Weekly Image Of Life: October Magic

13 Oct

 

Insanity and chaos in the Superhero aisle of the Party City Costume store.

Overpriced pumpkin carving tools.

Crowded pumpkin patches with smelly petting zoos.

Pumpkin membranes and seeds all over your clothes, shoes, hair, walls and floors. They’re everywhere. Everywhere!

Your Jack-O-Lantern not really looking like a Jack-O-Lantern.

Walking for over an hour to strangers houses just to get a KitKat.

Watching It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown the week before Halloween, on the day before Halloween, on Halloween, and the day after Halloween. I’m surprised the DVD isn’t broken.

However, all of this is well worth it. It’s magic …  the magic of hanging out with my four-year old and one-year old. It’s October Magic.

 

 

.

 

Host of Weekly Image of Life Challenge: This Man’s Journey

 

15 Responses to “Weekly Image Of Life: October Magic”

  1. Thestrugglershandbook October 13, 2012 at 11:24 PM #

    Frankly, I’m glad my kids are grown and the Bataan death marches through the neighborhood every October are over. I do appreciate that you enjoy the time with your children, however. And I do miss the Kitkats…

    • The Guat October 17, 2012 at 9:51 AM #

      Yeah I’m actually trying to get as much out of it as I can, because I know that when they get older I’ll probably be missing some of these moments.

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond October 14, 2012 at 3:10 AM #

    Love It’s The Great Pumpkin and you brought back so many great memories for me–I do remember those days of newspapers swathing my kitchen floor and pumpkin seeds and gunk everywhere–enjoy these days and thanks for the pic above

    • The Guat October 17, 2012 at 9:52 AM #

      I do love the Great Pumpkin, I know I kid around about watching all month long, but it cracks me up. I love Linus, he’s a dreamer. 🙂 The pumpkin seeds … well I could do without the orange disaster but the kids seem to like it 🙂

      • on thehomefrontandbeyond October 17, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

        Linus and Charlie Brown are my favourites – Linus precisely because he is a dreamer and Charlie because he really is sweet

  3. susielindau October 14, 2012 at 8:41 AM #

    I love this Guat!
    I have to watch The Great Pumpkin every year. It makes me all warm inside!
    Happy October!

    • The Guat October 17, 2012 at 9:55 AM #

      Thanks! I love watching The Great Pumpkin too. This was one of my favorite scenes because Linus is awesome. The one that makes me laugh too is Charlie Brown and his “…oh…I got a rock.” poor Charlie. I’d give him a KitKat.

      • susielindau October 17, 2012 at 10:51 AM #

        You would! Poor Charlie Brown. We can all relate!

  4. claywatkins October 14, 2012 at 11:15 AM #

    I laughed, no, I snorted which is a laugh of sorts when I saw the Great Pumpkin picture. I love Charlie Brown and the Great Pumpkin. I love fall, pumpkins, leaves, and trick or treating.. thanks have a great day, make it count!

    • The Guat October 17, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

      Ahhhhhhh Clay…I love when you stop by. Yeah anytime I see the Great Pumpkin I know it’s October. Crazy Linus, gotta love ’em. I love watching my son’s face when we go trick or treating it’s in the “wow this is amazing” face. Too funny. As always I will try to make the day count. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. island traveler October 15, 2012 at 1:01 AM #

    Love it. Its a joy to see and feel the magic from another parent’s eyes, of how amazing , fun, colorful, even crazy yet irresistible exciting world it is to be around our little kids. Last year, it was chaotic inside Children’s Museum doing trick or treating. Hundreds of screaming kids running everywhere. I thought I was going to pass out but them looking at other parents faces I told myself, “Oh, they look like me too.” But in the end, we realize how fun and happy it had been and in a heart beat will do it all over again. Thanks for sharing these.

    • The Guat October 17, 2012 at 10:02 AM #

      That often happens when we got out trick-or-treating or we’re in the crazy costume store. Some parents look like you and know the day you’re having, and they give you the nod. Other parents are just a little bit too crazy and you try to stay away from them. But you’re right in the end it is all worth it because I hope he’ll remember the good times.

  6. Darla Welchel October 15, 2012 at 9:11 AM #

    I take it you are not a fan of Halloween or all its trappings? LOL
    I so understand this love/hate relationship. 🙂

    • The Guat October 17, 2012 at 10:06 AM #

      Actually I am a fan of Halloween I just don’t like the crowds and the crazy parents at the costume stores. It’s a love hate relationship with crowds 🙂 But I do love The Great Pumpkin, Linus is awesome. But I could do without the pumpkin membranes sometimes I find remains under the table weeks later 🙂 But the kids seem to like it the carving part. I guess I just need more newspaper.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Image Of Life: Smile | this man's journey - October 19, 2012

    […] The Guat of  https://thewishfactor.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/weekly-image-of-life-october-magic/ […]

Leave a Reply

