This One Is For The Ladies

6 May

“I love him and want to thank him for putting up with me.”

I recently heard this and for some reason it burned me out. In truth I’ve been hearing and seeing that phrase quite often.

What’s up with that?

It usually happens at anniversary parties or at birthday parties, or for some reason when I’m at the market waiting for Coupon Lady to finish up her transaction and I’m browsing the magazines. I see it and I wince.

For some reason chicks feel the need to utter the words, and I guess if you’re a real ball buster, money spending pain in the ass crazy PMS mood-swinging diva who can’t even boil an egg, well then maybe it’s true. But for this hard-working Guat the thought never occurred to me. It may be the fact that I think if I were a guy, I would totally be in love with me and be grateful for this Guatacular person that has come into my life who constantly makes me laugh.

I don’t consider myself a person that someone has to “put up with.” It probably dates back to the days when my high school coaches and teachers told me I was great. And I believed him. A couple of them even told me I was special and seeing how they were college educated and wise beyond their years I had no reason not to believe them. I heard guys say that all the time, but they were just smooth talkers trying to get me to go out with them. Can’t really trust what a hormone driven teenager has to say. You like it, but can you really trust it?

Maybe.

It may also be due to that fact that I read too much Anthony Robbins change your life kind of quotes so that I can jump-start my Shark-Week kind of day. It may be due to the fact that Steve Harvey says that kind of stuff about women all the time. Wherever it came from, I got it. That’s what I think.

I may not flaunt it with my Chapstick Girl kind of lifestyle, but it’s in there. Even if Budweiser Chick herself were standing next to me I’d still think I was pretty awesome. Running triathlons, Warrior Dashes and 1,400 stair climbs tends to boosts my confidence. The fact that my four-year old son tells me I’m good mom helps out too.

Now don’t get me wrong, being awesome hasn’t gone to my head. The family I grew up in makes sure nothing gets to my head. You stay so low to the ground you know you’re a Salt of Earth kind of person. But nevertheless I’ve got what my Latino people call caracter fuerte, which loosely translates to being a strong woman — I’ve got balls. But I’m not a crazy person, I know when to unleash The Hulk and when to stay dormant. I’m like one of those wild animals on National Geographic, majestic and beautiful, but ready to chase you down if you piss me off. I live by the law of the jungle. I know what I am and I know what I’m worth. Sometimes it makes me sad that chicks don’t.

And what is it that I am?

I know I am not a person someone has to “put up with”. I’m the kind that should be appreciated. And I’d like to think that there are other ladies out there that feel the same way. Not all the ladies because in truth I know there are some chicks out there making it hard on everybody. You know the kind that are married and their poor dude is no longer Emilio, Hector, or Esteban. They are Poor Emilio, Poor Hector, Poor Esteban. So I get it. I know that there are “put up with” kind of people. But I can assure you not everyone is like that … there are still awesome chicks out there. So if you are out there, I’m holding my glass up to you ladies because the Guat feels you.  I know you’re awesome too.

22 Responses to “This One Is For The Ladies”

  1. rarasaur May 6, 2013 at 11:58 PM #

    Haha! This was hilarious. Though I think most women just say that because it’s something to say, and women as a whole aren’t great at keeping speech simple. Which is to say, I don’t think it’s about being self-deprecating, I think it’s about sounding humble, and humbled, at the same time– and about rote speech patterns. Still and always– hurrah for being awesome! 😀

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 3:16 PM #

      I totally get the whole being humble situation. I get it. I know that some ladies just say that to be humble and not take credit for their whole awesomeness. I know. But sometimes there’s too much graciousness and not enough awesomeness going around. They should definitely be accepting the awesome praises and saying yeah-I-got-this-this-greatness-that’s-happening-is-because-of-me. But then again I know that there are chicks out there that don’t say that enough and they really should be 🙂

  2. allsho May 7, 2013 at 12:30 AM #

    I totally agree. I’ve realized that self-esteem, self-confidence are the key to respect in a family. Self-respect first of all, and then mutual respect.
    Unfortunately the “put up” thing is just one little drop in a sea of everyday lines and behaviours that speak of a woman’s inferiority in the couple geometry. And, as a male concerned, I thank you for pointing this one out.

