Happiness Project Update 26: The Antidote to the This-Currently-Sucks-Right-Now Moments

3 Jun

This one was easy. I didn’t even have to think about how to do it or form ways to bring it into my daily life. It was already there. It had to be if I was hoping to survive the malaise of my current Life-Wasn’t-Supposed-To-Turn-Out-This-Way-Plan-B-2.0 existence.

Attitude. I had to pick it.

Had to.

It’s probably the reason why I picked up Rubin’s book in the first place. Most people didn’t need to pick up her book. Most people don’t need Tony Robbins, Randy Pausch, or Elizabeth Gilbert quotes to light a fire under their ass. Most people are happy the way things are … I was not most people. I was in the this-currently-sucks-right-now group, and I think I was the CEO. Still am, but my attitude about it has changed a bit. And it’s not due to anything great that has happened to me. Nothing of blockbuster proportions, but the difference is that I’ve just been able to find little moments and hold on to them with a 10th degree black belt Kung Fu grip. I savor them, until the last drop, because who knows when this cup is going to be full again.

Image via happiness-project.com

Image via happiness-project.com

So when Rubin suggested that attitude was one of the keys to a Happiness Project, I was like … yeah … I got this. I know this. And then she followed it up by suggesting that you incorporate LOL in your daily life. Now when I first saw this a while back, I had no idea what it meant. I wasn’t into text messages. I was more into conversations, but when I realized it was “laugh out loud,” it sort of became one of my rules of the day. Although I don’t like using the abbreviation as a note to myself, for others yes, but for myself I usually I have to spell it out for a more meaningful effect.

Sometimes this is difficult when you’re the CEO of your-life-currently-sucks-right-now. Especially when I have those Thelma-and-Louise-I-should-just-jump-off-a-cliff-right-now moments. Finding The Wish Factor can be hard. I have to look outside of me to find the funny. Like when you think you’re a writer and the rejection letter in the mail tells you, no, not today you’re not. Like when you can’t handle the ‘for worse’ part of your “for better or worse” vows and you just feel like throwing your partner out of a moving car … tuck and roll, baby, tuck and roll. Like when you look in the mirror and wonder where all that gray hair came from and then you realize it when you hear the high-pierce screaming of your kid’s voice for no apparent reason at 3 a.m. Like when your mom gives you advice on raising your kids for the 10oth time and the deep breathing Namaste business isn’t helping you. Laughing out loud isn’t possible in these circumstances. It doesn’t come from within, not at that moment.

But I still get the antidote from somewhere else.

And other than tuning into the amazing Jason Bateman, one of my go-to people for laughter is Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. I’ve got to say, there are times when I’m really not feeling it for one reason or another, but I manage to laugh out loud thanks to Fallon. He makes me forget my crappy moods. One of my favorites has to be when Justin Timberlake appears and they perform the History of Rap. But my most recent cracking up experience had to be when John Krasinski showed up.

 

 

Jimmy had the antidote. Laughing out loud had never been so easy for me. That is one Happiness Project lesson I didn’t need to be reminded of, but I was glad I was on the right track.

7 Responses to “Happiness Project Update 26: The Antidote to the This-Currently-Sucks-Right-Now Moments”

  1. claywatkins June 4, 2013 at 2:56 AM #

    It’s all in how you see it. If you think it sucks, it sucks. If you think it’s awesome, it’s awesome. Keep on laughing!

    • The Guat June 17, 2013 at 11:44 PM #

      Definitely will try to keep laughing. It always helps bring me back to center. Perspective, definitely perspective.

  2. TBM June 4, 2013 at 7:56 AM #

    tuck and roll, baby, tuck and roll–oh I have these moments as well. Why do our loved ones drive us absolutely insane sometimes! After I calm down–beer helps–I realize I can’t live without the most annoying person in the world–I mean the most loving person in the world.

    • The Guat June 17, 2013 at 11:45 PM #

      Ha! Yeah I’m glad someone else out there has these tuck and roll moments, but definitely glad to have your partner in crime out there with you on your travels.

  3. Krystal June 6, 2013 at 7:35 PM #

    Since I am the exact same way, and the Randy Pausch, Elizabeth Gilbert, and Gretchen Rubin quotes/advice often get me through my craptastic moods, I am constantly looking for ways to laugh. My dad, who is a yoga instructor up north, sent me one of these meditations he was teaching in his class on laughing and I found it interesting. It essentially said to lay on the floor with several other people and all at the same time force yourselves to laugh. Even if it is fake at first, just make the sounds and motions within yourself to laugh and the great part is that by the end of this “fake laughing” you’ll truly be cracking up. I think it has something to do with hearing others laugh at the same time and feeling connected to one another. Either way, I tried it with some friends and I have seriously never laughed so hard in my life and it was laughing for no reason other than the pure joy of it. 😀 By the way, I’m glad we had like minds this week with this Jimmy Fallon clip. It was brilliant!

    • The Guat June 17, 2013 at 11:49 PM #

      You know I had heard of that laughing yoga in Rubin’s book and online somewhere, but haven’t tried a class yet. But laughing it up with friends definitely sounds awesome. I think that would definitely create those cramps in your stomach from too much laughing. And yes so glad that someone else out there has craptastic moods like me and turns to Jimmy Fallon for some laughs 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happiness Project Final Update: I’ve Learned to Embrace the George Costanza Phase of My Life | The Wish Factor - July 12, 2013

    […] Happiness Project Update 26: The Antidote to the This-Currently-Sucks-Right-Now Moments […]

Leave a Reply

