through some awesome exhibits featuring physics, astronomy, archaeology, and earth science. And apparently so did a lot of other kids. A lot. This is the side effect of free. Crowds. Massive crowds, but we managed to get there early enough to maneuver our way around them. When you get free, it’s good to show up early.

Free is a good thing. Especially when it finally happens. It should be cart-wheel worthy.

 

The outdoor physics exploration area, which captured our attention for about an hour.

The outdoor physics exploration area, which captured our attention for about an hour.

 

Free brings out the awesomeness in people. My kids were actually sharing without fighting. It was great.

Free brings out the awesomeness in people. My kids were actually sharing without fighting. It was great.

 

Checking out his own strength and learning about kinetic energy. He didn't know he was learning it though.

Checking out his own strength and learning about kinetic energy. He didn’t know he was learning it though.

 

Climbing outdoors. Some kid didn't do so well ... gravity got the best of her.

Climbing outdoors. Some kid didn’t do so well … gravity got the best of her.

 

Focused on checking out fossils. I've never seen her sit so still for such a long time. I need to get some fossils at home.

Focused on checking out fossils. I’ve never seen her sit so still for such a long time. I need to get some fossils at home.

 

This free thing was so good, we even got a free concert. Scottish bagpipes rocking the joint.

This free thing was so good, we even got a free concert. Scottish bagpipes rocking the joint.

 

The free thing rose to the next level when my son got a free lesson. Free was good that day.

The free thing rose to the next level when my son got a free lesson. Free was good that day.

 

 

10 Responses to “It Finally Happened”

  1. adinparadise June 6, 2013 at 6:00 AM #

    What a great place for kids, TG. Glad the free offer didn’t turn out to have strings attached. 🙂

    • The Guat June 17, 2013 at 11:54 PM #

      It was super awesome. It was the first time we were able to get in on that free day. My kids were very happy 🙂

  2. TBM June 6, 2013 at 6:45 AM #

    Oh the buy one get one free kills my diet. Why yes, I would love a free bag of Doritos, why not two–so I end up with four. Now I have four and I need to eat them fast so I can get back on track with healthy eating. It’s horrible!

    Love the museum! I want to go to that museum and touch everything without alarms. Hey did you know if you lean too close to a painting the alarm goes off and guards show up quickly asking you to back off! I know that now.

    • The Guat June 17, 2013 at 11:58 PM #

      HA! Being on a diet is hard with the buy one get one free. Calories always seem to add up. The free doesn’t really rock in that instance but in case of the museum definitely very cool. They were able to get their tiny little hands on all of the exhibits and were like we need to come back mom! But no alarms here 🙂 You’re too funny, I hope you didn’t get kicked out 🙂

  3. lameadventures June 6, 2013 at 8:32 AM #

    Glad your kids had fun, Guat! Free is my second favorite 4-letter f-word.

    • The Guat June 17, 2013 at 11:59 PM #

      Ha! I figured it would be. 🙂

  4. Marcia Clarke June 6, 2013 at 8:57 AM #

    It looks like the kids were having a blast. I love museums, art exhibits, etc., and can’t wait to take my granddaughters. They will always remember those outings so keep taking them as often as you can.

    • The Guat June 18, 2013 at 12:00 AM #

      I truly hope they remember these experiences and they don’t phase out when they get older. I’m crossing my fingers … that way the teen years won’t be so stressful 🙂

  5. marydpierce June 7, 2013 at 11:18 AM #

    Oh, man – that was some awesome free!! Score!

    • The Guat June 18, 2013 at 12:00 AM #

      A definitely score! I totally high-fived myself for that one.

Leave a Reply