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 3:23 PM #

      Yeah sometimes this is the issue as to why many women say this, and that is totally crazy. But most of the time it’s because they are being humble. For those ladies that are dealing with self-esteem issues I so wish they would quickly realize how awesome they are and that nobody really needs to “put up” with them, because they are the strength and backbone of everything. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Laura Bloomsbury May 7, 2013 at 12:49 AM #

    Another side-splitter – love your terminilogy too. I’m more of a ‘put up or shut up’ kind of a lady and believe everything hormonal boys once told me.

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 2:32 PM #

      I love those kinds of ladies. They tell it like it is … less mind games more time for awesomeness.

  4. bgddyjim May 7, 2013 at 1:10 AM #

    Were it not for my wife’s faults, she’d have picked a better man. There, I said the exact same thing about my wife. I just said it with a touch more class. At the same time my wife, like any wife, is an unbelievable pain in my ass. The mood swings, the inability to notice a whole forest in her eye for the splinter in mine… The reason people utter things like this is that it is of the utmost importance to recognize that while my spouse has her (or his) faults, without them she’d have picked better – a man (in my case) with fewer faults of his own. It’s the quick and nasty version of humility. 😉

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 2:46 PM #

      I’m all for being humble but I’ve noticed that a lot of awesome gracious people do that too much especially in situations when they really shouldn’t. They should enjoy the props on themselves for being so awesome. In turn there are people out there that should really be practicing humility and graciousness but it completely escapes them. Too much Ying and not enough Yang going around.

  5. Mocha May 7, 2013 at 5:17 AM #

    You have what those people (men say this too) that are using that term don’t have….confidence…I like your ‘hey this is me, I pretty awesome take it or leave it attitude’ sadly many do not have that…

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 3:04 PM #

      Thanks! That’s exactly what I’m talking about, hoping some ladies out there can get how great they are and how sometimes that little “put up with me” comment isn’t really necessary. I imagine at times (being humble when winning an Academy Award) it’s necessary, but then there are other times when it’s definitely not. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  6. 76sanfermo May 7, 2013 at 5:44 AM #

    Courage , consciousness , trust ……….
    Thank you , Guat , you showed your co-bloggers something precious!

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 2:35 PM #

      True that! Sometimes some women need a reminder that they are great … no need for that “put up with me” comment … then there are others who need a lesson in grace and humility. 🙂

  7. adinparadise May 7, 2013 at 11:26 AM #

    Amen, sister. I’m so with you on this one. I’m also awesome. 😀

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 2:33 PM #

      Glad someone out there gets the humor and the truth behind this post 🙂 Amen to that!

  8. Marcia Clarke May 7, 2013 at 6:18 PM #

    Oye Guat, that was hilarious. I am with you on this one. I am the kind of woman that most definitely feels that I should be appreciated, nobody’s second banana.

    • The Guat May 8, 2013 at 2:43 PM #

      Yes! I am so glad you are with me chica! So glad someone knows what I’m talking about! Azucaaaaaaaaaaaaaar!

  9. brickhousechick May 7, 2013 at 7:37 PM #

    Hola Guat! Great post. BTW, I nominated you for this silly award I made up. Check it out on my latest post. 🙂

    • The Guat May 8, 2013 at 2:44 PM #

      Thanks chica, so happy you enjoyed it. Glad I got a posse out there 🙂

      • brickhousechick May 8, 2013 at 2:53 PM #

        I hope you enjoy your award. 🙂

      • The Guat May 8, 2013 at 2:54 PM #

        Dude. I love gold stars. They are awesome.

  10. marydpierce May 8, 2013 at 2:00 PM #

    Hey, thanks for this awesome post. I’ve also heard women thank their significant other for “putting up” with them, to which I always wonder to myself – WTF?? I’ve always been the kind of woman who would say, “NOBODY puts Baby in the corner” about myself. And I am definitely married to a man who appreciates me for who I am.

    Fist bump, sista!!

    • The Guat May 8, 2013 at 2:47 PM #

      Oh my Gaaawwwwwwd! I am so glad you get it! I totally have WTF moments when I hear this. I think I heard it twice and then saw it again in a magazine that day and totally lost it so I had to just write about it. Ha! Love that you get where I’m coming from, LOVE IT!

      Fist bump, indeed. Back atcha!

Leave a Reply

