Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple

1 Aug

My Prince cassette

Purple

Purple is this 5-foot-2 bad ass.

Purple is his hallmark color.

Purple are the leather pants he rocked in the movie.

Purple Rain was the movie I was forbidden to watch in my youth.

Purple Rain won him an Academy Award and he’s not even an actor.

Purple Rain was too rated R for my Latino parents, so I got the album instead.

Purple Rain introduced me to When Doves Cry and Let’s Go Crazy.

Purple Rain was one of my favorite cassette tapes … yeah that’s right I said cassette tape. I’m old school.

Purple is Prince … and yeah he can pull off purple … he’s Prince.

7 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple”

  1. Divine Lunacy August 2, 2012 at 7:22 AM #

    Loved the 80’s – Prince was and still is one of my favourites. How about Raspberry Beret ?

  2. Imogen Shepard August 3, 2012 at 4:42 AM #

    What a great film! I must have watched it 30+ times when I was younger – it’s awesome indeed! I have his album too with the songs you mentioned and others and bought the film on DVD not that long ago! You have Great taste and a Brilliant take on the weeks photo film…very original!! Immie 😀

  3. Imogen Shepard August 3, 2012 at 4:53 AM #

    Hi again 😀 I just got the album out and it IS ‘Purple Rain’ – A song that has always made me laugh is “Darling Nikki” 😉 I love “Take me with you” and “The Beautiful Ones” – very moving. Glad to have found another Prince fan!! 🙂

  4. vastlycurious August 3, 2012 at 10:48 AM #

    I kept waiting for this picture! Bravo!!

  5. island traveler August 7, 2012 at 1:28 AM #

    Only Prince can pull off something this awesome. Purple and awesome. Yes, I remember the Purple Rain mania way back then. It’s always fun to go back in the past I realize the great stuff we had then.

  6. fgassette August 22, 2012 at 4:25 AM #

    Love Prince. Let’s party like it’s 1999 is another good one.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

