Sandbox List Adventure 10: The Tastiest Ten Minutes of the Day

25 Apr

I don’t know if every kid dreams about it, but I know they think about it. I used to think about it a lot, when I was five, six, seven … all the way to 37. Yup. To this day I think about it, and it makes me smile. However my dentist says it’s my weakness and charges me an obscene amount of money to fix my cavities. He says I may have to give it up. I say they need to work harder on inventing better toothpaste because there’s no way I’m giving it up. It’s like air. A necessity.

Milk. Cream. Sugar. Those are the basic ingredients.  I’ve had them on their own multiple times, but they are definitely best when they are churned together and frozen, sealed tight in a container … just waiting for me on aisle 7 of the supermarket. Dude. That’s the best. Ben & Jerry’s. They are geniuses … geniuses I tell you! My kids are aware of this phenomenon and always look forward to birthday parties because ice cream is usually one of the side dishes. And even though I get to have some secretly once or twice a week, it’s something that my kids may get once a month. You know, I’m trying to develop healthy eaters.

So when we were driving home from the book festival this weekend and I asked my son what he wanted for dinner I was surprised by his answer, but even more surprised by my own.

“What do you want for dinner?” I asked as a red light stopped us in front of a 31 Flavors.

“Ice cream.”

“Ice cream? You can’t have ice cream for dinner.”

“Why not?”

“It’s not good for you. It’s only supposed to be a treat once in a while, and usually after your meal.”

“I have not had ice cream in a long, long, long while and I already had my snack.”

“You haven’t had dinner.”

“Ice cream can be dinner.”

I paused, thinking about my college days.

“So can we have ice cream for dinner?”

I thought about his Sandbox List Adventures and nodded.

“Yeah, I guess you can. Just for today.”

Dude. The woo-hoo was like a SuperBowl touchdown with two seconds to go in overtime kind of woo-hoo. It was a pretty big one. So I turned the corner and drove the car into the 31 Flavors parking lot to begin our Sandbox List Adventure.

 

We arrived and the seatbelts couldn't be taken off fast enough.

We arrived and the seatbelts couldn’t be taken off fast enough.

 

There were many options to choose from and I was sure he was going to fancy it up.

There were many options to choose from and I was sure he was going to fancy it up. I know I was thinking about it.

 

When he saw these I thought ... dude it's on. He's most definitely going to ask for one of these.

When he saw these I thought … dude it’s on. He’s most definitely going to ask for one of these.

 

And while he was contemplating his cone purchase I was contemplating a cake purchase. Oreo cookies make for a great cake accessory.

And while he was contemplating his cone purchase I was contemplating a cake purchase. Oreo cookies make for a great cake accessory.

 

But before he decided we did a little taste testing.

But before he decided, we did a little taste testing.

 

With all the available choices he decided on a cup. Chocolate chip with chocolate sprinkles. Dude. He definitely takes after me.

And it was funny, with all the available choices, he decided on a cup. Chocolate chip with chocolate sprinkles. Dude. He definitely takes after me.

 

His sister didn't really have a choice, but was definitely enjoying the Cookies N' Cream.

His sister didn’t really have a choice, but was definitely enjoying the Cookies N’ Cream.

 

It was the fastest dinner they have ever eaten. There was no fighting. No spoon dropping. No reminders to finish eating. Just concentration and focus, in addition to a lot of smiles and spoons dancing around in creamy cool deliciousness. In fact I had to tell them to slow down. I didn’t want to deal with their first brain freeze. I told them they had to eat slowly and enjoy it. The adventure lasted about ten minutes, but it was the tastiest ten minutes they had all day.

 

 

8 Responses to “Sandbox List Adventure 10: The Tastiest Ten Minutes of the Day”

  1. bgddyjim April 26, 2013 at 1:54 AM #

    I love doing stuff like that with my kids… It drives my wife nuts when I do, but sometimes the kids have to know that it’s not such a big deal to let the hair down. Great post.

    • The Guat May 4, 2013 at 10:55 AM #

      Yeah. I remind myself to loosen up and forget about the crazy mom schedule. Letting your hair down is awesome and I try to do that kind of stuff often … you know so that I get less stress 🙂

  2. 76sanfermo April 26, 2013 at 5:35 AM #

    Great post , yes , and I enjoyed it , as if I were there , seeing your happy kids , with their delicious cups!

    • The Guat May 4, 2013 at 10:56 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude. They didn’t even see it coming and they were ecstatic!

  3. Po' Girl Shines April 28, 2013 at 1:07 PM #

    OMG, the best blog post ever! I scream for ice cream!

    • The Guat May 2, 2013 at 12:11 AM #

      HA! Thanks! My kids totally loved it. I figure every once in a while I gotta loosen up. It helps everybody 🙂

  4. Island Traveler May 5, 2013 at 4:33 AM #

    Love it. Ice cream and sweets, both are my weakness. Yesterday we visited Blue Bell ice cream factory. Tour was over but the ice cream store had 15 minutes to spare. They better. We travelled 1 hour for it.

    • The Guat May 5, 2013 at 6:12 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude. I so would have been upset if the store wasn’t open either. One hour drive … definitely visiting the store afterwards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

