Happiness Project Update 22: The Food Network Adventure Begins

21 Feb

This is where failure usually happens. You think being 37, I’d be used to it by now and maybe even immune to it, but no. It still stings. Even though there is an abundance of chocolate covering every stumble and fall, it’s not easy “finding the lesson” when things don’t go the way you hoped. But when things work out, it’s definitely a do-a-cartwheel feeling.

“Do what you do.”

Pursuing a passion. I’ve got lots of these, and thanks to The Happiness Project I’ve been able to do many cartwheels this year and last year, most of them involving sports or other adventures requiring BenGay afterward, like the triathlons, and The Warrior Dash. But I think this chapter may be asking me to pursue a passion I haven’t done yet.

Image via happiness-project.com

Image via happiness-project.com

And I wondered, well other than sports, writing, television, movies and books what else am I passionate about that I haven’t explored? I’ve dedicated parts of my Happiness Project these last couple of months to plenty of athletic adventures that made me feel genuinely happy and not just momentarily, but the whole entire day. It was an emotional high and it had nothing to do with chocolate. It was just the rush of being successful and accomplishing something I set out to do.

That pushed the reset button on my life and I decided … yeah I want that feeling. Pictures are great, but I soooooo want to bottle that up and open it and relive those feelings for when one of those crappy days rolls around and slaps me in the face. So I continued my athletic adventures. I’ve enrolled in a beginners roller derby class and registered for an urban climbing race, which also benefits the American Lung Association. I’m on a mission to do an athletic adventure at least once month and maybe I won’t need that special bottle.

I continue to write as that is one of my biggest passions and I get a great sense of satisfaction every night when hit that “publish” button on my blog. I feel like I did something. Just the other day I reached the 400-posts mark and it felt good to reach that number. I didn’t tell anyone, but I didn’t need to in order to feel fantastic, the Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream which involved chocolate was reward enough. Plus I’ve got to admit, I patted myself on the back and gave myself a gold star.

Movies and television I am so on top of that. In fact I may be too on top of that. Some people say it’s not that great to watch a lot of television or movies, but I say why not? Television and movies are awesome. Sometimes they provide escape, comic relief, or inspiration and I’m always for that.

But this chapter inferred I pursue something new, or something I hadn’t done yet.

“What you choose to do on a free Saturday afternoon is an indication of your passion.”

Normally the answer to that involves, sports, working out, television or movies. But there were two things that came to mind. Food and travel. I’m all about food. I love it. I enjoy it. I look forward to it. I savor every bite. Sometimes I even dream about it. And the calories? C’mon now. It’s me The Guat. Calories don’t matter, I just walk it off or buy bigger pants. And travel? If I had any money I would being traveling places at least once a month, but since I’m a poor writer all I do is travel to the supermarket with coupons and dream while I’m in line. But I could make travel possible, even if it’s just for a weekend.

So there it was, I found my answers. But in order for the chapter to work, I’d have to choose just one and seeing how I’m financially challenged, food would probably be the better choice. And what an awesome second choice, right? Who doesn’t love food? And I could probably travel to places through food, right?

So in addition to my other projects I’ve decided to pursue food. Eating it mostly, but cooking it of course. I’ve decided to try a new recipe once a week. I’m really not one for following cookbook recipes since I’m a big Food Network fan, but I’ll take the recipes from wherever I can find them. Julia Childs cookbook, Authentic Guat recipes cookbooks, Tyler Florence, Bobby Flay, Emeril, Paula Dean, or any of the cooks featured on the network. But I’m not going to fool myself into getting a Rachel Ray recipe and thinking I can do it in thirty minutes. Because I’ve learned the hard way. That chick is lying. It takes at least an hour.

But no matter how long it takes I’ll finish. Whether it’s baking or sautéing, I’m on a new adventure. It’s culinary and it will probably involve chocolate. Oooooh. Maybe in every dish. Stay tuned because the Food Network Adventure begins.

8 Responses to “Happiness Project Update 22: The Food Network Adventure Begins”

  1. TBM February 22, 2013 at 2:23 AM #

    I’m excited to hear all about it. And I subscribe to the theory, “Just buy bigger pants.” Oh and when i moved to London i packed a few tubes of Bengay since i wasn’t sure they’d have it here. Don’t tell anyone that.

    • The Guat February 22, 2013 at 10:07 AM #

      Ha! You crack me up. No worries I won’t tell anyone and I’m so glad you subscribe to the same theory. Dude I should have titled my post The Just Buy Bigger Pants Theory. That would have been a good one. I still got time though to write something on that. 🙂

  2. marydpierce February 22, 2013 at 11:23 AM #

    I actually own that book but I haven’t done anything other than skim the first chapter. I need to work on that. As for cartwheels, they scare the living crap out of me. I loved doing them when I was a kid; I did them with such wild, enthusiastic abandon then (one might say I had a passion for them). Alas, I can’t seem to make myself even try one now. The whole being a lot taller now than I was at 7 gets in my way – I worry about landing on my neck and snapping it like a twig. Which would be a bummer.

    Congratulations on hitting 400 posts!

    • The Guat February 28, 2013 at 11:05 AM #

      Thanks for the congrats. You know I saw this book a couple of times in at the Barnes&Noble before I actually bought it. I tend to stay away from all the “be happy in your life” books. But something different about this one. And it took a really crappy day for me to purchase it and after that I just dove right in. Now I’m not saying I’m crazy Mary Poppins bouncing off the wall happy every day, but I can say that there is definite improvement. I do a cartwheel every now and then. But you can always try mini cartwheels you know the kind kids do when they’re just starting out and they do it sideways. 🙂 Hey let me know what you think when you start reading. She’s actually a pretty good writer.

  3. lameadventures February 22, 2013 at 9:14 PM #

    You sound inspired. If I recall correctly didn’t Little Guat don an imaginary chef’s hat and make cookies? Perhaps he can be your sous-chef?

    • The Guat February 28, 2013 at 11:08 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. He can totally be my sous-chef. My first recipe calls for something chocolately I found on the Network. It’s Paula Dean so you know it’s gonna have a lot of butter. I’ve never made bread pudding. Wish me luck … it’s chocolate bread pudding. I might need to buy some big stretchy pants after this adventure 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happiness Project Update 23: Extending Deadlines and Plan B | The Wish Factor - March 8, 2013

    […] Happiness Project Update 22: The Food Network Adventure Begins (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Happiness Project Final Update: I’ve Learned to Embrace the George Costanza Phase of My Life | The Wish Factor - July 12, 2013

    […] Happiness Project Update 22: The Food Network Adventure Begins […]

Leave a Reply

