Christmas Starts A Little Too Early

25 Nov

I don’t know why it irritated me. It shouldn’t have, I mean it really wasn’t any of my business.  I mean people should get into the spirit, right? But … dude … when your Thanksgiving leftover turkey isn’t even in the fridge? C’mon now. I’d expect this from places like the mall, but not a neighbor’s house. Although I could expect anything from the redhead in 2B.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m all for the Christmas spirit, but what’s up with this holiday interrupting the Thanksgiving spirit. I mean not that I want to savor the dysfunctional family moments of the gobble-gobble feast, but let me enjoy the “what-I’m-thankful-for” moments without hearing jingle bells. I mean sometimes the holiday even infringes on the Halloween spirit. Decorations going up everywhere while Jack-O-Lanterns are still out.

But the redhead in 2B waited until Thanksgiving night to put up her decorations. By Friday morning she had her Merry Christmas sign posted on the door, her Christmas tree in the window, her garlands wrapped around the staircase, stockings hanging, and her “Santa Clause is Coming to Town” tune blaring.

Image via christmaswow.com

I blame this on Black Friday. The insanity of the Christmas season is upon us where shoppers go wild and neighbors go to crazy lengths to try to outdo each other on the best decorated house. The redhead in 2B has set the stage. I can’t wait until the mom in 3A sets up her Merry Christmas. It’s an awesome battle of Fa-la-la-la-la spirit where Mariah Carey’s Christmas CD battles Josh Groban’s Christmas collections, and where the Michael’s store makes out the best because both ladies shop there all the time. What happened to simple decorations and ornaments made out of Popsicle sticks that made their appearance on December 1st?

I like to begin my decorating process in December. I feel like October belongs to Halloween, November belongs to Thanksgiving, and Christmas should really stay in December. But that’s just me. Some people … they can’t wait. The spirit comes early and the competition for the best house begins. Redhead in 2B has got a jump on the neighborhood. But I keep myself out of it. I’m not much for Christmas competitions, but I always enjoy the Martha Stewart and Clark Griswold efforts of everyone in the neighborhood. Well … everyone that starts after November.

 

5 Responses to “Christmas Starts A Little Too Early”

  1. Day Today Dating November 26, 2012 at 11:49 AM #

    I don’t mind people decorating for Christmas early. I love the holiday spirit, and people should be able to enjoy it for as long as possible :).

    – K.

  2. Octavia's Vintage November 26, 2012 at 1:39 PM #

    I’m on the fence with this. We currently live with my mother in law and she seems to decorate earlier and earlier for Christmas every year. I rather like seeing autumn decor a bit longer before hearing Christmas songs and seeing a tree up for two months. It’s probably because I lived in New England for 30 years and saw too many winters for too many months. Having some semblance of spring and fall to me, is a good thing. They are short lived seasons in my life. : )

    • The Guat November 28, 2012 at 5:33 PM #

      They short lived most definitely all these holidays creeping up and shortening the spirit of the season. But I understand some people wanting to get all festive.

  3. thoughtsofthewanderingkind December 2, 2012 at 4:02 PM #

    Personally, I love celebrating Christmas as early as possible. Coincidentally, I’m also a redhead. Perhaps these two things have some sort of correlation..

    Funny post!

  4. adinparadise December 19, 2012 at 12:52 PM #

    I don’t think Christmas decorations should be put up before December 1st. I can’t even think about Christmas until my calendar says, “December.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

