Checking Your Crazy at the Door Makes Legoland Better

27 Mar

The hope. The anticipation. The excitement. It all started with a jar and ended with a smile and a couple of do-it-yourself souvenirs.

It was a marathon of kid excitement that involved a lot of walking, waiting, and sunscreen. But luckily my new meditation challenges have instilled a little more patience in me, so I’m less likely to be annoyed among the hundreds of wild preschoolers and Nickelodeon watching kids that flock to this kid Mecca. That’s right … The Guat is a proud parent survivor of LEGOLAND.

Normally we plan to attend the park on a weekday when the place is a little less crowded and the lines are little shorter. But since we were in San Diego for my friend’s wedding that weekend, where the death of my feet began because someone invented high heels and I was stupid enough to wear them, we decided to venture off to LEGOLAND the day after the wedding. We were all about doubling up on adventures, because the drive is always jam-packed with traffic and stupid drivers. And don’t even get me started on expensive gas prices. So with all this to consider, we brought the kids to the wedding, with my cousin — the babysitter — to watch them in the hotel room, between her massive texting and Facebook  status notifications. And while the happy couple was off to Maui for their honeymoon The Guats and company were off to LEGOLAND hoping to survive the weekend crowds. Yeah that’s right this time I had some support on this parenting adventure as my good friend Gloria and her family joined us.

But in truth, even with the comadre support I was still a little stressed out, because like any crazy mom I wanted to get there as soon as the doors opened. Seeing how our hotel was five minutes away from the park I was hoping to take advantage of the proximity, but plans always go awry. Stuff like eating a well-balanced breakfast to start off the day slows you down. But I remembered my go-with-the-flow meditation mantra and it proved to totally help hide my crazy.

And trust me when you’re surrounded by that many kids, that many rides and games, and that much potential for fun, you gotta be able to check your crazy mom schedule at the door, which I know is hard for moms because we all know that sticking to the schedule makes everything easier on you later as the afternoon and night progress. For every action there is an equal an opposite reaction. Newton. Genius … total genius.

This is why the schedule exists, but at LEGOLAND you learn that there are no schedules. It’s a go with the flow environment and in truth I’m usually that kind of chick, but when it comes to the kids I get a little crazy, which is why I probably have more gray hair now. You can’t really go with the flow with kids every day, all hell will break loose. But I’m happy to say that on Sunday, I checked my crazy at the door, and the LEGOLAND experience was a better one because of it.

 

This is his jar that starts off the LEGOLAND adventure every year.

This is his jar that starts off the LEGOLAND adventure every year.

 

I wasn't about to sit there and roll up all that change.

I wasn’t about to sit there and roll up all that change.

 

CoinStar … my savior. It counted …

5  Dollar Coins.

1 Half Dollar.

479 Quarters.

304 Dimes.

178 Nickels.

686 Pennies.

Totaling $171.41.

Admiring the scene and enjoying he moment as the parents getting it together and loading the stroller.

Admiring the scene and enjoying the moment as the parents get it together and load the stroller.

 

The friendly locals.

The friendly locals.

 

One of his favorite attractions.

One of his favorite attractions.

 

While her brother was getting his Junior Volvo driving license, she was busy checking out the stationary cars.

While her brother was getting his Junior Volvo driving license, she was busy checking out the stationary cars.

 

After driving school we decided to check out their new Pirate water attraction where we proceeded to get soaked.

After driving school we decided to check out their new Pirate water attraction where we proceeded to get soaked.

 

 Then we headed off to The Land of Adventure where they rode on all the rides at  least three times each. This one was our  favorite -- the giant slide.

Then we headed off to The Land of Adventure where they rode on all the rides at least three times each.

 

This one was our favorite -- the giant slide.

This one was our favorite — the giant slide.

 

After all the walking we ended up in the gift shop to buy firefighter Legos. But the best prizes were the two Angry Birds he won at the throwthe

After all the walking we ended up in the gift shop to buy firefighter Legos. But the best prizes were the two Angry Birds my son won at the throw-baseballs-and-knock-down-the-clowns-with-the-crazy-red-hair game. There was a lot of woo-hooing.

 

7 Responses to “Checking Your Crazy at the Door Makes Legoland Better”

  1. klsprout March 28, 2013 at 10:09 AM #

    Good for you! I admire your calmness under pressure.

  2. The Hook March 28, 2013 at 12:52 PM #

    I want to go to LEGOLAND!

    • The Guat March 29, 2013 at 10:43 PM #

      🙂 You’d like it. Once I got to the giant slide it was all good. 🙂

  3. Angelia Sims March 28, 2013 at 7:24 PM #

    Oh what LOADS of fun!! I have heard the one near San Diego is the best! We have a mini-version in Dallas, but I haven’t tried it. Great shots! And great fun. I LOVE coin star! 🙂

    • The Guat March 28, 2013 at 9:48 PM #

      Dude you most definitely need to try it. Yeah the down here is pretty cool they’ve got something for every little kid here, including crazy moms.

  4. Island Traveler March 30, 2013 at 2:30 AM #

    Wow! You went to Legoland. It is a dream playland for most little boys. I could really imagine the excitement and joy on your son’s face as he went around the park, winning those Angry birds stuff, trying each ride. Yes, it gets crazy on weekends but seeing how happy our children are seemed to wash all those stress away. I got lucky when we went to Florida Legoland on a weekday. We got time to just enjoy pretty much everything. It was hot though and I swear each water feature seemed to say, “jump in.”

    • The Guat March 30, 2013 at 2:57 PM #

      Ahhhh totally thought about you when I was over there. I knew you would probably enjoy the post and the picture of the friendly locals. Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

