I Was Having Olympic Withdrawals … Just Olympics No Stupid Ryan Seacrest

13 Aug

 

Taaaaaaaan-Taaaaaaaaaaan Ta-Taaaaaan Tan Tan Tan …

I guess the trumpets sound better.

I know most people are probably sick of it. You hear the trumpets, the bugles, the cymbals crashing and then you hear Bob Costas and you think ah crap not again. Four to six hours of coverage, c’mon now.

You probably don’t even want to see another athlete with their hand across their chest staring at the flag. You’re probably tired of all the back stories. You’re tired of stupid Ryan Seacrest trying to look all journalistic-worthy with his highlighted hair. I know I’m sick of him. But in truth I was having Olympic Game withdrawals today.

Just Olympics no stupid Ryan Seacrest.

Some of you may want to put out a hit on me right now just for saying that, or maybe not even come back, but I had to say it. I did. I’d become an Olympic geek. Well in truth I’ve always been a Summer Olympics aficionado. I mean look at me I said aficionado. I’m fervent. But it’s the inner athlete in me.  I mean after watching Michael Phelps, I swear I went out looking for a swimsuit and goggles.

But there was no swimming, no beach volleyball, no gymnastics, no track and field. No cheering on your favorite athlete. No putting the kibosh on the other athletes hoping they would mess up somehow so that your favorite athlete comes out on top. No inner athlete trying to get out. No Olympic discussion on how awesome that race or match happened to be. Well in truth no one in this household other than myself and my four-year old son cared. Our conversations were pretty short.

No in this household, it was all about telenovelas on Univision, or motor city bragging rights on the Speed Channel or golf swing mechanics on the Golf Channel.

I was a little burned out by the lack of patriotism in the household — the lack of athletic appreciation for the non-professional athletes. But there was no use, if you’re not into, you’re not into it.

There was no athletic excitement today, even though there were MLB baseball games happening it just wasn’t the same — no Olympic medal excitement on the line. No this-is-it moments happening. And I think that’s what drew me in — that there was only one chance. It was the SuperBowl and March Madness combined into one opportunity. If it didn’t happen for the athlete in that moment on that day, then they would have to wait another four years for another opportunity. They had to cowboy up and bring it, or go home.

The funny thing is that even though it inspired me to get all athletic and put on my New Balance shoes, hit the beach with a volleyball, or attempt the butterfly stroke, it was too damn hot over here to do anything — that is unless I woke up at the crack of dawn. But if you know me that wasn’t gonna happen. So I stayed indoors, with my butt making a permanent imprint on the sofa.

Today my butt was still on the sofa … but instead of watching sports history happen, I was just having withdrawals. There was no excitement factor today. No athletes holding up the number one. No Olympic theme song with the trumpets.

I had nothing like that going on here today … I’ll have to wait another four years. I don’t know, maybe I’ll rent the Hunger Games.

I’m sure all the Olympic athletes are going to come home and do the talk show circuit and possibly earn a couple of Subway, Gatorade, or Wheaties endorsement deals. But it’s not the same.

I’m gonna miss the athletes racing to the finish line. I’m gonna miss those “YES!” moments, those high-five moments with my son. I’m probably going to miss those Morgan Freeman Visa Commercials. This is what happens when you’re an Olympic geek — you have withdrawals. So I wait … I wait for another four years.

 

9 Responses to “I Was Having Olympic Withdrawals … Just Olympics No Stupid Ryan Seacrest”

  1. lameadventures August 14, 2012 at 7:31 AM #

    Cheer up. The Winter Olympics will be here in two years. If the Olympics didn’t happen every four years, they wouldn’t be so special. Plus your son will be 8 by then and your daughter, 5. They’ll both be much more into the games at that point so it could be even more fun for you.

    • The Guat August 14, 2012 at 2:29 PM #

      So true. Another four for the summer and two for the crazy ski jumps.

  2. TBM August 14, 2012 at 7:51 AM #

    I’m having withdrawals as well and not once did I have to endure Ryan Seacrest. London is cool that way 🙂

    • The Guat August 14, 2012 at 2:30 PM #

      So jealous because it was torture. London must be awesome.

  3. The Hook August 14, 2012 at 2:09 PM #

    NOBODY, even his Mom, misses Seacrest!

  4. island traveler August 14, 2012 at 6:52 PM #

    While at work, I saw a part of the Olympics closing show. I was like,”It’s over already?” Just when you’re getting the hang of it all. Yes, I will miss all these too and everyone who’d been “Olympicfied!” Just created the last word…great post!

  5. Anna Marie August 15, 2012 at 4:49 AM #

    I’m sad I missed so much of the Olympics because of work and stuff. However I got to see some great moments and did not have to endure Ryan Seacrest here in Cananda. 😃

  6. eof737 August 17, 2012 at 12:58 PM #

    You catch the videos on NBC… 😉

Leave a Reply

