The Rematch … It’s On Devil’s Canyon … It’s So On. I’ve Got Backup This Time

2 May

It’s that time of year again … the time when I challenge my weary bones and muscles … the time of year when I pretend I can swim freestyle knowing full well that it never works and I just end up swimming the backstroke and floating my way to the finish line. It’s that time of year where I step out of the “mom” box and step into the badass frame of mind which lasts up to 24 hours, then I go back to being defeated. It’s … Tinman Triathlon time and Devil’s Canyon awaits.

Pinche Devil’s Canyon. It’s on … It is so on.

Image via Durtbagz.com

Image via Durtbagz.com

 

I’m counting down. I’ve got about two months to whip this Guat body into Tinman shape. Don’t get me wrong the Fight For Air Climb certainly put my quads where they belong, it’s just the rest of my body that needs to cooperate. Specifically, the old parts. The parts that take Glucosamine and something called CoQ10. But I’ve decided to add some yoga and stretching to the mix, because my lower back seems to be aging faster than any other part of my body. Although my knees are a close second, and I’m afraid I’m going to need both to conquer Devil’s Canyon. So if you have any pointers feel free to share them.

However this time, the Tinman experience will be different. The training will be different. I’ll have someone there. My son. My four-year old son has agreed to enter the Tiny Tots Tricycle Triathlon. A super miniature version of the race and I’m excited to see him cross the finish line.

This of course means that I’ll be doing double duty when training. I can’t really go at full speed when training with him, so I’ll have to do my training whenever I can get it. This usually means at the break of dawn, which sucks for a night person like myself, or it can happen in the dark of night where suspect people usually walk the streets and I have to keep my Hapkido skills on high alert. Win-win I guess, but at least I have one day during the weekends where I can get my muscles up to Tinman status.

My son is pretty much at Mini-Tinman status when it comes to biking and running. He’s pretty high energy all we have to do is extend the road he covers. However we do have to practice our swimming a bit more, so the Lightening McQueen floaties and goggles will be making an appearance.

We’re both excited about the event and all I’m hoping for is that he finishes the race. He doesn’t need to be first. He just needs to finish. As for me? I don’t need to be first either. I just need to conquer Devil’s Canyon. It kicked my ass last year and I’m hoping the incident doesn’t repeat itself. In truth all I want to do is finish my race before the Tiny Tinman race starts. I want to be at the starting line cheering him on and be part of his pit crew when he gets on his bike. So I definitely need to get into kick-Devil’s -Canyon’s-Ass Shape.  It’s a rematch. Definitely a “Thrilla in Manila” type of event.

Stay tuned.

 

Related Articles

 

13 Responses to “The Rematch … It’s On Devil’s Canyon … It’s So On. I’ve Got Backup This Time”

  1. bgddyjim May 3, 2013 at 8:12 AM #

    Here’s how I roll (my suggestion): I ride easy (short, only 16 miles, 48-52 minutes) all week long, then for my Saturday blowout I ride 12 miles, run 6 and then ride 18 home. Add a dip in the lake and I can do an Olympic length tri whenever I want. Good luck!

    • The Guat May 4, 2013 at 11:12 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude. Thanks for the tip. I’ll wake up early tomorrow for the long haul. Although I’ll have to work my way up to running six miles. 🙂

      • bgddyjim May 4, 2013 at 11:17 AM #

        Apparently I do too… Quit after five and walked one… The ride home was pretty awesome though. 😉

  2. Cayman Thorn May 4, 2013 at 6:52 AM #

    This promises to be a most excellent adventure. You’re spot on with your plans for incorporating yoga into the mix. Keep us tuned in…

    • The Guat May 4, 2013 at 11:11 AM #

      I totally hope it to be a really cool experience, but you never know. Thanks for the good vibes. And as for the yoga…dude I am totally on that because I need more than ibuprofen to help me out with my back. Devil’s Canyon is crazy. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. brickhousechick May 4, 2013 at 2:07 PM #

    How very impressive! I look forward to your blogging updates of your progress. Pictures, too! 🙂

    • The Guat May 5, 2013 at 6:17 PM #

      I’m so excited about this. It’s our first tag-team event. Hoping he enjoys it as much as I will. Definitely keep you posted.

  4. Island Traveler May 5, 2013 at 4:28 AM #

    I am so excited for you. You have a spirit of a warrior and a heart full of zest for life. Your adventures always inspires me. Advance Happy Mother’s Day!

    • The Guat May 5, 2013 at 6:15 PM #

      Thanks! I’m so excited about this and hope my son enjoys it. I’m more excited about his race than mine. It’s his first one and it’s our first big athletic even together. I’ll let you know how things pan out. And thanks for the early Mother Day salute. I needed that…tough day today. 🙂

  5. lameadventures May 6, 2013 at 7:54 PM #

    I have total confidence in you and Little Guat.

    • The Guat May 7, 2013 at 3:25 PM #

      Thanks! I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes 🙂

      • lameadventures May 7, 2013 at 6:07 PM #

        I’ll make sure to pop Aleve before reading those posts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Rematch Update 1: Getting To The Starting Line And I Think Yoga Is Going to Help Me | The Wish Factor - May 29, 2013

    […] The Rematch … It’s On Devil’s Canyon … It’s So On. I’ve Got Back… (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

