The Mood Changer

27 May

It’s a three-day weekend and for most people this Memorial Day Weekend means a mini-vacation — an escape from yourself and your life. I’m sad to say that I didn’t escape anything or anyone the last three days.

I felt pretty much like a dud stuck in my overcrowded part of the hemisphere. But I couldn’t let myself or my family completely drown in the boredom of staying-in-town–for-the-weekend routine. So I did what any poor writer with financial technical difficulties would do … I had a stay-cation at the beach, appreciated the moments with my kids, and gave thanks to the fallen soldiers from the past. This stay-cation proved to be better than expected.

I have to say, the Pacific Ocean rocked. It’s a total mood changer. But in addition to the beach all activities were accompanied by barbecue.

 

 

Touching the Pacific Ocean

Touching the Pacific Ocean. This was the shy beginning … but by the end of the day everyone was jumping waves and needing to use the beach showers to get sand out of everywhere.

 

 

A beach trip is not complete without building sandcastles. And everyone was hard at work, but as you can tell I didn't dress my kid. Pink would never have been an option for my daughter. In fact I have no idea how this swimsuit made it. It's a good thing the Pacific Ocean had magical mood changing powers.

A beach trip is not complete without building sandcastles. And everyone was hard at work, but as you can tell I didn’t dress my kid. Pink would never have been an option for my daughter. In fact I have no idea how this swimsuit made it. It’s a good thing the Pacific Ocean had magical mood changing powers.

 

 

Snack time was pretty tasty.

Snack time was pretty tasty.

 

 

Our tasty side dishes.

Our tasty side dishes.

 

 

For the vegetarian side of the family.

Ceviche … for the vegetarian side of the family. I had two helpings with my steak.

 

 

 

 

 

14 Responses to “The Mood Changer”

  1. brickhousechick May 28, 2013 at 5:10 AM #

    Looks like a wonderful weekend! I was all set to grill on Monday only to find the gas grill tank – EMPTY! Oh well! 🙂

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:13 PM #

      Ha! Yeah we were worried about that too, so we brought an extra grill and thank God we did. We ran out of gas. 🙂

  2. Island Traveler May 28, 2013 at 5:14 AM #

    This is a refreshing, exciting vision after working the entire Memorial Day weekend. It was my turn to work in the E.R. for this holiday. Bummer but then I saw this today and somehow I know soon me and the ocean will meet again. Fun post that rocks!

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:14 PM #

      The ocean always seems to make things better, especially when you have your own space and no one is crowding you. It’s got awesome healing powers. Hope you make it there this weekend. 🙂

  3. TBM May 28, 2013 at 6:04 AM #

    The Pacific and grilling. I’m envious, dude. Completely envious.

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:15 PM #

      Dude. It totally ended up being better than expected. I felt all bumbed out because I wasn’t going out of town, but the beach and grilling…totally cool way to spend the day.

  4. Angelia Sims May 28, 2013 at 6:24 AM #

    Nice! I love the Pacific. It really is a mood changer. Glad you got to enjoy and boy oh boy that steak looks tasty. 🙂

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:16 PM #

      The steak was totally tasty. No A1 Steak Sauce necessary 🙂

  5. adinparadise May 28, 2013 at 11:01 AM #

    Glad you had a really great long weekend. That food looks scrumptious. 🙂

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:17 PM #

      It was so much better than expected and the food was pretty tasty. That corn rocked as did the steak 🙂

  6. 76sanfermo May 28, 2013 at 11:21 AM #

    This is a post I loved!
    The photos and story tell us about a happy family spending their weekend in a peaceful place and enjoying together the gifts of Nature….
    And those small feet…?
    And the snaks?
    Love,
    A.

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:18 PM #

      So glad you enjoyed it! Yeah I really like that tiny toes beach pictures. I wasn’t too sure when I took it, but it ended up being my favorite of the day 🙂 Have a great weekend my friend.

  7. lameadventures May 28, 2013 at 9:50 PM #

    Guat, it seems to me like you had a lovely staycation. Now, I’m craving grilled corn.

    • The Guat May 31, 2013 at 10:19 PM #

      Dude! That corn totally rocked it! It was a great snack to accompany my steak. I hope you did have some 🙂

Leave a Reply

