Learning Lessons From A Borneo Native

3 Aug

Fearless.

I didn’t expect to be reminded of this lesson at the zoo. I just expected to see some elephants, meerkats, and giraffes hanging out. I expected the heat, the humidity, the crankiness, the irritability, the moms running after their kids, The Cheerios on the floor, the Cover Girl foundation melting on the twenty-something chicks on their dates, the animals hiding in the shade, the chimpanzees making us laugh, and the bees trying to attack us while we ate lunch.

I was expecting the norm.

I didn’t expect a Borneo resident suffering from a bad-hair day to remind me of fearlessness. He’s a vegetarian for crying out loud. He’s probably considered to be a toddler. As a mom, sometimes you forget your adventurous side, because the adventurous stuff that happens to you now consists of Huggies diapers, chasing after your four-year old, and running out of Tums late at night.

So I’m glad that I saw him today. I was reminded that The Guat is fearless. I didn’t expect to see him. But I was glad that I did. I didn’t expect him to give me the holy crap moment of the day. But he did.

Fearless.

Fearless youngster

4 Responses to “Learning Lessons From A Borneo Native”

  1. adinparadise August 4, 2012 at 1:15 AM #

    Definitely “NO FEAR” kinda guy up there. I wonder how his mom feels about his adventurous play? 🙂

  2. 8teen39 August 4, 2012 at 4:11 AM #

    You,ve got to take these life lessons where you get them. Nice post. Reminds me to get off my… chair… occasionally and take a chance!

  3. claywatkins August 4, 2012 at 5:56 AM #

    I love going to the zoo. being adventurous, thanks for the reminder to step out and step forward, more often than I do!

  4. lameadventures August 4, 2012 at 4:59 PM #

    What a spry little beast! If I attempted to do that the fire department would have to make a rescue.

Leave a Reply

