It’s Good to Have Someone in Your Corner

16 Sep

 

Image via quotablecards.com

 

Sometimes I forget things like this, especially when I’m out there trying to “make it” professionally in this world, and it doesn’t happen. You get kind of burned out with rejection after rejection. I’m not trying to be a famous writer, just a successful one by my standards.

But then I realized a while back that to one person it didn’t mater what I wrote or whether I was successful. I was awesome regardless. My son … he reminded me that I was pretty amazing, even in the mornings. He’s always in my corner.

 

15 Responses to “It’s Good to Have Someone in Your Corner”

  1. Day Today Dating September 16, 2012 at 11:17 PM #

    Isn’t it the best feeling to have that person in your corner, no matter what?

    – K.

    • The Guat September 18, 2012 at 12:41 AM #

      Really is, he makes my day.

  2. The Wanderlust Gene September 17, 2012 at 3:34 AM #

    That is great good fortune, TG 🙂

  3. island traveler September 17, 2012 at 4:30 AM #

    I know how that feels. My son thinks I have super powers and can do anything as well. Our family help us believe in ourselves and be the best that we can be. Thanks for this beautiful post…and yes, you are amazing my friend.

    • The Guat September 18, 2012 at 12:43 AM #

      Thanks. It’s always great to hear encouraging words. My son definitely helps boost my awesomeness factor.

  4. adinparadise September 17, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

    Children give that wonderful gift of unconditional love. 🙂

    • The Guat September 18, 2012 at 12:44 AM #

      Yeah it’s great now … I’m hoping it’ll extend during the teenage years. Fingers crossed.

      • adinparadise September 18, 2012 at 7:20 AM #

        It worked for me. 🙂

  5. The Good Greatsby September 17, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

    My son is my biggest fan. I hope that never changes because I’m getting too old to put much effort into winning new fans.

    • The Guat September 20, 2012 at 9:11 PM #

      Ha! So true. So true. It’s great when they’re this age, I’m hoping the appreciation continues into the teen years 🙂

  6. lameadventures September 17, 2012 at 9:33 PM #

    From reading these posts I think your Little Man is just telling it like it is. You seem like a wonderful mom to me.

    • The Guat September 18, 2012 at 12:49 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. Thanks.That’s really to nice hear … from someone other than my son. 🙂 You just made my night!

      • lameadventures September 18, 2012 at 6:48 AM #

        Actually your Little Man paid me in chocolate to post that compliment.

  7. angelanoelauthor December 22, 2016 at 4:58 AM #

    I love this simple thought. Sometimes I don’t appreciate the love I have RIGHT HERE, thinking that it’s OUT THERE that matters. I noticed not long ago, as I held my own son tight, the joy I feel in loving him isn’t contingent on his loving me back. The joy in loving was it’s own reward. Now if I could just remember that when it comes to my writing–the joy in writing is it’s own reward–I’d probably eat fewer chocolate peanut butter balls. Thanks for the post!

    • The Guat December 23, 2016 at 1:02 AM #

      Duuuuude I’m so glad you found this post. It definitely helps put things in perspective. Kids tend to do that … when you think all is lost and you just want the day to end because you’re DONE, there they come, kids, ready to hug the crappy day out of you and look at you with that look that says everything. Totally makes me feel better when things aren’t going as “planned”. Glad I was able to help you out and never eat fewer chocolate peanut butter balls … it’s what keeps us sane 🙂

Leave a Reply

