Murders, Politics, and Ding Dongs … or Why I Became a Fan of TNT

15 Aug

Seven years and now she’s gone. I’ve been with Deputy Chief Brenda Leigh Johnson every Monday night for seven years … even re-runs.

For seven years I’ve tuned in to see this neurotic, intelligent, quirky, Southern Belle, bad-ass Deputy Chief of the LAPD, played by Kyra Sedgwick, take the criminal down. But it wasn’t her strong will, bend-the-rules attitude or awesomeness as an interrogator that drew me in to The Closer. It was what she said in the first episode that got me. She overheard her fellow detectives talking about her at a crime scene and didn’t stay quiet.

Image via TNTdrama.com

“If I liked being called a bitch to my face I’d still be married.”

Dude.

I was like who is this chick. And then she said:

“I never bluff, Sergeant. I merely express my optimism forcefully.”

I so wanted to be her friend. I tuned in every week to see how the case unfolded and how she was able to gather details and piece them together to solve the case. I loved how everyone, except for me of course, hated her in the beginning because they felt threatened by her. And then she slowly won them over by doing her job and doing it better than anybody.

Her southern accent didn’t even bother me. In fact I enjoyed her classic “Thank Youuuuuuuuuu” line. It was her polite way of giving people the finger. Some people just have a knack for doing clever stuff like that and believe me she mastered it with her “thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu” I tried to study her quite closely.

And throughout all the crime and drama I was able to see that not only was she bad-ass, but she was also flawed. And I loved it! I loved that she was not perfect. She was conflicted and I tuned in every week. I had become a follower. Kyra Sedgwick made me a TNTenthusiast.

Image via TNTdrama.com

It was probably the drama the drew me in as well — the fact that she was great at her job but couldn’t stand the inner workings of LAPD politics was drama in itself. She didn’t like to play games, and I loved that about her. This office politics crap happens to a lot of us in our every day jobs. I mean how many people are great at what they do, but then have to deal with the bureaucracy of the system. Most of the time Brenda bent the rules when it came to this, and most of the time she got in trouble. But she closed cases. Major crime type of cases. But when the politics got too much who was her ally? Who helped her out?

The cocoa bean.

She turned to chocolate. She indulged in it. When she was having a bad day, a bad office politics day, a bad district attorney who messed up and let the criminal get off kind of day, she’d open her drawer and search through the multitude of candy and find her favorite stress reliever: Ding Dongs –the chocolate mini masterpiece.

We were on a first name basis from this point on.

I was sad to see her go, but happy that she finally got that serial killer in the end. I swore the writers were going to mess it up and leave me with that empty you suck feeling of an unsolved case that plagued Brenda for seasons.

Thank God they didn’t leave me hanging with some ambiguous ending. That would have required a massive amount of Ding Dongs.

7 Responses to “Murders, Politics, and Ding Dongs … or Why I Became a Fan of TNT”

  1. TBM August 16, 2012 at 1:05 AM #

    Ding dongs! I didn’t know they still made them. That brings back childhood memories. I never watched the show, but I enjoyed reading about it. You have a wonderful way with words. Keep up the good work!

  2. island traveler August 16, 2012 at 12:41 PM #

    A post that inspires you to follow the things that captures your imagination. I love crime and suspense t.v. series as well.

  3. Valerie Christina August 16, 2012 at 2:51 PM #

    Great post. My boyfriend trips on the fact that I love crime programming and suspense.

    • The Guat August 17, 2012 at 9:55 PM #

      Crime and suspense are always the best.

  4. Cayman Thorn August 16, 2012 at 7:16 PM #

    Agree on all counts. Kyra made my top ten summer hotties list for good reason. Nice review, Guat.

  5. Andrea Kelly August 17, 2012 at 12:09 PM #

    The Closer is a great show!!! I can only dream of saying “Thank you” like that.

  6. eof737 August 17, 2012 at 12:57 PM #

    Now I remember… I liked the show too. 😉

Leave a Reply

