Serenity Now

3 Apr
Image via LeFunny.net

Image via LeFunny.net

Yes. I found this to be true. Very true, which is probably the reason why I decided to take on the 21-Day Meditation Challenge a while back. I wanted to stop having George Costanza moments whenever I encountered stupid people. I don’t know why they irritated me so much, but they did. And I knew these people multiplied so I had to find a way of dealing with them without adding stress and aggravation to my life. So when the challenge came my way via a friendly email, I thought why not.

I finished the challenge this week and in truth I found so much peace in a couple of sessions that I meditated myself into a deep sleep and I guess that can be a good thing. Relaxation and peace are the ultimate goals and sleeping is the most relaxed and peaceful state I’ve experienced. So I gave myself a B+. I would have gotten an A had I stayed awake.

But that’s not the only reason for my B+ status. I didn’t quite master the art of emptying my mind until day 12. I imagine it had a lot to do with the endless to-do lists, my life lists, my rejection letters, my bills, my kids crankiness prior to bed, my excitement for what was waiting for me on my DVR, my attempt at trying to find humor in my latest personal disaster, my random ideas for another story, or my latest encounter with stupid people and how frustrated I was that they were still popping into my head. It’s busy up there.  I had a lot emptying to do, luckily I was able to make it happen by the half-way point and I reaped the full benefits of his whole meditation shindig.

And after 21 days, is there a difference?

Well, I still have Costanza moments, but they have simmered down a bit. I think being able to sit in the quiet, to reflect, to say my mantras, and to empty my mind has helped. I’m improving my perfect health portfolio which tends to include mental health, peace and inner well-being. Although chocolate is still a pretty amazing Zen experience too. But this whole meditation situation added a little balance without the calories. It added my serenity now moment, without the yelling and hostility. It tamed the Costanza in me, but let’s not get crazy … he’s still there. He just goes on hiatus every now and then — attempting to master his anger management skills and cope with the existence of brainless people.

7 Responses to “Serenity Now”

  1. TBM April 4, 2013 at 5:07 AM #

    Hey a B+ is fantastic. I would have received a D–. I have such a hard time with these projects. My therapist once signed me up for a stress management class. The first day I had to pretend I was a tree and I could feel the sun moving up my tree trunk. Everyone in the class was in the tree zone. Not me. So I started to panic, why can’t I pretend I’m a tree. I told my therapist the class was too stressful me.

    • The Guat April 9, 2013 at 11:27 PM #

      HA! I love it! I know that at the time it probably wasn’t funny. But they way you retell it is awesome. I could never pretend to be a tree. I am so grateful that this meditation process doesn’t require it. 🙂

  2. lameadventures April 5, 2013 at 10:32 AM #

    Guat, a self-imposed B+ is much better than the C- I got in a yoga class I took in college in San Francisco back in 1980 that wreaked havoc with my GPA. Picking up on TBM’s tree theme, one of the positions we did in class was called The Tree. If you’re unfamiliar with it, it’s a stance where your arms are raised over your head with the palms pressed together while you press one foot into the thigh of your leg. Basically, it’s a balancing act. I fell over and joked, “This should be called ‘timber’!” That snarky observation amused many of my fellow classmates, but it pissed off the yoga master. He declared that I was so lacking in karma, “You belong in a place like New York City!” I like to say that one of the reasons I moved to Gotham in 1982, where I continue to thrive, is because I’m so un-karmatic.Considering your struggles with going zen, I think you’d blend in well in the Big Apple. Still, the price of meditation is a lot less than a 50 minute hour. You seem to have nailed the skill, so you might consider continuing your mastery of it. It might come in handy before you take on your upcoming stair-climbing challenge.

    • The Guat April 9, 2013 at 11:40 PM #

      Ha! I love this story. I had no idea a yoga instructor had prompted your arrival to New York … lacking karma? Dude being a tree has nothing to do with karma. Karma is karma and I know that you knew that for sure. I think that yoga instructor was lacking karma. Like I said to TBM I’m so thankful that this meditation challenge didn’t require anything involving a tree. And you are absolutely right! I am definitely going to continue my “mastery” of it. It helps … especially when things in parenthood or relationship realm don’t go as planned. 🙂

  3. Cayman Thorn April 5, 2013 at 4:34 PM #

    You’re way too hard on yourself, lady. I know where you’re coming from because I was thirty something once. But lemme tell you this. Forty six? It’s freaking amazing. I’m having the time of my freaking life up here. Long story short, the weather’s all good. Just so long as you keep the rhythm and the dreams.
    Go short on the self critiques, though. You’re doing just fine.

    • The Guat April 9, 2013 at 11:46 PM #

      Thanks for the encouragement. I really appreciate it. It’s good to hear that things get better because sometimes it sure doesn’t feel that way. But I thank you my friend for giving me a flashlight so I can turn it on when the tunnel gets dark over here.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happiness Project Update 24: Stopping the Autopilot | The Wish Factor - April 16, 2013

    […] have breakfast with my kids all at the same time. Then it sort of hit me while I was doing my 21-day Meditation Challenge last month.  I thought … what a jackass. If someone was doing all those things while I was […]

Leave a Reply

