63 Stories

1 Apr

The countdown is on … Five days.

I got five days until the big race. The Big Climb, actually, and my quads feel like Randy Macho Man Savage‘s, but in reality they look like toothpicks. Really strong toothpicks, though. The big beefy kind that you get at a steak house, but no matter the size, they’re going to take me to the rooftop of the second tallest skyscraper in the city. I might not finish first, but I’m gonna haul ass and do my best to finish strong … even if it’s to finish at the top of my “age rage”. You gotta be happy finishing at the top of your “age range” right? I mean that’s how they level the playing field. But you also hope that you kick some 21-year-old butt and that a 65 year-old Muscle & Fitness Athlete of the Year type of chick doesn’t leave you in the dust. That’s all you really hope for right? Well, that and not falling up the stairs and causing pedestrian traffic.

So am I ready? Is Team Guat ready? Have I been training?

Most people have been putting up training logs on their fundraising page. I guess as evidence that they’re not slacking off — evidence that they’re committed and that people’s donations are pumping up their spirits to finish faster. I don’t need to be doing that … my people have faith in me. They know that if I say I’m going to do something, I will slather myself up and down with BenGay in order to get it done. I will run at around my neighborhood at 9 o’clock at night, hit the bleachers at the local high school on weekends, and storm my parents’ wooden staircase when the weather (or time) does not permit me to go outside. I work out. I’m prepared. I’ll get all Rocky Balboa on them.

But regardless of the workout, my Guat spirit is getting it done. It’ll get me to the top. I don’t know if I’ll still be sprinting by the time I get to the 40th floor with 20+ more floors to go, but I’ll still be moving. I’ve got the iPod loaded and my knees fortified with Glucosamine … well my knees could probably use a little more lubrication, but I think they’re used to the wear and tear going on around here. Ice packs and BenGay are common household items. I stock up. I should be, I know this little challenge is gonna require a lot of TLC when I’m done.

What’s ahead of me? 63 stories. About 1,400 steps. Now knowing this doesn’t necessarily make it better. In fact it may cause even more nerves because of the crazy number itself, but I tell myself that it can only help me. When I feel like I’ve done enough working out for the day I think … it’s 1,400 pinche steps. Holy Crap!  I could use another ten minutes of burn. So I take a deep breath, raise up the volume on my little iPod and keep running, keep stepping, keep lunging. Don’t know if that extra time is gonna help, but I’m sure I’ll find out.

.

.

And you’d figure with all this sweat and working out that I’d at least lose a few pounds or that my pants would fit looser, but I’m still racking up the same numbers and my stomach is still the stomach of a mother of two — no Shape & Fitness models up in here. I just tell myself that my legs are getting most of the lean muscle. It’s the silver lining.

I also remember that I wasn’t in it to lose weight, I’m never in it for that. I’m in it to honor my dad. I’m in it to raise money for the American Lung Association and help others with lung disease. I’m in it to reach the top.  I’m in it for the challenge that 63 stories can bring to my Ben-Gay loving body and knees.

10 Responses to “63 Stories”

  1. adinparadise April 2, 2013 at 11:01 AM #

    Good luck to you, TG, and what good reasons you have to do this. I’m sure you’ll do your dad proud, and those depending on that American Lung Association. 🙂

    • The Guat April 4, 2013 at 10:16 AM #

      Thanks so much. My family and friends donated more than I expected so it really made me happy to think they liked my dad (and me) so much. It was a very cool feeling and we’ll see how it goes … I got two days to go and will be sure to post when I eventually reach the top and recover 🙂

  2. Cayman Thorn April 2, 2013 at 6:27 PM #

    You’re gonna take those 63 stories as if Stephen King on a writing tear. I’m rooting for you, girl.

    • The Guat April 3, 2013 at 12:30 AM #

      Thanks for the awesome words of encouragement. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes. 🙂

      • Cayman Thorn April 3, 2013 at 4:03 AM #

        Please do. I’m intrigued as per this challenge. It’s not the same old. I might have to try it.

  3. lameadventures April 3, 2013 at 9:55 PM #

    63 stories is comprised of 14,000 steps? Really Guat? That many? Did I miss something here? The Empire State Building is 102 stories and it has 1,860 steps. However many steps you do climb when you take on these 63 stories, it would certainly seem like 14,000 to me. Good luck!

    • The Guat April 4, 2013 at 10:22 AM #

      Yeah … I don’t do the math. That’s what it said on the sign-up sheet. Maybe California buildings have more stairs to work off all the chocolate people are eating out here. I don’t know … but however many there are I’m just gonna stomp to the rhythms of my little iPod until I reach the top. Thanks for the luck I am definitely gonna need it come the 30th floor. 🙂

      • lameadventures April 4, 2013 at 10:52 AM #

        I’d need luck and very likely an ambulance come the third floor.

    • The Guat April 7, 2013 at 12:09 AM #

      Duuuuuuude. I double checked the steps today … it appears it was 1,400 steps not 14,000 … there was an extra zero that shouldn’t have been there … although it did seem like 14,000. I’ll let you know how my knees feel on Monday 🙂

      • lameadventures April 7, 2013 at 10:54 AM #

        Glad that’s cleared up Guat! I can comfortably climb about 14. By now, this race is probably over. I have confidence in you and I’m sure that you reached the top.

Leave a Reply

