What Happened to My Show? Writers Are TV Worthy Too.

8 Oct

Something’s missing.

They got The Voice, America’s Got Talent, The X Factor, American Idol, So You Think You Can Dance, Top Chef and a couple of other shows I’m sure that I haven’t mentioned where people showcase their talent in order to get a little bit closer to their dream.

Then you have crappy shows with a bunch of jackasses, families, and desperate housewives that aren’t really wives putting their drama and fake personalities out there just to get noticed. Just to get their 15 minutes when all they really need is 15 seconds.

As you can tell I’m more of a drama or comedy series type of person. I’m not a big fan of reality television or contest type of shows. However there is one that  I actually do watch occasionally: The Voice. The only reason why I watch it is because of that tall, blue-eyed country hunk Blake Shelton. He really does it for me. Adam Levine from Maroon 5 isn’t bad on the eyes either.

However something’s still missing, and I’m waiting.

I’m waiting for the writing show.

What’s up? Writers are people too. We’re interesting. We’re good-looking. We’ve got  talent. We’re dramatic and funny.

I’m waiting. I’m waiting for some Project Greenlight kind of magic to happen. Something where agent-less writers like myself who don’t know anybody in “the business” get a chance … a chance to get one step closer to their dream. Although Project Greenlight was more of a directing competition instead of the writer thing.

But I guess there’s a reason for that. Writers don’t want to be in front of the camera. We’re all good being behind the scenes, and it has nothing to do with the fact that we wear Costco sweatpants to our “office” a.k.a. the couch or Starbucks. It’s the writing process. It may not bring in the big ratings. A chick typing on her laptop in the middle of the night may not be as interesting as a family dealing with a sex-tape scandal and botox appointments.  I guess it would be hard to make the process of writing interesting for television viewers to watch. Most of the time we just sit there and stare at the screen. Although it may look like nothing, we’re actually doing a lot. Thinking.

Maybe that’s why blogging was invented. Maybe that’s why we’re on Word Press. It’s not a contest and it’s not reality television, however we look forward to making that Freshly Pressed page and getting the exposure. Our little 15 minutes of fame. But even without that there’s a lot of drama, comedy, tragedy, travel, and adventure out here in the “blogosphere.” And anybody can have access to it. Anybody, from anywhere can just click on your post and read. I mean even from places like Latvia.

Dude.

Latvia.

I had to look that one up on a map. I knew it was in Europe somewhere, but exactly where … didn’t have a clue. It’s near the Baltic Sea.

So I guess there’s a silver lining to not having a writer’s reality TV competition … no one will see you in your Costco sweatpants and no annoying TV Show host. Although I’d put up with an annoying cheesy smiling fake dude if it meant one step closer to the dream. But until then I got Word Press and the blogosphere, which apparently extends all the way to Latvia.

Giddy up!

9 Responses to “What Happened to My Show? Writers Are TV Worthy Too.”

  1. annablakeblog October 9, 2012 at 4:39 AM #

    One more thing… those of us who write usually read too, and we have read masterpieces by authors who have something to say and say it well. There is a courage involved in sitting in Costco sweats at 2 in the morning staring at a laptop- greater than it looks to others. It adds a bizarre edge to the game, if you ask me. But I am relieved it isn’t a reality show- it gives my a tiny shred of dignity. You know, in my own mind.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:44 PM #

      Courage in Costco sweatpants … I LOVE THAT! I should have that written on a plaque. Glad we think alike 🙂

  2. Paul October 9, 2012 at 8:51 AM #

    So where’s the Baltic Sea? I just felt the need to clarify a few of your assumptions about us writers. Though I do shop at Costco, I do not own a pair of Costco sweatpants. Nor any sweatppants! I write with pen an paper so at 2 am I am not staring at a blank screen but at a blank piece of paper. I sometimes write in jeans and button down shirt, sometimes naked. That would depend on what I am writing about. My wife is having an affair wth our neighbor, a retired doctor, who gives me free medical advice. Our children currently number around 10. I’m not quite sure. There is a young man who is currently living with us and says he is child number eight. He could be though he looks nothing like me. There is a slight resemblance to my wife, his supposed mother. The young lady he is shacked up with in our home is pregnant with what could be our 11th grandchild- if he is, indeed, the father. And if he is, indeed, our son. There is more, but I won’t bore you any longer.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 10:12 PM #

      Ha! You crack me up. I totally own a pair of Costco sweats … two. No sweats for you? What? I thought that was the writer uniform? I love the fact that you have the pen and paper it seems that it gives you lots of ideas.

  3. Cayman Thorn October 9, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

    Yeah, I’d be a lousy reality show person. My exchange with the cameraman would go something like this…..”Keep that f$%#ing off of me or I show you the Bronx.”. After which I would probably buy the guy Starbucks, just so there were no hard feelings.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

      Lousy … I would totally watch you. HA! Total gentleman from the Bronx … wouldn’t expect anything less of you.

  4. lameadventures October 9, 2012 at 8:09 PM #

    There are so many reality TV shows out there, there could one day be one about writers, but it might be called something like “The Hacks”.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:49 PM #

      The Hacks. I don’t know about that title, maybe Clickety,Clack, Courage in Costco Sweatpants. (clickety clack being striking the keys on the computer) What do you think?

      • lameadventures October 11, 2012 at 6:25 AM #

        I write on a Mac and I’m also hard of hearing, so if my keyboard makes a “clickety clack” sound I’m deaf to it. Now I’m thinking “Hacks on Macs” but I suppose that won’t work, either, since it excludes the millions of PC users. So, for me it’s back to Hacks.

Leave a Reply

