Even Though I Hate This Step It Gets Me One Step Closer.

3 Oct

Two miles. I’m up to two miles a day. Normally I would say, you’re out of your #$^&%@! mind to be running two miles a day. What’s a matter with you? You hate running. You hate it. But when it’s an integral part of a race, it kind of seems necessary. Essential even.

So it’s become part of my training regiment. A necessary evil. But that’s just me. There are hundreds of people who enjoy hitting the pavement at a brisk pace. Apparently some of my friends find it liberating. Rejuvenating. Calming. Stress relieving. A journey that clears your thoughts and centers your mind.

Image via Durtbagz.com

This does not happen to me.

Most people get to run in the morning. They wake up charged up and ready to go. However since my kids wake up at sunrise, and I’m not the greatest morning person, I’m never really in the wake up-charged up-ready to go kind of mood. I’m more in the holy-crap-I’m-exhausted-type-of mood.

I don’t get any “me” time until nine o’clock in the evening, when they’ve both gone to sleep for night.  So my runs happen at night. Not a good place to let your guard down and feel calm or relaxed. No rejuvenation going on here. Just paranoia. Most of the time you’re extremely aware of your surroundings, making sure nobody comes out of the bushes and tries to slash you. However I do get a couple of daylight workout hours during the weekend. But I prefer to bike on those days. Bikes and nighttime traffic don’t really mix.

So I try to liberate, rejuvenate, and calm myself by walking, swimming  or biking during weekend daylight hours.

Running. It’s not for everybody, but in my case it’s something that needs to be done. It’s step one on my path, a dreadful step one. But a very necessary one for success.

And for me, success in triathlons is the finish … making it to the finish. No need to be showboating and finish in first in the 35-40 chick category, the top three hundred is fine.

And what do I need to get there? Nonstop service from the starting line to the bike transition station. That’s the goal. So I’m just gonna cowboy up, lace up my shoes and hit the pavement. I dread thinking about it, even when I’m out the door I question myself. I question the insanity of running. But once I start, I keep going because I know it’s bringing me one step closer to my goal.

One step closer to not passing out when the running part is done. One step closer to not being that chick, you know, that chick that walks during the race.  One step closer … that idea is all it takes for me to keep running in the dark. Night after night I think “one step closer.” And if there’s chocolate waiting for me at the end … well then I’ll run a little faster. Incentives rock when you hate step one.

18 Responses to “Even Though I Hate This Step It Gets Me One Step Closer.”

  1. Sunshine October 4, 2012 at 6:12 AM #

    I enjoyed this…running at night sounds too scary but I give you credit for doing it. Yikes! Love your last paragraph…one step closer…when you hate step one. 🙂 thanks for sharing

    • The Guat October 4, 2012 at 2:49 PM #

      Yeah I used to worry about that, I still do sometimes But I take a path where all the houses have those porch lights on and television lights that can be seen through the curtains, you know just in case I need to make a mad dash to someone’s home. Anything for one step closer 🙂

      • Sunshine October 5, 2012 at 7:28 AM #

        Good thinking…I think I would just be too scared to move so my first thought would be to run out and get one of those running machines for the house/office. Lol!!

  2. Good for you…all that balance with home, children and your goal! I can relate!

    • The Guat October 4, 2012 at 2:57 PM #

      Thanks. It’s always a tough balance, sometimes you try so hard to keep balanced that you end up totally out of whack. 🙂

  3. adinparadise October 4, 2012 at 8:22 AM #

    Running after 9 at night. That’s dedication for you, and should definitely be rewarded with chocolate. 🙂

    • The Guat October 4, 2012 at 2:43 PM #

      I know, right? It’s tough sometimes, especially when the day is done and all I want to do is veg out on the couch. But knowing I won’t be walking during the race motivates me. 🙂

  4. The Good Greatsby October 4, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

    I’m with you; I never got overly excited about running. It’s difficult for my schedule to do it in the morning and it doesn’t have the same mental benefits for me if I do it at night. Plus I don’t think I look good running. I think canoeing would be my most flattering exercise.

    • The Guat October 4, 2012 at 2:40 PM #

      Ha! Canoeing. Yeah canoeing probably shows off your muscles in a controlled environment. I guess running just shows off all your wobbly parts.

  5. Cayman Thorn October 4, 2012 at 3:31 PM #

    Guat- You rock my boat every time. Hey, it was reading you that helped inspire me back into my own running regimen. I have been dealing (badly) with a plantar injury for a while now, but I’m happy to report that I have been back at it for a solid amount of time now. I’m even doing a couple races this month. Seriously, you provoked me with your triathlete machisma. You’re all that, girlie. Pace yourself, and own whatever time it be. That’s how I roll with it.

    • The Guat October 5, 2012 at 1:03 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuude. Giddy up with those races! I totally want to hear about them and see pictures. I like that my Guat machisma inspired you to bust a move in the fitness department. I like how you roll, my friend.

  6. lameadventures October 4, 2012 at 7:04 PM #

    I’m not too wild about the idea of you running at night, either, but I understand the importance of training for this event. Not only do you not want to be the woman that walks, but you also don’t want to be the one that vomits and collapses. Back to my safety concerns for you I think you should wear a fluorescent tee shirt inscribed with this message, “Don’t attack me. A fat cat with money is a block away.”

    • The Guat October 5, 2012 at 1:00 PM #

      HA! I totally don’t want to be the vomit girl, that would be worse than the walking chick. And your safety concerns are great, you think I can get that shirt on EBay?

      • lameadventures October 5, 2012 at 1:09 PM #

        I don’t know about eBay. It’s probably more Etsy.

      • The Guat October 5, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

        Dude I am so lame … I had to actually go online and look up Etsy. But yes you’re right I think the shirt would definitely be there.

      • lameadventures October 5, 2012 at 1:20 PM #

        No, I’m Lame and you’re Guat.

  7. Mr Oh October 7, 2012 at 4:26 AM #

    Nice one. I go running at 6am before work and before my daughter gets up. As Woody Allen once said, half of it is just “showing up!”

    • The Guat October 9, 2012 at 4:03 PM #

      So true, once I show up it seems to be all good.

Leave a Reply

