A Night With The Little Chefs

5 Oct

 

 

Usually Friday nights consist of Cars. Despicable Me, Madagascar, or The Lorax, followed by a lot of jumping around and hyperactive woo-hoos for the hero. Movie night. We do it twice a month and I’ve seen each of these movies at least five times. At least.

But tonight my son had a different plan.

Pizza night.

 

First step … hit the deli for our special ingredients.

 

 

“Mom, this does not look like pizza.”
“We have to cook it first. Make it into a pizza.”
“Ohhh … let’s get started!”

 

 

Other than eating, this is the part he enjoyed the most. There was flour everywhere. My one-year old daughter got into pizza baking too, however she just decided to be in charge of the flour. The flour throwing that is … on the table, on the floor and at the dog. Sometimes I wish we still had a DustBuster.

 

 

I told him that he needed muscles for this part of the pizza making — that perhaps maybe mom should do this part of cooking.
“Mom, I got muscles. Let me show you.”

 

 

I was hoping to guide him during this phase of the cooking, however he felt the need to be Top Chef. His sister … still throwing flour.

 

 

 

We had a little over a pound of shredded cheese. My son felt the need to use all of it. I mentioned that he might want to save some for later. He just shook his head and said: ‘Mom, I thought I was the chef today?”
I zipped it.

 

 

 

Now the waiting game, which consisted of Nickelodeon.

 

 

His final masterpiece … Although I wish I had a better camera because this picture didn’t do it justice. My son was so proud of his creation he took a couple of slices over to the neighbor’s.

 

 

We ended the evening as it should always be ended. Cannolis. We battled for the chocolate one …

 

There’s nothing like a Friday night with the little chefs.

 

11 Responses to “A Night With The Little Chefs”

  1. on thehomefrontandbeyond October 6, 2012 at 1:25 AM #

    and a good time was had by all – especially the flour thrower

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:57 PM #

      Dude she was rocking that wooden spoon and bag of Gold Medal flour … the floor and the counters … not so much

      • on thehomefrontandbeyond October 11, 2012 at 3:10 AM #

        flour can be hard to clean up, especially if it gets wet — I know from experience

  2. lameadventures October 6, 2012 at 6:22 PM #

    If I could still eat pizza (I will not sully your blog any more than I probably already have with my monumental gastrointestinal issues) that is one I would have definitely chowed down. The only thing your pix lacked was what I imagine was the fantastic aroma of it baking. Truly looks delish. Little Man Guat is a fab golfer and now a budding chef. Those moments are hardcore Happiness Project ones.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 10:00 PM #

      Dude the whole kitchen smelled awesome. I felt like I was in one of those hole in the wall places in Little Italy with my little chef mastering that rolling pin and cheese sprinkling. Dude nothing like sauce, basil and cheese bubbling it up in a hot oven.

  3. bluebrightly October 6, 2012 at 7:10 PM #

    The finished product does look fantastic, and it’s great that you have this record of the process. I can picture the one-yr-old flinging flour all around. Love his hands on the dough. This is what makes the hard parts worth it.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 10:02 PM #

      It was truly an awesome parenthood moment that definitely needs to be repeated. Hopefully he’ll remember when he’s older.

  4. Day Today Dating October 8, 2012 at 3:35 PM #

    So adorable! What a great night with your son.

    – K.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 10:02 PM #

      It was very cool, thanks for stopping by and checking it out.

  5. ioanna aggelidaki October 10, 2012 at 12:58 AM #

    I am drooling all over your post……….. Your son had a great idea! 😀

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 10:05 PM #

      Yeah the pizza was super delicious. My son’s full of a lot of great ideas. Messy, but fun. Hoping we can repeat the adventure … thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

