Remembering Dad: Phone Messages and Aftershave

14 Jul

Two years ago today he passed away at the hospital. Mine was the last voice he heard. All I could say was I love you and I’ll see you in the morning. This was at 1:47 a.m.  He passed away two hours later.

I spent the morning listening to the last messages five messages he left me on my answering machine and smelling the half empty bottle of aftershave he left in the bathroom cabinet.

My dad.

January 1948 to July 2010

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

9 Responses to “Remembering Dad: Phone Messages and Aftershave”

  1. 8teen39 July 15, 2012 at 1:06 AM #

    I can not begin to tell you how affected I was by this post. Why? I was born January 2, 1948. Yeah, I know it’s not all about me. My dad is still alive at 89. I dread when his time may come. But I don’t dread mine. Still, I’m sorry for your loss.

    • The Guat July 16, 2012 at 2:14 PM #

      It’s been tough, the whole weekend was tough. But thanks for your thoughts.

  2. adinparadise July 15, 2012 at 10:08 AM #

    Lovely photos and memories of your dad,TG. Thinking of you on this sad anniversary. My dad passed away 7 years ago this month. xx

    • The Guat July 16, 2012 at 2:11 PM #

      Thanks for the good vibes.

  3. Cayman Thorn July 15, 2012 at 4:02 PM #

    This brings tears to my eyes. Thoughts, love and peace with you, Guat. Know that you’re doing him proud every day.

    • truedesignliving July 16, 2012 at 8:36 AM #

      He looks like a really great dad. It’s hard. my thoughts are with you too x

    • The Guat July 16, 2012 at 2:12 PM #

      Thanks for the sentiment and for the good wishes.

  4. ronniekennedy July 16, 2012 at 2:46 AM #

    Very moving and poignant! I personally related to it as my father died almost exactly a year ago also. My feelings had been well pinned down for all sorts of reasons and only came out fully during this last week.
    Thank you for your thoughtful and personal word and pictorial tribute to your dad!
    We’re all human and can relate.
    Best Wishes from a fellow traveller in Ireland!

    • The Guat July 18, 2012 at 12:33 AM #

      Thanks for the kind words. The first year was the toughest, but I’m hanging in there day by day in year two.

Leave a Reply

